Hoboken, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quick Chicken Peanut Mole with Cilantro Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I didn't make the rice, but the chicken mole came out great! I used chicken tenders, 2 cloves garlic, diced tomatoes with jalapeños and 2t chili powder. After tasting it, I modified it by adding 1T honey and an extra 1T cocoa to give it a darker color and more chocolaty taste. This made it perfectly seasoned and flavorful! It made a ton of food, but I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Love this recipe. I didn't want to take the time smashing up the saltines & was going to use bread crumbs but, at the last minute, I gave in and glad that I did. The saltines are key to the crunchy goodness of this chicken. I marinated the chicken for a few hours in buttermilk (1 cup of milk with 1 tablespoon of lemon juice). I didn't fry but baked at 375 for about 50 minutes. You would never be able to tell that it was baked and not fried, it was that good!!! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatloaf with Italian Sausage

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Very good recipe. I used the sweet Italian sausage. I didn't have the dry wheat cereal so, I used Italian bread crumbs and the texture and flavor were just unreal. A definate thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe. I used sweet Italian sausage. I didn't have the tomato paste so, I had to use a jar sauce (half a 16 ounce jar). I also had only red wine so, I used a little red wine and watered it down, I think I used only 1/4 cup of wine, instead of the 1/2 cup. The rest of the recipe I followed exactly and it was great! Such a wonderful flavor. Will make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Warm Blue Cheese Dip with Garlic and Bacon

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I made this for a cocktail party and added a handful of chopped walnuts for more texture. everyone loved it, especially with wheat thins. It's very rich and filling, so alittle goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Peanut Butter Hot Dogs

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
These are wonderful as breakfast, snack or a light lunch. To make cinnamon-raisin peanut butter, just stir 1/2 cup raisins, 2T sugar and 3t cinnamon into a 16oz jar of peanut butter. Also, make sure the bread is soft and bendable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer Bread I

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Gotta say, I did not like this recipe. I think you need to be wary of what beer you choose. The bread was too dry and dense with too much of a yeast flavor. I used Saranac Indian Pale Ale. Maybe a fruit flavored Sam Adams or something else. Maybe give it a try with real flour and yeast along with some more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poached Chicken with Rosemary and Garlic

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
"It's got some real good flavor, you can really taste it" -- B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Style Chicken Pizza

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made several modifications, starting with a whole wheat pizza dough from Trader Joe's. For the sauce, I used half a can of refried beans w/ jalapenos and mixed in a few spoonfuls of spicy BBQ sauce. I used 1 can (10oz) of white meat chicken which worked well because it is shredded and spreads over the whole pizza. I topped the chicken with some red onion rings, diced red pepper and sauteed mushrooms. For the cheese, I used half fat-free shredded cheddar and half low-fat mozzarella cheese. The pizza was a little thicker and took about 15 minutes. A little spray of olive oil on top near the end crisped the cheese up gorgeously! Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

London Broil II

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
The first time I made this I marinated overnight and I could not believe how juicy and tender the steak was. Absolutely delicious. Even my father in law who doesn't eat much steak was coming back for seconds. The most recent time recent time I made it, the steak was pretty thick so to be on the safe side I pierced it several times and doubled up on the recipe. It marinated for only 3 hours and it was absolutely delicious. You would think it had been marinated overnight instead of just a couple of hours. Great recipe that's become a family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Dip VI

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Absolutely delicious. It was a huge hit with everyone. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portobello Mushroom Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very good! Next time I'd use less lentils and more mushrooms. A nice, easy, satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kikkoman Chinese Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I'm very picky when it comes to my pepper steak, but this was very good. Just a tad bit salty for my taste though. Other than that it was great and I would definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I got rave reviews when I made this for dinner! I served it with vodka sauce and pieces of chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbl_h

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Dip From Scratch

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I made this exactly according to the recipe, and found the mayonnaise a bit too prominent. Next time, I would halve the mayo and maybe use a little more onion, even. It went over pretty well at my party, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftLass

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Nights Eggplants

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
My husband and I both love this recipe just as is! It is hearty and filling and almost tastes as if it were stuffed with crab. This also freezes decently well, making for good leftovers. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is one of my favorite dips. I do make some slight changes - I use chicken breasts instead of canned and bleu cheese instead of ranch. It's delicious and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Bites

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I made a couple of changes to it. I used less cream cheese than was asked for. I also baked them for a few minutes. They were absolutely delicious. I set them out and they were gone in less than 20 minutes. I had to send my husband out to get more phyllo shells. I'm definitely planning on making these again. I didn't have a single complaint. Even my husband who does not eat seafood of any kind had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Chik'n and Artichokes

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I doubled this recipe and had this for my husband and a guest. They cleaned their plates and asked for seconds. I give it five stars for its good taste PLUS ease of preparation. (I used parm coucous and water and it was just a touch salty for my tastes. I think it would have been best to stick with the original recipe...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Veggie Potato Stew

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I thought that the recipe was good, but not great. I will say, though, I subbed the cream for two percent milk, and contrary to what the others said, I found it not to be creamy enough. I will try it again with whole milk and I think that will make a good difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States