Hoboken, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quick Enchilada Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great enchilada sauce. I didn't have the tomato puree on hand so, I had to leave it out and it was still really good. Most enchilada sauces I have tried are pretty thin anyway. I was surprised by people commenting that this sauce was no better then canned sauce. This is a gazillion times better then canned sauce. Thanks, for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Prune Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Excellent recipe. I took others advice and dusted the prunes with flour to keep them from sinking to the bottom of the tin. They have a nice banana flavor and are moist and fairly dense. I don't understand the "bland" comments at all. This muffins are nice balance of flavor in my humble opinion. Great way to use up overly ripe bananas and you get a bit of fiber from the prunes. Thanks, for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bean Soup With Kale

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Love this recipe. I followed the instructions and the only thing was I didn't have any tomatoes so, I had to use a 1/3 of cup of tomato sauce that I had on hand. I had to use frozen kale because the fresh was not available at the local store. I cooked the kale till it was pretty soft and it was already chopped into bite sized pieces so, that was a time saver. Thanks, for a healthy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crock Pot Hot Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I have been making this for years, and everyone loves it. It is temp. hot, not spicy hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Subrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Loved it! I subbed the hot sauce for bbq sauce and added a tad of honey instead of the brown sugar. Turned out great. Next time I will use bbq sauce on top instead of honey/Worcestershire sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crofton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy and Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Good recipe. It's easy to prepare and tastes pretty darn good. The rice had a nice creamy texture. I didn't change or add anything because I wanted to keep it as the simple and satisfying meal that it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Really enjoyed this meatloaf. I added a few tablespoons of worcestershire sauce and a little garlic powder. I also made 3 small loaves instead of one big one. It cut down on the cooking time from 1 hour and 15 to about 50 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Potato Salad from Costa Rica

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Any recipe that has beets in it, is good in my opinion. I add 3 cooked chopped hard boiled eggs and a small can of peas and a little mustard and vinegar. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Fantastic recipe. I found this while looking for something to make in order to use up some of the 10lbs of apples my children picked a couple of months ago. My children absolutely loved it! Since then my children refuse to eat store bought applesauce. They will only have this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama's Ambrosia

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Excellent recipe. I made it as directed and did some pre-Thanksgiving sampling and there may be none left for the guests. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Made these today - Fabulous! Only changes I made were add a little vanilla and extra blueberries when I poured them into the pan. Made a few extra to stick in the freezer for a quick breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazeKat
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops with Stuffing

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This recipe was a smash hit. I calculated it for 20 servings and served it during our "Wacky Wednesday" dinners. I prepared it almost exactly as listed. I excluded the egg & cheese and used Campbells Cream of Mushroom soup. I, also, used potato bread stuffing. I covered the pans and baked them all at once for 1 hour then uncovered for another 1/2 hour. They were moist, juicy and quite delicious. The stuffing was incredible. I served the 14 of us garlic mashed potatoes and fresh green beans along with the pork chops & stuffing. Outstanding recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Secaucus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops with Stuffing

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This recipe was a smash hit. I calculated it for 20 servings and served it during our "Wacky Wednesday" dinners. I prepared it almost exactly as listed. I excluded the egg & cheese and used Campbells Cream of Mushroom soup. I, also, used potato bread stuffing. I covered the pans and baked them all at once for 1 hour then uncovered for another 1/2 hour. They were moist, juicy and quite delicious. The stuffing was incredible. I served the 14 of us garlic mashed potatoes and fresh green beans along with the pork chops & stuffing. Outstanding recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Secaucus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Herbed Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I'm not a big fish eater, but this was great. I had to adjust some of the ingredients since I had a smaller fillet and I tweeked some of the seasonings to what we had and liked. My fiance loved it and told me add it to the list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazeKat
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
As a precursor: we like our meat medium-rare, and we have a family member who is especially picky about that. Also, we used a 2.5lb eye round roast that was even in diameter along the entire length. Our oven is electric and very well insulated, so it holds it's heat well. I combined the advice of some of the reviewers and did the following: 1. Used Gravy Master to cover the roast, then added plenty of garlic salt and ground pepper to make a nice spice crust. 2. Placed the roast in a roasting pan and put it in a 500 degree oven, lowered the temperature to 475 degrees and cooked it for 7 min/lb x 2.5 lb = 18 min. 3. Did NOT open the oven and lowered the temperature to 200 degrees (which our oven may not have even gotten down to). Left the roast in for 20 min/lb x 2.5 lb = 50 minutes. 4. Removed the roast and let it sit for 10 minutes before carving. Results: the roast was medium to medium-rare but closer to medium, with a nice medium-pink hue throughout the length of the roast. We all prefer it a little darker pink but regardless, the meat was incredibly tender. The tenderness was what you'd expect of medium-rare and it was even more moist than you'd expect for medium-rare by any other cooking method we've tried, so overall it was VERY enjoyable. This is definitely the only way I'll cook roast beef from now on! Future modifications: I would like to get it closer to medium-rare, so I will lower the time of 20 min/lb at 200 degrees to 12-15 min/lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Walnut Raisin Scones

