Jersey City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
It IS easy, but I prefer my chicken parm with breaded chicken. Buy the Perdue breaded chicken - already cooked. Can add some frozen chopped onions & peppers. This recipe would probably work with another sauce, too, such as cream of chicken (or cream of mushroom) soup, or one of those Progresso sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Honey Maid Holiday Cheesecake Presents

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very good, and very easy! Be sure to line the pan with foil BEFORE putting the graham cracker mixture in the bottom of the pan, and be sure to dip knife in hot water before making EACH cut! We used green and red gel to decorate. I did not change the recipe at all. However, next time, to make things a bit easier, I will buy graham cracker crumbs. Note that the 10 crackers called for in the recipe makes 1 3/4 cups of crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Sweet Potato and Turkey Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I'm giving this three stars because we liked the taste. However, if I were to make it again, I'd make alot of changes. First question: why all the pots? Why cook the sweet potato and the russet potato separately, and then, in step 3, put them in a bowl together and mix? I don't get that. So, you've got three pots there, then the pan where you cook the turkey, then the casserole dish that you bake it in. I'm not a new cook - been cooking over 40 years, but I don't care for recipes that are this labor-intensive. Next time I make it, I plan to buy some fat free turkey or chicken gravy, add it to the cooked or ground turkey, then assemble as directed. Done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Easy Leftover Thanksgiving Turkey Pot Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Good, basic recipe, but rather bland. Made my own adjustments. Added about 1 tsp of Mrs. Dash to the mixture. Used canned lowfat chicken gravy instead of the C O Chicken Soup. Didn't want to roll out the Bisquick dough, so I used a 5.5oz pkg of Bisquick mixed with 1/3 c + 1 TBSP of milk, and dropped it by Tablespoons onto the mixture before baking. Not sure if I'd add potatoes next time - I feel that there's enough starch with the Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Potato Pancakes II

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Rather bland as written. Need to add some onion (white, green or minced, dried). Do not flip too early, they will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Carrot Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Not bad, but rather bland. Needs something - maybe a little Mrs. Dash? I tried it with 2 cups of the Stovetop Stuffing, but it was too much. Next time, I will use less. Maybe only 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Campbell's® Swiss Vegetable Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I thought this was worth making again. I used fresh vegetable mix from BJ's, but I should have steamed them a bit first. My bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Chocolate Pudding Cake II

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
My partner and I whipped this up when we were craving a chocolatey treat one night, and we were very impressed at how easy it was to make. The fact that it is mixed together in the pan that it bakes makes cleanup a cinch. I reduced the flour slightly and and added an extra tablespoon of cocoa to the cake to give it a little more flavor, since several people felt it was bland. Because the cake is so basic, it leaves a lot of room for modifications to personal taste. Overall, we found it to be a simple, delicious recipe that took less than 15 minutes to prepare and made almost no mess. It tasted great warm or cold. Definitely will make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyesofStone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unbelievably Easy and Delicious Vegetarian Chili

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Extremely salty. Couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Ethiopian Cabbage Dish

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I brought this dish to a pot luck, and I was the only person who liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Amazing Muffin Cups

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is very tasty. Made it for bunch it was a hit. I left out the peppers because I didn't have any on hand. I chopped broccoli and added that. I also added ham cubes. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Becky's Baked Oatmeal

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
A keeper! I've made this twice, and I will undoubtedly make it again! I can't eat bananas, so I substituted canned pineapple (drained). Next time I want to try canned pears or peaches (which I will blend before adding), but you can probably experiment with this. I didn't have flaxseed oil, so I used canola. The second time I made it, I left out the white sugar, just added the brown, thinking that, if I wanted to, I could sprinkle some sugar on it before eating. The addition of the 3/4 cup of white sugar makes it more cake-like, IMO. One thing I would stress is spraying the pan before adding your mixture. I didn't do that the first time, and it stuck to my non-stick pan. I don't get 9 servings out of it, though, I get 6, using an 8 x 8 pan. I also sprinkled some cinnamon on top before baking. When done, I cut it into 6 portions and refrigerated it. I like it in the morning - just nuke it for a minute on 3/4 power. P.S. You can probably top it with some vanilla yogurt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Carrie's Artichoke and Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is one of those recipes that, when I first tasted it, I really enjoyedit. Then, the more I ate it, the less I liked it. Maybe it was the marinated artichoke hearts, I'm not sure. Whatever it was, I doubt I'll make it again. And the cost of the sun dried tomatoes ($7 for 7.5 oz jar) was WAY out of my budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I used the crushed Ritz crackers. I needed to halve the recipe for my family of 3. However, even when halving all of the ingredients, I did NOT halve the package of ranch dressing mix. I used one lb of boneless, skinless chicken breasts and, because they were quite thick, I sliced them horizontally. Because of that, I was able to cut the cooking time to 1/2 hour. Also, IMO, it's much easier to put the dry ingredients in a plastic bag, rather than a bowl, (a la "Shake 'n Bake").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Asian Coleslaw

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Chicken and Corn Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
We liked this meal - ALOT! Will definitely be making it again. I was a bit hesitant because we don't care for spicy food, but we don't mind if if it's mild. I used mild salsa, and I didn't add the chili powder - I only sprinkled a little on top before turning on the slow cooker. We topped it with sliced green onions and crumbled tortilla chips. I'm planning to make a new batch next week and bring it to the office Christmas party. I only used one pound of chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made this last night for my husband for our intimate anniversary dinner. OMG! it turned out awesome! i was thoroughly surprised and my husband was completely speechless with how it turned out. We finished two huge pieces of chicken without stopping for even a minute.I dabbed the chicken breast pieces with minced garlic as suggested but generously, definitely way more than how much one clove of garlic would produce. I also dabbed extra pepper along with some cayenne pepper for the extra kick. Basked them on the pan for slightly longer both to give the chicken a nice brown color on the outside, along with making sure its cooked well from inside. I bought Sabra Mango and Peach salsa and used it whole.Topped generously with Mexican blend cheese and baked it as suggested for 15-20mins and allowed the cheese to bubble.I made some spanish rice with some pre-cooked brown rice on the side, and the combination went great. Topped extra sour cream on top of the chicken right before serving and it tasted awesome. Thank you for this amazing easy dish.Definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madhu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Coffee

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
When I first tried this, I liked it very much. However, the more I drank it, the less I liked it. I can't explain why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States