Jersey City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spicy Oven-Roasted Plums

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Awesome. Perfect as a summer treat. I added some toasted almonds and topped this with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
The marinade is delicious--salty and crisp. Paired with the semi-sweet mango salsa that has a vibrant tang you this dish is amazing! Even my boyfriend who doesn't like fish wants me to cook this for him. Be sure you get a ripe mango; but if, like me, it isn't quite there, add a little sugar to help it along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basil-Garlic Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Tamra's Lemon Artichoke Pesto

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I misread the directions and added the artichoke to the food processor so I ended up with a yummy hummus-like paste. I'll add a cup of the starchy pasta water to make more of a sauce. I agree with the other comments that this is VERY garlicky, and I only used 5 cloves. Otherwise nice flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ramen Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Great flavors, not too much dressing. Very tasty, crunchy summer side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Chicken Divan

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Very basic recipe. I felt that it needed some more seasonings--especially the chicken. I will make again but I will probably spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Risotto

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Loved loved loved the flavors in this risotto! Do soak the sundried tomatoes in hot water for 20 minutes to soften as suggested--they'll release much better flavor into the risotto. I also used the whole zucchini--much better veggie to starch ratio. Also, before adding in the stock slowly I added 1 cup of sauvignon blanc because I'm a vino.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooked Short Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
My only issue was that the sauce ended up being very watery. I would have liked something thicker I could have poured over the meat. Other than that, the flavors were great. I ended up not having or knowing what chili sauce was, so I used 1/2 cup of Frank's read hot and omitting the chile powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooked Corned Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Corned beef came out very tender and delicious. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Childofchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Childofchaos

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I used this recipe with Beef Ribs and made a few changes (like just using BBQ sauce in place of the ketchup, chili sauce, vinegar). Looks marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Childofchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
We liked these! Sauce is good! Might want to try it on chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Cabbage Beef Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
We all liked it! Healthy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Banana Bread II

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Great bread. The baking time was spot on for me because it produced a slightly crisp crust on the bread, but some others might want to check on the loaf 5 or 10 minutes early to avoid that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoky Chipotle Hummus

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very spicy! A nice, lingering burn on your tastebuds! Some might feel like it's too spicy but I love it like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I would suggest adding the flour to the bowl, adding the eggs, and then whisking AS YOU ADD MILK. The directions as is call for whisking eggs and flour together which only results in a giant glob of dough stuck in your whisk. Other than that these tasted great! I am going to post a lemon/blueberry cheese blintz-type filling that I concocted to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puppy Chow

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Perfect. Be sure not to skimp on the powdered sugar, otherwise you end up with all your Chex stuck together. I used the wheat version and they taste just as great, and are a smidge better for you. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Pineapple Glaze for Ham

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
At last minute for Easter dinner, I had to use crushed pineapples and some maple praline syrup. Had no cherries! I purreed the pinapple and cooked it with the brown sugar and syrup, i also added a splash of light syrup frommed canned sweet potato . The glaze was awesome! The ham came out moist and we had a delicious dipping sauce. The pineapple falvor just gives it that extra kick. Everyone enjoyed the ham amd liked the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I substituted the salt laden buillion with salt-free buillion. The flavor was alittlle bland but it saved over 4000 mg of sodium. I also added fresh sliced mushrooms and sliced baby carrots. Over all it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I get nothing but requests for this Spinach dip! Has been a a family favorite since Thanksgiving 2010 when I first made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States