Jersey City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mamon (Sponge Cakes)

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
i made this recipe as a base for my "Crema de Fruta" cake. I changed the number of servings to just 12 and it had such a great proportion! It was yummmy!! I will do this again...and again!!! thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakeybabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

White Wine Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Ok, but not worth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Country Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Pumpkin Bread IV

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Excellent. Great spices. Nice and moist. Perfectly pumpkin-y. I even followed one of the comment versions and substituted applesauce for oil. My only issue is that now the muffins stick to the paper wrappers--so maybe get foil ones or just grease muffin cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
With most of these recipes I find I can cut the sugar in half and they still taste great. I did just that for the cookie batter, and then cut the glaze in half and did only a drizzle. I also used half whole wheat flour. Still delicious, and less guilt-inducing! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Super easy and foolproof! Tastes so much better than the box, but not much more effort. Melt butter and choc chips in the microwave. This will forever be my go-to brownie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toya Pollard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Muffins II

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Great taste--the spices are spot on. I thought I used a small pumpkin, but I ended up getting 2 cups from only half of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Phad Thai

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I have used this recipe for about 5 years now. The only thing I've added recently was a dash of fish sauce to give it a bit more of an authentic Thai flavor. Other than that, I've used the recipe as-is and it is still one of the most demanded dishes in the house. Even my usually "meat-and-potatoes" in-laws ask for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Dijon Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Great flavors. My only problem with this recipe is that the salmon came out a bit soggy. I will experiment with this more (maybe cut the filets into portions and then bake so more sides are exposed and the sauce doesn't pool in the middle). Other than that this is a very easy and delicious recipe. I had leftover butter/breadcrumb mixture that I used for a chicken breast the next night--worked well for chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sangria by the Pros

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Loved this Sangria, but I would make one or two suggestions. I usually use Carl Rossi wine when making sangria simply because I find the fruit balances out the bitterness of the wine and it's very inexpensive! Also a GREAT tip I came across when making sangria (white or red) is to keep it chilled place frozen grapes instead of ice cubes so that the drink will not become diluted as they melt. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Delicious! That's all I have to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

A Plus Fair Corn Dogs

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My daughter has been begging me to make corn dogs- yes, I tried it once but was a flop! So today, after Hurricane Irene left, I went out to get some ingredients. I got almost all except for the buttermilk. I thought I'd experiment and use sour cream instead. The rest is history! I followed all but just substituted an 8 oz tub sour cream + 1/3 cup milk for the buttermilk and no bacon drippings- it is still delish! We all love it! I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakeybabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

Spicy Oven-Roasted Plums

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Awesome. Perfect as a summer treat. I added some toasted almonds and topped this with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
The marinade is delicious--salty and crisp. Paired with the semi-sweet mango salsa that has a vibrant tang you this dish is amazing! Even my boyfriend who doesn't like fish wants me to cook this for him. Be sure you get a ripe mango; but if, like me, it isn't quite there, add a little sugar to help it along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basil-Garlic Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Maja Blanca Especiale (Corn and Coconut Cream Pudding)

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
It tasted okay andbrought back memories of Grandma's cooking. However, I can taste the cornstarch even thoughI didn't finished the entire 1 1/2 C. Over all, it is ok and I finally finished the last piece last week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakeybabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

Tamra's Lemon Artichoke Pesto

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I misread the directions and added the artichoke to the food processor so I ended up with a yummy hummus-like paste. I'll add a cup of the starchy pasta water to make more of a sauce. I agree with the other comments that this is VERY garlicky, and I only used 5 cloves. Otherwise nice flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ramen Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Great flavors, not too much dressing. Very tasty, crunchy summer side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Chicken Divan

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Very basic recipe. I felt that it needed some more seasonings--especially the chicken. I will make again but I will probably spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Risotto

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Loved loved loved the flavors in this risotto! Do soak the sundried tomatoes in hot water for 20 minutes to soften as suggested--they'll release much better flavor into the risotto. I also used the whole zucchini--much better veggie to starch ratio. Also, before adding in the stock slowly I added 1 cup of sauvignon blanc because I'm a vino.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States