Jersey City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mother's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Great bread. The baking time was spot on for me because it produced a slightly crisp crust on the bread, but some others might want to check on the loaf 5 or 10 minutes early to avoid that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoky Chipotle Hummus

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very spicy! A nice, lingering burn on your tastebuds! Some might feel like it's too spicy but I love it like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I would suggest adding the flour to the bowl, adding the eggs, and then whisking AS YOU ADD MILK. The directions as is call for whisking eggs and flour together which only results in a giant glob of dough stuck in your whisk. Other than that these tasted great! I am going to post a lemon/blueberry cheese blintz-type filling that I concocted to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puppy Chow

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Perfect. Be sure not to skimp on the powdered sugar, otherwise you end up with all your Chex stuck together. I used the wheat version and they taste just as great, and are a smidge better for you. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Pineapple Glaze for Ham

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
At last minute for Easter dinner, I had to use crushed pineapples and some maple praline syrup. Had no cherries! I purreed the pinapple and cooked it with the brown sugar and syrup, i also added a splash of light syrup frommed canned sweet potato . The glaze was awesome! The ham came out moist and we had a delicious dipping sauce. The pineapple falvor just gives it that extra kick. Everyone enjoyed the ham amd liked the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I substituted the salt laden buillion with salt-free buillion. The flavor was alittlle bland but it saved over 4000 mg of sodium. I also added fresh sliced mushrooms and sliced baby carrots. Over all it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I get nothing but requests for this Spinach dip! Has been a a family favorite since Thanksgiving 2010 when I first made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight after my youngest requested meatloaf for the 1st time EVER. ~I can't even remember the last time I even made meatloaf. It was DELISH! The only thing I did differently was I put a layer of cheese in the middle. My daughter literally licked her plate clean!!! Simple & KidLicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gothess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

Blueberry Muffins I

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
The bf loved these. I found them to be a bit lacking in flavor. I added a dash of cinnamon to the top of some of the muffins that was nice, but next time I'll probably add it into the batter. Also, using vegetable oil I felt really dulled out the flavor, so maybe I'll try applesauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blue Cheese Chicken Wing Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I made this last night & it was a bit too spicy for myself & my youngest daughter. We used Red Hot Wing Sauce.. I was hoping that with the addition of the blue cheese dressing it would calm the heat down a bit, but it didn't. ~other then then it being a bit too hot for us, both of my son's enjoyed it a lot! I just put it all in the crock pot & then added the cheese about 15 minutes before it was done. *Just note if you aren't a person who enjoys heat in their food, you won't like this*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gothess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

Almond-Crusted Tilapia

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was very good. I bake mine, which i like better than pan frying them. the crust was very crispy and the fish was moist and juicy. this will definitely be added to my fish recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flavorful Beef Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This is the first time I have ever tried making this and it was perfect, thank you! My kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

American Lasagna

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I used the "meatloaf" mixture of ground pork, beef and veal and it made an even tastier version. I recommend draining the diced tomatoes so you have a thick sauce mixture--that way the lasagna isn't watery when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One Skillet Corned Beef Hash

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
OK I know this is a bit over the top but... I had one thick slice of corned beef remaining. I used this recipe for the proportions (added shredded carrots for color/flavor) and made two little balls with a scoop, and put them on Asian ceramic soup spoons with a rosette of Dijon mustard and put it on each diner's plate as an "amuse-bouche" I had Kirs as the cocktail, and the salt and sweet combo was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Brown Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
this is surprising delish for a brown rice dish. I am not a brown rice fan at all, but recently i have been trying to incorporate it into my meals. this is by far the best recipe that i have tried by far. I followed the recipe except I halved the butter, finely chopped some celery, onions, omitted the garlic salt and used fresh garlic and green and red peppers. my only complaint is that it takes longer than an hour fifteen its more like 2 hours. this is def a keeper. thanks for getting me to eat brown rice, i feel healthier already, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I would have given this 5 stars except the flavor seemed to be missing something, and there were too many mushrooms. I only used a pound and a half and it was too much. I think this recipe needed some garlic, but all in all it did have restaurant quality texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Bake

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
A nice savory side using butternut squash. I find that most recipes call for cinnamon and nutmeg, so I really appreciated this different take. The natural flavor of the squash perfectly compliments the bite of the bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Delicious. I doubled the sauce like most people said and I found I had too much, so I guess it depends on how saucy you like the asparagus, and what you're putting this over. As a side not on rice or another starch I think the sauce as is is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I didn't have chicken boullion cubes so I used some Adobo seasoning instead. It turned out great! I highly recommend pounding out the chicken breasts to be thin enough to roll up--better texture and distribution of ham/swiss to chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States