Hoboken, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hot Toddy

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I made this with tea instead of just hot water, I'm not a fan of watered down whisky. Didn't have lemons so I used lemon tea instead. It was delicious. My throat feels great and I'm nice and toasty warm. I would definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tiny Pecan Tarts

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Followed directions, I couldn't make balls from the pastry because it was too wet/sticky. It spilled over into the oven floor, and then I couldn't take them out of the pan..Totally disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xerrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was rather good. I think it was a bit too sweet for us. next time i'll reduce sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
One of the best things i've made in my slow cooker yet. Took away one star becaue its all canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies III

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Great recipe! The dough is irresistible: I'm surprised any of it made it into the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deana Jirak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I thought this was delicious!! I made a few changes. A little less sugar, fat free cream cheese, 1 tsp of butter and fat free low sodium chicken broth made this much healthier. It was very rich. I might try less cream cheese next time. But, there will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I didn't have any salsa so, I used 8 ounces of tomato sauce and I cut up green chillies and added that. I cut down on the cream cheese a little and added a can of refried beans. I cooked the chicken in a skillet with half a package of fajita seasoning. Baked in the oven at 325 for around 30 minutes. I also used the taco style shredded cheese and liberally sprinkled that on top. An easy and absolutely delicious recipe. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This glaze is amazing. My guests at the dinner I served it at were very impressed and it disappeared quickly. I actually didn't have a brush to brush the glaze onto the ham and had to use a wooden spoon. Additionally, I accidentally forgot a few times to glaze it as often as the recipe requests and it still turned out amazing so I can vouch that this is pretty fail proof. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deana Jirak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deana Jirak

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This cake was easy to make and the result tasted marvelous. I received many compliments, in fact most people thought I had bought, not made this delicious dessert. I highly recommend this recipe! I took special care in decorating this since it was the centerpiece for a big dinner I was hosting: I made a double-layer carrot cake with circular pans with this recipe. I made a little extra icing for between the layers and the decorations on top, but I discovered that the original amount probably would have been enough. Instead of mixing all the leftover pecans into the icing, I mixed a few into the icing, sprinkled a few in the center of the top of the cake, and pressed the remainder into the sides of the cake. I then used the technique illustrated in a video on here how to create carrots out of icing to decorate the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deana Jirak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
We loved this dish but it wasn't sticky, which could be due to not measuring the honey. Chicken tenders made the meat even more tender and succulent and we cooked it in toasted sesame oil instead of vegetable oil which really added to the flavor. We didn't have hot sauce so I added 1t chili powder and 2T water (probably unnecessary). The sauce reduced nicely and concentrated the flavor. Served over bulgur wheat this was the perfect meal! A side of roasted, but still crispy, green beans rounded it out. I highly recommend this dish. Make sure to use fresh ginger, not dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barb's Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
absolutely the best chocolate cake. I followed the directions exactly as written and even my picky 5 yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Loved it! It was a bit spicy for my family but I used cayenne pepper instead of just regular chili powder. This is what I did instead: 1 tablespoon Cayenne pepper 1 teaspoon garlic powder 1 1/4 teaspoon onion powder 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano 1 teaspoon paprika 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin 1/2 teaspoon black pepper Added sea salt to taste. When preparing the tacos, I add one clove fresh garlic and some fresh cilantro (finely minced).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crofton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup of the splenda brown sugar mix and they are still good to satisfy a sweet craving without messing up on a diet. It's hard to believe, once you taste the cookie that there is no flour. Amazing. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Fajitas

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Good recipe. I was looking for a replacement to the store bought fajita seasoning packets all the msg and chemicals yuck. I used lime juice instead of the lemon and was pleased with the results. Thanks, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flatlander Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Holy Heat, Batman :) Great and superb. Followed the recipe except I added half a cup of corn muffin mix to thicken it up. The best chili ever. Thanks, George. You rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter and Banana Dog Biscuits

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
If I had a dog I assume he/she would like them. They are a pretty healthy snack so I actually made them for myself! Clearly they're a bit dry but not too shabby when dunked in coffee or tea. I found it fun, in a gross way, to roll the dough into a narrow rod shape and stack them into little "piles".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
WOW! Excellent recipe. I left the sprouts in for the whole 45 minutes and they turned out crunchy and soft on the inside. I used fresh ones and next time I will try with frozen and see how they taste. When I trimmed them, I made sure to leave most of the ends intact so, the leaves wouldn't fall apart. Thanks, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Tomato Salsa

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Great recipe. I added an orange bell pepper and refrigetated overnight. I am eating it right now with some tortilla chips! Probably the best salsa I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Chicken Peanut Mole with Cilantro Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I didn't make the rice, but the chicken mole came out great! I used chicken tenders, 2 cloves garlic, diced tomatoes with jalapeños and 2t chili powder. After tasting it, I modified it by adding 1T honey and an extra 1T cocoa to give it a darker color and more chocolaty taste. This made it perfectly seasoned and flavorful! It made a ton of food, but I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Love this recipe. I didn't want to take the time smashing up the saltines & was going to use bread crumbs but, at the last minute, I gave in and glad that I did. The saltines are key to the crunchy goodness of this chicken. I marinated the chicken for a few hours in buttermilk (1 cup of milk with 1 tablespoon of lemon juice). I didn't fry but baked at 375 for about 50 minutes. You would never be able to tell that it was baked and not fried, it was that good!!! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States