Middletown, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by njmom

Millie Pasquinelli's Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
i can't believe i finally did it. perfectly cooked. it helped that i used the meat thermometer to check to see if it was done, as i always seem to under cook my chicken. thanks SUE PASQUINELLI!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Red Lentil Curry

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was a perfect meatless Monday meal. easy to prepare and cook. perfect spice and consistency. i only wish i had some naan to serve with it. i did serve with basmati rice. thanks for sharing Emma Maher :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Baked Coconut Shrimp

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
this was ok for us. i think the cornstarch was a little gummy for me under the coconut. plus, i know baking it is much healthier than frying, but i think this begs to be fried. ;-) thanks girlbob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Black Pepper Goat Curry

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
this was very good. i was afraid of the amount of spices so i cut back a little. even doing that it still had quite a bite to it. i know what our limits are and this was perfect for us as i made it. if i do make it again, i'll use lamb, as the goat i used was a little too fatty. thanks for the post Tarama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
perfect as is. good job Jinglebells :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Brussels Sprouts Pizza

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
loved it..used bacon instead of pancetta. thanks for the post JESSECJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Jeera (Cumin) Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
this is how i make my basmati rice every time. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Udon Peanut Butter Noodles

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
boy this is gooooddd!!! had to use linguine, but didn't matter. will make again. thanks for the post Mojito Mama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Baked Potato Pizza

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
sinful and delicious...loved it! thanks for the post Brent BeSaw :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Tuna Egg Sandwich

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
i wanted to like this more, but for me as is wasn't great. i loved them separately, but maybe just not together. thanks for the post LISALC98 :-)**edit** i added some chopped up green and black marinated olives. the addition was outstanding for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Hungarian Noodle Side Dish

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
i found myself with an abundance of egg noodles. rather than hold onto them for my usual uses, i decided to make this as a main dish tonight. i added some chicken that i fried with onions and dusted of paprika. i did not have 'cream of' soup so i made my own. i also subbed some leftover ricotta for the cottage cheese. (i also cut recipe in half) turned out really good. i put everything together and baked (covered) for about 40 mins at 350 degrees. thanks so much for the post CORWYNN DARKHOLME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Asian-American Slaw With Peanuts and Jalapenos

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Thought I would love this, but didn't really...not sure why. Followed recipe to a T. Just not for me I guess. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Extra Easy Hummus

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I added vegetable broth instead of the oil & bean liquid to make it more weight watchers friendly. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I made 3 alterations: I sautéed half a diced onion before adding it to the batter (I didn't have green onions)and used 1/2 cup of bisquick & omitted the baking powder. I grated the zucchini onto cheesecloth and squeezed the water out. They were excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smashed Cauliflower Side Dish

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Whole family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban-Style Pork and Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
We liked this very much. Had to improvise on the oj. I had a bottle of mojo marinade and used that instead. Followed the rest. We ate it all before I could take pictures! Thanks for the post MONIQUEWS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Super Good Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
tasty! i will try on steak in the future....the kabob meat i bought was a little tough at times. even marinated it over night. thanks for the post carousel-lady!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Grilled Chicken Thighs Tandoori

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
My wife and I loved my version of this (lol)! Couldn't find plain yogurt so I used low fat vanilla; forgot the cloves; I happened to have Tandoori spice mix so I used 3 tablespoons of it instead of the paprika, cumin, cinnamon and coriander; and because we thought that the guests that were supposed to come over would not like the dark meat, I used breast meat (slicing the breasts in half). It marinated for 24 hours. I'll be happily eating this for the first part of the week...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug E. Shirts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yarmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
well, i watched the video before making, but maybe i shouldn't have. i started cooking the chicken; added a third of the sauce as mentioned. the chicken gave off so much water (and i used organic if that makes a difference) that i wound up spooning out a ton of water, along with the sauce. had to do that a couple of times. so, after the pan was sufficiently dry, i added the rest of the sauce. it took about another 10 - 15 mins for the sauce to thicken and brown the chicken. i didn't have or add peanuts or the green onions. i had to use 'rooster sauce' for the heat. we all liked it so i may make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Green Pea Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
really liked this....although i had to improvise a bit. had to make my own cream of celery soup...used frozen peas. no pimento and no chestnuts. used 'everything' buttery crackers. i would have taken a picture of it plated, but we ate it up too fast. thanks for the post SALLIEBRYANT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States