Middletown, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by njmom

Sole with Bananas

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
i have to say, my DH and i were pleasantly surprised with this. i had some cod out for dinner, and 2 sorry looking bananas...i had everything else on hand. since people complained about the excessive wine flavor, i merely drizzled on the wine and lime. the only problem i had was the bananas sliding off the fish before cooking. so, i had to improvise and stick a couple of tooth picks to keep them steady. very good. thanks for the most unusual way to eat whitefish KAREN SHAVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Sausage, Zucchini and Two Pepper Pasta

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
this was very good. i grilled my sausages, and lightly pan fried my veggies. i removed the veggies from the pan and added the marsala wine and some softened cream cheese. i did not use the chicken broth. didn't measure the wine; just used what i had on hand. it made a nice sauce. i tightened it up a bit with a slurry. and no peas. i forgot. thanks for the recipe Nancy and Terry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Mint Citrus Water

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
we love this.....we do add the cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Authentic Thousand Island Dressing

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
this was very good. i had everything on had. made as written but after the second day i wanted a bit more sweetness to it; i added a bit of ketchup and it was perfect; and also a bit of water to thin. thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Buffalo Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
this was good; we always roast our cauliflower (salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders) so i did that as usual and then roasted, after browned i tossed with our favorite buffalo sauce. put back in oven to crisp up. i may have cooked too long as they were a bit soggy. i will try again, maybe with the batter and re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
my quest for a fluffy, tender pancake still eludes me. this recipe was ok for us, but still not what i am looking for. the batter was pretty thick, and i barely got 6 pancakes out of this. my DS thought they were too eggy. if i were to make this again, i would double everything else except the egg. thanks for the post kris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Jacolyn's Herbed Vinaigrette

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
i just made this...and i only used 3/4 c oil and that's all i can taste. i will let this sit overnight and edit again if i change my mind on it. as written right now, too oily for me. **edit; added some more vinegar; used for orzo salad and works very well in that.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Big Ray's White Bean, Kale, and Kielbasa Soup

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I loved it with 2 small changes. I added 2 cloves of garlic and simmered the kale mixture for about 10 minutes before adding the beans so that the beans didn't break down too much, but the kale was tender. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom

Little Lamb Meatballs in a Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
this was very, very good. i found a bag of cubed eggplant, and ground lamb in the freezer, and had some leftover homemade tomato sauce, so this really fit the bill! served with rice pilaf. thanks chef john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
very good with the Korean fried chicken. i thought it was going to be too spicy for the sensitive people at the table, but it was well received by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Korean Fried Chicken

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
this was ok for us. i made it harder on myself and tried frying it outside on the side burner of my grill. the oil didn't get hot enough. so, i did the first fry outside, and the second fry inside. made for a long complicated meal prep. the chicken itself was good; the sauce that goes with it was good as well. i don't know if i will go through the whole 2 fry process again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Grandma's Salad Dressing

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
really liked this....thought i had reviewed, but missing now....i might cut back on the sugar a bit next time, and there will be a next time! thanks for the post Mary Ann Benzon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Chicken with Sausage Potatoes and Peas

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
yummy!!! delicious comfort food with what i had on hand. thanks for the post BA! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Matt's Chicken Adobo

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
i really loved this. simple and very flavorful. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

World's Best Honey Garlic Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
very tasty, we all liked it a lot. served with zucchini and potato bake for a complete meal! thanks for the post Johnchandler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Zucchini and Potato Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
i really, really liked this....and i roast veggies all the time. i just have not used this combo. i used sweet potatoes, threw in a couple of green onions too. used garlic powder instead of sliced garlic, and forgot the paprika. delicious. thanks for the post Jana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Norwegian Waffles

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
this was not the waffle for us. too eggy, although they were very crisp and light. thanks any way JulsCampbell :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Our Favorite Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
love, love, love this. delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Chicken Paprikash II

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
this was a very tasty dish. i didn't cook a whole hour, maybe 45 mins. the only issue i had, which i am sure is operator error, is i couldn't get the sour cream to mix in nicely. it still tasted good, but nasty to look at. served over egg noodles. i probably used more paprika also. thanks for the post SHAELYNUMBER10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I skipped the flour & used white balsamic at other reviewers' suggestion. I served it over brown rice. Hubbie says it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States