Jersey City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Yam Casserole

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Chicken Cacciatore, Sicilian-Style

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I just finished eating....it was delicious! It was so nice out today, that instead of cooking the chicken indoors, I grilled it - good choice! I also added mushrooms :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Curry in a Hurry

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Keeper!! Thanks for the recipe. I've recently started eating low-carb, and this recipe fits right in to my new lifestyle. I prefer red bell peppers over the green, so I used that, and I used 2 TBS of dried, minced onion - just because I didn't feel like cutting up a fresh onion. Other than that, I didn't make any changes. I also would suggest that you can substitute cooked chicken for the tuna, if desired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Madhu

Mexican Quinoa

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
It's awesome. Super easy and very tasty. I used half the packet of taco seasoning. Also, used organic low sodium chicken broth. Reduces the sodium content to a great extent. Overall it's a great recipe. Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madhu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Bravo!!!! This was AMAZING. I have never tried a tuna casserole before. I remember the late eighties, early nineties when tuna casserole was a poor man's meal and dinner preparers would throw all the ingredients I a casserole dish, bake and the results were not appetizing at all. Honestly neither was this my DD, and DH was ready to count it out, until they tasted it, it was so good, everyone had more. I used can salmon because I didn't have tuna, I think the results would be the same. Everything else I left the same. Give this version a try, you won't be disappointed. That's for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

General Tao Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This was okay. I don't think it taste like take out. I followed the recipe as written since this was my first time trying it, I will definitely tweak next time. I doubled everything, I had about for pounds of CB to use. Next time I will half the sugar and ketchup. Add more ginger. I will also add whole dried chili pepper like my take out restaurant does. Maybe some cayenne for some heat. This is a keeper with changes, but anything new to do to chicken is a keeper in my book. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach-Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Not outstanding, but good. I added some cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I don't care for spicy food, but I tried this recipe because I like all of the other ingredients except the cayenne. That said, however, I DO plan to make it again, cutting back on the cayenne. Excellent combinations here, and it's worth another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I didn't care for this at all. Definitely not a quick-easy meal. I don't care for sauces made with lemon juice, either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Cheesy Potato and Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
A KEEPER! I will be making this one again, for sure! I added some cooked chicken. Taste the soup before adding any seasonings, however. The Country Gravy mix DOES have pepper in it. It's fine, but we didn't think it needed more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
AWESOME! I will definitely be making this again! I added some fresh spinach 5 minutes before it was done, as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Easy Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
It IS easy, but I prefer my chicken parm with breaded chicken. Buy the Perdue breaded chicken - already cooked. Can add some frozen chopped onions & peppers. This recipe would probably work with another sauce, too, such as cream of chicken (or cream of mushroom) soup, or one of those Progresso sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Honey Maid Holiday Cheesecake Presents

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very good, and very easy! Be sure to line the pan with foil BEFORE putting the graham cracker mixture in the bottom of the pan, and be sure to dip knife in hot water before making EACH cut! We used green and red gel to decorate. I did not change the recipe at all. However, next time, to make things a bit easier, I will buy graham cracker crumbs. Note that the 10 crackers called for in the recipe makes 1 3/4 cups of crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Sweet Potato and Turkey Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I'm giving this three stars because we liked the taste. However, if I were to make it again, I'd make alot of changes. First question: why all the pots? Why cook the sweet potato and the russet potato separately, and then, in step 3, put them in a bowl together and mix? I don't get that. So, you've got three pots there, then the pan where you cook the turkey, then the casserole dish that you bake it in. I'm not a new cook - been cooking over 40 years, but I don't care for recipes that are this labor-intensive. Next time I make it, I plan to buy some fat free turkey or chicken gravy, add it to the cooked or ground turkey, then assemble as directed. Done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Easy Leftover Thanksgiving Turkey Pot Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Good, basic recipe, but rather bland. Made my own adjustments. Added about 1 tsp of Mrs. Dash to the mixture. Used canned lowfat chicken gravy instead of the C O Chicken Soup. Didn't want to roll out the Bisquick dough, so I used a 5.5oz pkg of Bisquick mixed with 1/3 c + 1 TBSP of milk, and dropped it by Tablespoons onto the mixture before baking. Not sure if I'd add potatoes next time - I feel that there's enough starch with the Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Potato Pancakes II

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Rather bland as written. Need to add some onion (white, green or minced, dried). Do not flip too early, they will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Carrot Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Not bad, but rather bland. Needs something - maybe a little Mrs. Dash? I tried it with 2 cups of the Stovetop Stuffing, but it was too much. Next time, I will use less. Maybe only 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Campbell's® Swiss Vegetable Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I thought this was worth making again. I used fresh vegetable mix from BJ's, but I should have steamed them a bit first. My bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States