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I searched for a recipe that had high ratings, as well as an ingredient list that would not require me to change out of my pajamas and head to the store. Yes, it was four in the afternoon and I probably should've already been dressed. Anyhoo, whenever I see buttermilk in a recipe, I mix 1 Tbsp of lemon juice to 1 cup of milk. Who knows how much more awesome these would have been with actual buttermilk, but they were pretty darn SPOT ON! If I may add my two cents, what I had learned in my baking classes is that you want to keep your butter cold, so don't let it hang around getting soft on you at room temperature. I cut the butter into the flour mixture with a bowl scraper (for lack of a pastry blender) so that I wouldn't get my melty hot hands on it either. If you are inclined to do dishes, you can put the whole flour/butter business in a food processor to get the coarse cornmeal texture, but I actually took it to a step before it, where I still had definable, gravel-sized chunks. It's sort of like a flaky pie dough (where you would want pea-sized chunks of butter), as they will help you obtain that flaky texture. Also, do not manhandle the dough: knead gently, adding small amounts of flour, just until you notice the dough come together a bit. Better to undermix than overmix - unless you want walnut raisin paperweights. The scones baked up beautifully, tasted even better. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjmacuha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coffee and Donuts Ice Cream

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I have to let it out: this be bangin'! I've been hankering for some coffee ice cream, and decided on this recipe for its simplicity and the wonderful reviews. I, too, left out the donuts -- instead, I toasted some raw almonds in a frying pan and gave it a nice, chunky chop. I also used Nescafe-brand instant coffee (the "classic" variety found in Spanish stores). I've had my share of instant coffees, and this has got a wonderful, unique richness. I was too impatient to chill the mixture (KitchenAid asks you to refrigerate all mixes at least 6 hours before churning it in the ice cream attachment), so it took quite a long time to become "ice cream-y". Though I was nervous at first, within 20 minutes I knew I was in love. The ice cream is chilling in the freezer now, and I will update this review if it is anything less than mindblowingly spectacular. But if I don't update, it's because I'm too busy eating the whole dang container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjmacuha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My fiancé told me I shouldn't bother writing a review about these pancakes, as it already had over 500 near-perfect ratings. But I gotta give credit where credit is due! These pancakes were so ridiculously awesome that the two of us had to restrain ourselves from eating the whole batch. He usually hates pancakes, always complaining about how spongy and monotonous they are in restaurants. These pancakes had such a wonderful texture and bite to them, and it's a miracle how we were able to save four of 'em to freeze for an emergency breakfast in the future. Initially I wanted to wring his neck for choosing a recipe that required an hour's wait -- for pancakes?! -- but by the time I cleaned the kitchen, fried up a batch of applewood smoked bacon, and uncorked a bottle of bubbly to make mimosas, the wait was over! Rockin' pancakes, thanks Alison and Todd, wherever you are! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjmacuha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Crab Legs

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I used three teaspoons of Old Bay Seasoning accidently and it was a smash hit! Also, I used only a pinch of crushed red pepper, since my wife doesn't like spicy food. I didn't add the corn, although, I may try that the next time. I was complimented all night on the Garlic Crab Legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Secaucus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Crab Legs

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I used three teaspoons of Old Bay Seasoning accidently and it was a smash hit! Also, I used only a pinch of crushed red pepper, since my wife doesn't like spicy food. I didn't add the corn, although, I may try that the next time. I was complimented all night on the Garlic Crab Legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Secaucus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States