Jackson, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Leg o' Lamb with Lemon and Rosemary

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I bought a boneless leg of lamb that was on sale, and I was looking for an easy yet delicious way to prepare it. This recipe hit it on the head. I did end up cooking it for an extra half hour than it called for, and it was still medium rare and juicy. I also caramelized some diced onions and poured them over the top of it, and added fingerling pototoes and carrots to the pan. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Foster Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foolproof Rib Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I have to say, I was so nervous about this cooking method, especially since the meat was pretty expensive and I had never cooked one before. I ended up getting (2) 2.5 cuts. I sat them on the counter for about an hour, and sprinkled salt, pepper and Steak seasoning. I placed in a pre heated 375 oven for 30 minutes, turned off the oven and although tempted, didn't open the oven door. I let sit for one hour and 15 minutes, then turned back on to 375 for another 20 minutes. I let sit on counter for another 10 to 15 before slicing. This was absolutely amazing, simple and delicious. There was enough juice in the pan for dipping and I can't wait for the next holiday to try again! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefkim21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sinfully Delicious Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolynn Pearce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Massena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is great. We have added this to our meal rotation and make once every 6 weeks or so. Great flavor, and even better left over the next day. We melt provolone on some lightly buttered rolls, bake for a few and then serve with a small side bowl of the dipping sauce. My son loves to add a bit of horseradish sauce to his. GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefkim21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
the flavor of these bad boys are amazing. Defenitely allow the time to prep as they do take some time and are a little messy but if you are a fan of jalapeno poppers. you MUST try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefkim21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Rangoon

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
My teenage son devoured these. A little time consuming to make and messy to prepare, but taste was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefkim21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bill's Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
We are a family that loves our sausage gravy. The problem with so many recipes is that it just comes out too plain. This was great, and a small dribble of maple syrup in it finished it off perfectly. Our new Sunday morning recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefkim21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Skinned Potato Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
AMAZING. this is a GREAT potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefkim21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Applesauce Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
The bones of this recipe are great. In an attempt to make it a *little* less bad for me, I subbed the vegetable oil for walnut oil I had on hand, used a stevia/sugar mix instead of straight sugar (1/2 c instead of a full cup of plain sugar), and 1 cup of AP flour with another 3/4 cup of white whole wheat flour. I doubled all the spices as well and added lightly floured walnuts instead of pecans. I stayed away from adding extra sugar since this is a quick bread and not a spice cake, and I love how this turned out. In the past I've added raisins or currants and those also make this even more delicious. All-in-all, the base recipe is probably my favorite for applesauce bread that I've found so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tzatziki Sauce (Yogurt and Cucumber Dip)

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was fantastic. I did use the greek yogurt, did not strain it. chopped up cucumber and patted it and salted it. DELICOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefkim21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
The only reason I gave this 4 stars is because they were way too sweet, even though I reduced sugar by 1/4 cup. I can't imagine how much sweeter they'd have been if I'd used regular PB with added sugar as opposed to natural PB. I did use 25% white sugar and 75% brown. Next time I'll reduce sugar by half-- just a personal preference. Otherwise, these came out fantastic. Texture was perfect, and mine were done in 9 minutes, just slightly brown at the edges. They were crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside even when cooled. I will use this recipe for years to come. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Cookies II

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This came out absolutely amazing. I am not a baker; I'm timid when it comes to tweaking recipes. After reading the reviews, I tried the following: I substituted 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 white for the 1 cup sugar part; I only used 2 1/2 cups of flour; and I added a teaspoon of lemon extract. These are delicious. They don't need any additional sugar on top; they are light (I baked them for 8 minutes at 400 degrees). I will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Foster Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jasmine's Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
So good. I made two pounds of sprouts and subbed bacon as it was what I had on hand-- I used about half a package of low sodium bacon. I also salted the water and boiled for the full 7 mins and they were perfect for us. I didn't think my picky 6 year old would even try them, but she ate most of them (with a little encouragement). I will be making this again for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foolproof Chocolate Fudge

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
LOVE this recipe! Very easy fudge recipe, and it makes a great base to try out different flavors and mix-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Baked Sea Scallops

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I enjoyed them the second day better To much breading . I would cut back on bread crumbs and butter .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gilmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brussels Sprouts with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I made this last night I added garlic salt and red peppers . I steamed them for about 9 mins. I would made them again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gilmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Jalapeno Tuna Steaks

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Very good I use the Jalapeno's with everything . The tuna was very moist .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gilmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samlawali

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
These are SHUT THE FRONT DOOR good! My BF loves peanut butter and I decided to surprise him with these little cuties for dessert yesterday. He said they were little bites of heaven. Based on the suggestions I: used 1.5 sticks of butter, melted the cup of PB with the butter, refridgerated the crust for about 20-30 minutes before pouring in chocolate mixture, let pan cool in fridge for 45 minutes before cutting into bite size pieces and then cooled another 30 minutes before serving. What I meant to do, and didn't, was use the parchment paper; some of my crust broke (minor pieces) and think using the parchment will help next time. When I cut into the chocolate, I did have a little breakage but once I used a firm smooth cut with a super sharp knife it went fine. Will be using this recipe at many gatherings to come. Thank you Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samlawali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

Savory Crescent Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I took your base and updated with my own topppings. First batch was chicken, spinach, ricotta and mozzarella. Second batch was chorizo, eggs, spinach and pepper jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samlawali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Photo by samlawali

Stuffed Breakfast Braid

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I like it 'cause its easy and yummy for those who love breakfast food, but bored by the normal eggs and sausage dish. You can ramp it up with veggies or different cheeses, different spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samlawali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 97) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States