Hoboken, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
22 hours is unnecessarily long - 8 hours on low is plenty. I used a 4.5lb eye round roast (which is the leanest cut of beef) and added 1 (1lb) bag of baby carrots and 2 (16oz) cans of white potatoes at the beginning. After 8 hours I removed everything form the crockpot except the liquid, mixed about 1/3 cup cornstarch with a cold water in a side bowl and added it to the cooking liquid for an incredible gravy. I then returned all the ingredients to the crockpot and set it to warm until we were ready to eat. It turned out to be one of the best stews I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Salmon II

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I love recipes that are simple to make and delicious - this recipe fits the bill! I added about a tablespoon of dijon mustard to the marinade and sprinkled the fish with dill weed before baking. Instead of wrapping the fish in foil, I put it in a glass baking dish and covered it with foil. I served it with a side of pasta with lentils and my four year old son ate two helpings of the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kipley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kipley

Broccoli Chicken Roli

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Super easy to make and absolutely delicious. I'm from the Midwest originally, so this is my kind of food... cheese, mayo, meat.. mix it up with a bit of broccoli, wrap it in pastry, throw it in the oven - boom. Done. My sister was "wowed" by the presentation, and if we were not trying to set an example of self-discipline in front of my children, I think we would have snarfed the whole dang thing ourselves. I used canned chicken which we had in the "pantry" (our cupboard), and the only other change I made was sauteeing the onion and green pepper in olive oil, and using gouda cheese instead of cheddar. Cheddar would be awesome, I'm sure, but we had a big hunk of gouda in the fridge. My kids were not too impressed (they're 4 years and 20 months), and didn't eat much, but I would definitely make this again. Great combination of textures and rich flavors that was perfect for a cold fall evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kipley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Earhart's Pepper Pot Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very tasty - my favorite kind of meal for a cool, fall evening! I added fresh garlic to the onion/pepper/celery mix, and used whole wheat penne instead of egg noodles because that's what we had on hand. Served it with a fresh green salad - delicious, and a hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kipley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I made this last night - it was delicious! In addition to the ingredients listed, I added one small can of green chilies, 14 oz can of chick peas, 14 oz can of corn. I also added about one tbs ground cumin, extra chili power (2 tbs total), 1 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 tbs hot sauce. Very easy to prepare and cook and everyone loved it - great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kipley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Very easy to prepare, and delicious when it was done! I suspect the leftovers will be even better! I started with frozen chicken breasts, and cooked it on high for about five hours. I used chicken broth instead of water as others have recommended. I used only one package of biscuit dough, which was plenty for our taste. I also added about 2 cups of frozen mixed veggies during the last 30 minutes. I think next time I'll add a bit of rosemary. Our four year old ate two helpings, but our 18 month old was not too interested in this dish. I thought it was delicious, though, and will definitely make this again during fall/winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kipley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
So simple to make, I had my four year old help. Everyone loved this. We had one breast left over and it was delicious cut up and mixed with vegetables for quesadilla filling the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kipley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn and Avocado Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
okay, this was great! so fresh, i used corn from the local farmers market. buuuuut i thought it was a typo when the recipe said one tbl of cumin. whoa! it was way too much! thats the only thing i would change....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea.rio
Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
perfect! i used milk instead of yogurt, simply because i didnt have any yogurt....so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea.rio
Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colette's Smoked Sausage Fritatta

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
VERY TASTY a computer glitch showed if i made the recipe for four people i needed 225 cups of smoked sausage! if i made it just for the two of us i only needed 110 cups of sausage! lol i will be making this again and again and again! thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pingaling

Mango Berry Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I love this salad!! Really delicious, especially for mango lovers like myself. The flavors come together so well, makes me think of something that could be served at a high-end beach resort. I ate this over fresh spinach since that's what I had for greens. I think the mango raspberry dressing would be great over a veggie salad as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pingaling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot and Sour Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I make major changes to most recipes, but followed this one exactly. No changes needed! My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pingaling

Spicy Fruit Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
A fresh and fruity alternative to regular salsa for eating with tortilla chips. After reading the other reviews I started with only half the cayenne and hot sauce, and then added a bit more to my taste. I used Golden Delicious and Macintosh apples, and red salsa since that's what I had on hand and it was still yummy. Definitely allow more time than 15 min. for all the chopping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pingaling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Uncooked Banana Pudding

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Fantastic dessert! It even beat out our 15-year-old quickest-disappearing July 4th dessert. I've made this recipe as listed above and a much healthier version. Here's what I recommend to get the most nutritious and best tasting dessert you've ever had: 1. The best substitution for sour cream is nonfat plain greek yogurt or regular yogurt, but nonfat sour cream works fine too. 2. Nonfat frozen whipped topping. 3. 2 small boxes of nonfat (and sugar-free if desired) instant vanilla pudding mix. 4. Skim milk instead of whole milk. 5. Ginger snaps instead of vanilla wafers (this is the best part by far!). 6. I mix in 1/3 cup peanut butter (low or no salted variety if using natural peanut butter) with the first ingredients. That being said - I recommend mixing all the ingredients mentioned in the beginning and adding the pudding mix last. It makes a lot of pudding but not quite enough to use the 4 bananas and the whole box of cookies, but this all depends on the size of your dish I suppose. I usually use 2-3 bananas and half of a box of ginger snaps (which is perfect to make a second batch). Let the dish sit in the fridge for at least 8 hours or overnight. The ginger snaps turn into like a crystallized ginger sugar, they're unbelievable! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pingaling

My Big Fat Greek Omelet

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Pretty tasty. I added onion and used fresh baby spinach. It sort of reminded me of Greek spinach pie with some tomatoes thrown in which I guess shouldn't be surprising considering the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pingaling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pingaling

Cream Cheese Macadamia Cookies

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Very nice and I received rave reviews at the office. However I did find that while the outside of the cookie was done, the inside was slightly underdone, so next time I will try lowering the temp to 375 and bake a minute or two more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pingaling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Wonderful dish. Really easy to make and smells great when baking it. Huge hit, several people asked for the recipe from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deana Jirak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Beans a la Olla

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Yummy -- turned out well - great compliment to the open faced quesadillas I made. Just left out the diced tomatos and green onions as I did not have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crofton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Worked great. Kneading was a bit difficult but worth it. One tip I'd add is to add 1c raisins. Also, I found that my bread was a bit too raw on the inside. Next time, I'm going to flatten it a little more and cook it longer to make sure it's cooked more evenly and thoroughly. I got great feedback on this bread and recommend the recipe to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deana Jirak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Incredible, one of the most tender and succulent beef dishes I have ever had. I made a much healthier version by using an entire 5.8 lb eye round, which is the leanest cut of beef. After trimming the fat off I used 1 can (2 cups) beef broth and 1 cup red wine in place of the 1 1/4 cups water but kept the other ingredients the same. I then added 1 llarge sliced vidalia onion and about 25 baby carrots cut in half to the gravy before cooking. I had to serve this dish with tongs and ladled a spoon of gravy on top. The gravy was absolutely delicious and wasn't too thin, it was stew-like in thickness. It made a ton of gravy so we turned the leftovers into stew using a bit of the remaining beef. The entire gathering was drooling over this dish, I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States