Middletown, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by njmom

Super Good Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
tasty! i will try on steak in the future....the kabob meat i bought was a little tough at times. even marinated it over night. thanks for the post carousel-lady!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Grilled Chicken Thighs Tandoori

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
My wife and I loved my version of this (lol)! Couldn't find plain yogurt so I used low fat vanilla; forgot the cloves; I happened to have Tandoori spice mix so I used 3 tablespoons of it instead of the paprika, cumin, cinnamon and coriander; and because we thought that the guests that were supposed to come over would not like the dark meat, I used breast meat (slicing the breasts in half). It marinated for 24 hours. I'll be happily eating this for the first part of the week...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug E. Shirts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yarmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
well, i watched the video before making, but maybe i shouldn't have. i started cooking the chicken; added a third of the sauce as mentioned. the chicken gave off so much water (and i used organic if that makes a difference) that i wound up spooning out a ton of water, along with the sauce. had to do that a couple of times. so, after the pan was sufficiently dry, i added the rest of the sauce. it took about another 10 - 15 mins for the sauce to thicken and brown the chicken. i didn't have or add peanuts or the green onions. i had to use 'rooster sauce' for the heat. we all liked it so i may make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Green Pea Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
really liked this....although i had to improvise a bit. had to make my own cream of celery soup...used frozen peas. no pimento and no chestnuts. used 'everything' buttery crackers. i would have taken a picture of it plated, but we ate it up too fast. thanks for the post SALLIEBRYANT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Rainbow Sherbet Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
we all loved this. easy to put together. nice and light. perfect for summer. thanks for the post VITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Red Velvet Cheesecake Swirl Brownies

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
we liked these a lot. i may try to tinker with the cheesecake potion next time so it's a little thicker. thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Cajun Chef's Cajun Seasoning

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Love it! reminds me of NOLA :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Authentic New Orleans Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
i loved this. my DH not so much, that's why the 4 stars instead of 5. the seasoning was spot on from what i remember from being in New Orleans. mine might not have looked as pretty, but boy was it tasty. i'm going to make up some of this spice mix to have on hand. i used http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/62568095/cajun-chefs-cajun-seasoning/detail.aspx thanks for the post Matt, this will have to be one of those recipes i make just for me. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Roasted Butternut Squash and Garlic Lasagna

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
i had some odds and ends ingredients to use up and this fit the bill. i took some liberties with it (as i mostly do, it's a character flaw, don't judge me. :-) ) i was very much pleasantly surprised. i did not think i would like this so much, but i really do. i had some roasted squash in the freezer, along with some leftover ricotta/mozzarella cheese. throw in those last 9 sheets of leftover lasagna noodles, and i have a medium size casserole made without having to shop for anything! i did not use the cream on top as this is something i would not have on hand. turned out delicious. thanks for the recipe ANNARICCIJOHNSON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
They were awesome. I took Canadiancook's advice and did the following:1) coat the apples in cinnamon and sugar before wrapping 2) Use 2 parts white to 1 part brown sugar in the sauce. simmer until it makes a thick, rich caramel and pulls away from the side of the pot. then add 1 tsp. vanilla along with the cinnamon. With these tweaks the dumplings were not soggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Latin Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
this was very good. didn't have the cilantro, and cut the beans back to 1 can. thanks for the post UpstateNY Cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Green Smoothie

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
well, i have to say, for my very first green smoothie, i loved it! i didn't have an OJ so i left that out. i may just get some frozen concentrate and put a tablespoon of that in next time...and there will be a next time! thanks for the post WhitneyLW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Tahini Sauce by cooks4forty

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
i was very skeptical trying this...i knew i would like it, but the rest of the family i was not sure....well, i cooked for just my DD and me. we both loved it. she kept complimenting me on the burgers! thanks for the post cooks4forty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Slow-Cooked White Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
i adapted to what i had on hand, along with reducing the serving size. it was a bit watery for me, but after serving it over a bed of crushed up tortilla chips it was just fine. thanks for the post skw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Baked Oatmeal II

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
this is the first time making or eating baked oatmeal. for us it was just ok. made as written, but no cranberries and added some chopped pecans. i made in a smaller dish to have a thicker end result. if i ever do make again, i'm thinking about adding some fruit element as a filling. thanks BLANCHL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Thai Quivering Tenderloins

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
this was good; my pork was tough for some reason. i let it marinade over night. the sauce was very good though, had a nice bite to it. i might try next time with chicken. thanks for the post adrienne duval :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Skillet Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
i can't say that i loved these, a little bland and too yeasty (if that is even a word). i will pass making these again and try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
quick, easy and delicious. what more could you ask for? a little spicy for my DS, but my DH and i liked it. i used raw shrimp, and fresh ginger. doubled the sauce as i had more shrimp to cook. thanks for the post Foodgu1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Hash Brown Waffles

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
well, let me tell you; i love this method a lot better than standing over a stove frying greasy potato pancakes!! i added some grated onion to this; soaked along with the potatoes and used my salad spinner to dry. thanks so much for the post Janel! will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Roasted Chicken Rub

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
(previously rated as a personal recipe) love, love, love it. DH gave it a big thumbs up too! i did not have celery flakes, and subbed about 3/4 tsp of celery seed. also, for the cayenne i subbed chili powder (didn't have cayenne). will definetely make again. thanks for the post semigourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States