Jackson, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tzatziki Sauce (Yogurt and Cucumber Dip)

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was fantastic. I did use the greek yogurt, did not strain it. chopped up cucumber and patted it and salted it. DELICOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefkim21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
The only reason I gave this 4 stars is because they were way too sweet, even though I reduced sugar by 1/4 cup. I can't imagine how much sweeter they'd have been if I'd used regular PB with added sugar as opposed to natural PB. I did use 25% white sugar and 75% brown. Next time I'll reduce sugar by half-- just a personal preference. Otherwise, these came out fantastic. Texture was perfect, and mine were done in 9 minutes, just slightly brown at the edges. They were crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside even when cooled. I will use this recipe for years to come. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Cookies II

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This came out absolutely amazing. I am not a baker; I'm timid when it comes to tweaking recipes. After reading the reviews, I tried the following: I substituted 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 white for the 1 cup sugar part; I only used 2 1/2 cups of flour; and I added a teaspoon of lemon extract. These are delicious. They don't need any additional sugar on top; they are light (I baked them for 8 minutes at 400 degrees). I will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABOOKL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jasmine's Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
So good. I made two pounds of sprouts and subbed bacon as it was what I had on hand-- I used about half a package of low sodium bacon. I also salted the water and boiled for the full 7 mins and they were perfect for us. I didn't think my picky 6 year old would even try them, but she ate most of them (with a little encouragement). I will be making this again for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Baked Sea Scallops

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I enjoyed them the second day better To much breading . I would cut back on bread crumbs and butter .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brussels Sprouts with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I made this last night I added garlic salt and red peppers . I steamed them for about 9 mins. I would made them again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Jalapeno Tuna Steaks

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Very good I use the Jalapeno's with everything . The tuna was very moist .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samlawali

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
These are SHUT THE FRONT DOOR good! My BF loves peanut butter and I decided to surprise him with these little cuties for dessert yesterday. He said they were little bites of heaven. Based on the suggestions I: used 1.5 sticks of butter, melted the cup of PB with the butter, refridgerated the crust for about 20-30 minutes before pouring in chocolate mixture, let pan cool in fridge for 45 minutes before cutting into bite size pieces and then cooled another 30 minutes before serving. What I meant to do, and didn't, was use the parchment paper; some of my crust broke (minor pieces) and think using the parchment will help next time. When I cut into the chocolate, I did have a little breakage but once I used a firm smooth cut with a super sharp knife it went fine. Will be using this recipe at many gatherings to come. Thank you Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samlawali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

Savory Crescent Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I took your base and updated with my own topppings. First batch was chicken, spinach, ricotta and mozzarella. Second batch was chorizo, eggs, spinach and pepper jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samlawali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Photo by samlawali

Stuffed Breakfast Braid

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I like it 'cause its easy and yummy for those who love breakfast food, but bored by the normal eggs and sausage dish. You can ramp it up with veggies or different cheeses, different spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samlawali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

Baked Spaghetti (meatless)

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Lots of raves when I made this for a dinner party this weekend. Made a few edits: no meat, added sauteed bell peppers and mushrooms, replaced seasoned salt with italian seasonings, garlic and onion powder, and a small amount of crushed red pepper, added fresh grated romano with the parmesan cheese and split the mozzarella cheese with italian blend cheese. Also replaced cottage cheese with ricotta. Base was great to work with and will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samlawali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Photo by samlawali

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Lots of raves when I made this for a dinner party this weekend. Made a few edits: no meat, added sauteed bell peppers and mushrooms, replaced seasoned salt with italian seasonings, garlic and onion powder, and a small amount of crushed red pepper, added fresh grated romano with the parmesan cheese and split the mozzarella cheese with italian blend cheese. Also replaced cottage cheese with ricotta. Base was great to work with and will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samlawali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Photo by samlawali

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Used this recipe as my base. Modifications I made are: used 1/2 lean beef and 1/2 ground pork, deleted sea salt and garlic salt (but used garlic and onion powder) and used a mix of fresh grated parmesan and romano cheeses. I baked at 350 degrees for about 40 minutes in a baking dish of my homemade spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samlawali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Lisa

Chocolate-Banana Cake Roll

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this roll after making pumpkin rolls and I am glad I knew how to roll in a towel and let cool for 15 mins before filling with whipped cream no bananas I topped it with hershey syrup . It was very good .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I just made this for dinner . I did not add the bouillon cubes and no celery salt . It was very good we made flaky grands and put them on the bottom of the bowl with the stew over them it was so good . Its a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I have made this recipe many times It is so easy .Its a 10 star recipe !! My family loves it . My daughter is now making it for her family .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basil-Lime Sorbet

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Found this recipe while looking for things to do with all the basil I had. Originally thought it to be an odd combination, but was very pleasantly surprised. It was absolutely amazing!!! Will definitely be making this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Massena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wrynne

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
These were surprisingly tasty. The only reason I'm giving them 4 stars instead of 5 is because...well, it's pretty much a basic deviled egg recipe but with bacon, and adding bacon to anything is basically cheating. I've made these twice now, once with the cheese and once without. Unless you're using sharp cheddar, the cheese really doesn't add much to these. The second time around I also added a smidge of cayenne, which was a nice layer of flavor near the end. All in all, it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This really is a fantastic recipe. Easy, quick (don't even need a mixer, unlike regular chocolate chip cookies) and delicious. I make them to the recipe and only substitute milk chocolate chips for semi-sweet and they've turned out great both times I've made them. When they cool they do get a little crisp/crunchy, but after I pop them into a zip bag and leave them alone for a couple of hours their texture comes right back. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
These were pretty tasty, but I was a little surprised at how much like the box mix they turned out to be. That's not necessarily bad, but I think I was expecting a little bit more from them. I did make a couple of changes in adding a little cinnamon and some vanilla, and I cooked them in some butter instead of spray. Good, but not mind-blowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 97) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States