Jersey City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Campbell's® Swiss Vegetable Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I thought this was worth making again. I used fresh vegetable mix from BJ's, but I should have steamed them a bit first. My bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Chocolate Pudding Cake II

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
My partner and I whipped this up when we were craving a chocolatey treat one night, and we were very impressed at how easy it was to make. The fact that it is mixed together in the pan that it bakes makes cleanup a cinch. I reduced the flour slightly and and added an extra tablespoon of cocoa to the cake to give it a little more flavor, since several people felt it was bland. Because the cake is so basic, it leaves a lot of room for modifications to personal taste. Overall, we found it to be a simple, delicious recipe that took less than 15 minutes to prepare and made almost no mess. It tasted great warm or cold. Definitely will make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyesofStone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unbelievably Easy and Delicious Vegetarian Chili

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Extremely salty. Couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Ethiopian Cabbage Dish

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I brought this dish to a pot luck, and I was the only person who liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Amazing Muffin Cups

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is very tasty. Made it for bunch it was a hit. I left out the peppers because I didn't have any on hand. I chopped broccoli and added that. I also added ham cubes. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Becky's Baked Oatmeal

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
A keeper! I've made this twice, and I will undoubtedly make it again! I can't eat bananas, so I substituted canned pineapple (drained). Next time I want to try canned pears or peaches (which I will blend before adding), but you can probably experiment with this. I didn't have flaxseed oil, so I used canola. The second time I made it, I left out the white sugar, just added the brown, thinking that, if I wanted to, I could sprinkle some sugar on it before eating. The addition of the 3/4 cup of white sugar makes it more cake-like, IMO. One thing I would stress is spraying the pan before adding your mixture. I didn't do that the first time, and it stuck to my non-stick pan. I don't get 9 servings out of it, though, I get 6, using an 8 x 8 pan. I also sprinkled some cinnamon on top before baking. When done, I cut it into 6 portions and refrigerated it. I like it in the morning - just nuke it for a minute on 3/4 power. P.S. You can probably top it with some vanilla yogurt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Carrie's Artichoke and Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is one of those recipes that, when I first tasted it, I really enjoyedit. Then, the more I ate it, the less I liked it. Maybe it was the marinated artichoke hearts, I'm not sure. Whatever it was, I doubt I'll make it again. And the cost of the sun dried tomatoes ($7 for 7.5 oz jar) was WAY out of my budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I used the crushed Ritz crackers. I needed to halve the recipe for my family of 3. However, even when halving all of the ingredients, I did NOT halve the package of ranch dressing mix. I used one lb of boneless, skinless chicken breasts and, because they were quite thick, I sliced them horizontally. Because of that, I was able to cut the cooking time to 1/2 hour. Also, IMO, it's much easier to put the dry ingredients in a plastic bag, rather than a bowl, (a la "Shake 'n Bake").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Asian Coleslaw

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Chicken and Corn Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
We liked this meal - ALOT! Will definitely be making it again. I was a bit hesitant because we don't care for spicy food, but we don't mind if if it's mild. I used mild salsa, and I didn't add the chili powder - I only sprinkled a little on top before turning on the slow cooker. We topped it with sliced green onions and crumbled tortilla chips. I'm planning to make a new batch next week and bring it to the office Christmas party. I only used one pound of chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made this last night for my husband for our intimate anniversary dinner. OMG! it turned out awesome! i was thoroughly surprised and my husband was completely speechless with how it turned out. We finished two huge pieces of chicken without stopping for even a minute.I dabbed the chicken breast pieces with minced garlic as suggested but generously, definitely way more than how much one clove of garlic would produce. I also dabbed extra pepper along with some cayenne pepper for the extra kick. Basked them on the pan for slightly longer both to give the chicken a nice brown color on the outside, along with making sure its cooked well from inside. I bought Sabra Mango and Peach salsa and used it whole.Topped generously with Mexican blend cheese and baked it as suggested for 15-20mins and allowed the cheese to bubble.I made some spanish rice with some pre-cooked brown rice on the side, and the combination went great. Topped extra sour cream on top of the chicken right before serving and it tasted awesome. Thank you for this amazing easy dish.Definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madhu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Coffee

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
When I first tried this, I liked it very much. However, the more I drank it, the less I liked it. I can't explain why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Much too labor-intensive! Took me an hour just to get this recipe ready for baking! I recommend using Heinz's fat-free chicken gravy OR Progresso's recipe starters "creamy roasted garlic with chicken stock cooking sauce". MUCH easier! For the topping, use refrigerated biscuits or mashed potatoes (the bisquick is too messy, IMO!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mock Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This is one of those recipes that, when you first taste it, it's really good! But it's not so good later on. can't explain why. Just lost interest in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I used canned chicken (large can). Next time, I plan to try medium salsa. This dish was a bit bland for me. Also, I added a can of green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Icing

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I had a LOT of icing left over, so next time I may cut the ingredients for the icing in half. Otherwise, everyone who tried these cupcakes after I made them LOVED them. I wasn't so sure about them at first, because the consistency of the batter was too runny when I made it, but it turned out pretty well. It took me a lot longer than 30 minutes to prep (more like 50 minutes), and less time to bake (more like 20 minutes). Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCDance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

Quick Chicken and Stuffing Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Quick & easy. We liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Great yet simple recipe. I could never get soups right. But this was a great foundation. I made a smaller batch so I only used 2 1/2 Knorr chicken boullon cubes and added cabbage and Goya noodles. Absolutely tasty. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherezada623

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palisades Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States