Middletown, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by njmom

Hash Brown Waffles

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
well, let me tell you; i love this method a lot better than standing over a stove frying greasy potato pancakes!! i added some grated onion to this; soaked along with the potatoes and used my salad spinner to dry. thanks so much for the post Janel! will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Roasted Chicken Rub

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
(previously rated as a personal recipe) love, love, love it. DH gave it a big thumbs up too! i did not have celery flakes, and subbed about 3/4 tsp of celery seed. also, for the cayenne i subbed chili powder (didn't have cayenne). will definetely make again. thanks for the post semigourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Roast Beef Cooked In Pasta Sauce.(Italian Style)

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
this made a very, very nice sauce. next time i think i'll just make the sauce, but stovetop in my cast iron dutch oven. thanks so much for the post manella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Leftover Ham -n- Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
this was very good. i sprinkled a little rosemary in the white sauce, along with the ham and onions....just a little bit. also added a little onion and garlic powders to the sauce. my DS went back for seconds, and that barely ever happens! thanks for the post SweetT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Peruvian Chicken Soup (Aguadito de Pollo)

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
this was very good. used sweet potatoes instead of white just because i had to use it. thanks for the post Jose Mendoza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Andrea's Pasta Fagioli

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I agree with one of the reviewers. I had a Italian grandmother straight off the boat from Italy, and this soup does not have any meat in it, just olive oil, pasta, cannellini beans, tomato and garlic as main ingredients. I haven't ever made it and haven't eaten it since my Grammy passed away (when I was young) and I wanted to make this for my hubby, who loves homemade soup! I went to Pinterest first and all I got were recipes with ground beef in it. I should have known better..all recipes is the best! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tisha G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Cheesecake Everytime

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
this came out really good. i sprinkled some chopped pecans on the bottom of the pre-made shell prior to filling. i don't know if this had anything to do with it, but the bottom crust was hard to come out. if i do ever make again, i'll skip the nuts. thanks cheesecakemama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Fondant Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
these came out perfect, just like the chef john prime rib roast. will make again and again. just a side note: peel potatoes and then slice them. i now have some unpeeled 'stumps' in the freezer because i didn't want to throw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
well, i was a big skeptic....i am now a convert. i don't make this often, but i will make it like this from now on. no stressing over how high to put the oven at what time....came out perfect. and i mean perfect. thanks chef john for the perfect formula!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Kung Pao Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Followed the directions and my husband loved it. I thought it was too spicy and will reduce the chili paste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made it in the pressure cooker and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Andouille and Chicken Creole Pasta

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I omitted the milk and served it over rice. My husband & I both loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy and Tangy Turkey Rice Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I loved it! Different from my typical Chinese turkey and rice soup (juk). I used one can of diced tomatoes and a can of red kidney beans with the liquid. I took someone's advice and used 1/2 c barley but then it wasn't enough so I added 1/2cup of elbows. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy and Tangy Turkey Rice Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I loved it! Different from my typical Chinese turkey and rice soup (juk). I used one can of diced tomatoes and a can of red kidney beans with the liquid. I took someone's advice and used 1/2 c barley but then it wasn't enough so I added 1/2cup of elbows. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I deleted the white sugar, used fresh blanched haricots verts and topped it with French's Onions instead of Ritz crackers. I also sauteed the onions before adding the flour. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom and Bacon Green Beans

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made a few slight changes. I used shallots instead of onions. I used fresh haricots verts and skipped the lemon pepper seasoning. It was a big hit as a side dish at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom

Moong Dal

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
loved it...made as written. thanks for the post Pyromommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
used filet mignon cubes; added mushrooms that were cooked in butter and a little sherry (leftovers). floured the meat before frying. helped thicken the sauce which was beef broth, added cream cheese and the sour cream. i know i tweaked this a lot, but the end results were fabulous for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Vietnamese Aromatic Lamb Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
we liked these a lot. will make again. thanks for the post Nelson_Huynh :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Thai Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
this was very good; easy to put together, as most stir fry meals are. i added peppers and onions to ours as a personal preference. i also finished by added some Japanese noodles in the end. thanks for the post COOKINGQUEEN75
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States