Hoboken, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used a finely shredded mild cheddar and followed the directions exactly. The sauce came out fantastic. I poured it over fresh steamed broccoli and it was the hit of my dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Salmon II

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Wow! Excellent recipe, LADYBLADE. I adjusted it for 6 servings. I used all the ingredients as suggested in the recipe, except, my parsley wasn't fresh and I used Extra Virgin Olive Oil. As we all do, I tweaked it with a bit more garlic & lemon juice, but not much. I used frozen Atlantic salmon fillets. I placed them in the glass baking dish, covered them with the marinade. I had to use two glass baking dishes. Then I covered the baking dishes with aluminum foil and placed them in the 375* preheated oven. I cooked them for 40-45 minutes. OMG, the taste was amazing! Whether on a bed of lettuce, white, yellow or brown rice this recipe is a keeper. Thanks, LADYBLADE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Secaucus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga)

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've made this recipe many times and there are never any leftovers. I follow the recipe exactly with the exception that I don't use the tablespoon of tomato paste since I don't like to waste the entire can just for a tablespoon of paste. I think it's only for the color anyway. I also use the whole can of coconut milk since it's already opened and it doesn't seem to affect the taste of the sauce and it just makes more sauce which is positive since most people enjoy the sauce better then the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made some adjustments to the recipe based on comments and I LOVED the end result!! I used 3 cans (43.5 oz) chicken stock, used a package of 6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs (1 inch cubed), and replaced the shrimp with an extra 4 oz of sausage since my roommate and I don't care for shrimp, (I used 12 oz of andouille sausage, which you can get at most super markets). I have a "World Market" store near me and I used 2 5-inch fresh, red chili peppers. Those gave this more than a kick, but not too much. I like spice for flavor, but not for sport. Maybe use 1 or 1.5 if you're not into your mouth tingling (but not burning) throughout the meal. I'll be making this long into the future!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffern, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Photo by SarahC

Pecan Pumpkin Pie I

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Super easy! Even for the beginner like me. I doubled the spices like suggested and omitted the orange zest to please all. TIP: I used two shallow pie tins ( 8 inch) and this filling makes enough for two pies. I doubled the topping and covered each pie with the pecan mixture giving it a nice thick top crust so to speak. This way no extra filling like others mentioned in their reviews. I also used home made pie crust so I was able to make the lip of the pie high for holding the extra pecan topping. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ryan

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I can fix the saltiness issue. I've made kimchi a few times and this recipe is very similar to the one I use and love. After you rub the salt into the cabbage and let it sit for only about 30 minutes, you should then immerse the cabbage in a large bowl of water for 2 hours. Put a dinner plate on the top to make sure all the cabbage is submerged. The salt's role is to kill the bad bacteria and only add a teeny bit of flavor. After it's done soaking rinse the cabbage very thoroughly. I usually put it in a colander, rinse it well by hand and then rinse it in a water bath 2 or 3 times. Changing the water each time. Kimchi is one of those foods that takes a loooong time to make. I usually put everything that this recipe has and some diakon matchsticks into a mason jar with a rubber seal in a cabinet for 3-5 days (pushing the contents below the surface of the brine everyday) and then refridgerate for a week. Then, boom, it's kimche eating time! Added a photo of mine just for the heck of it. That's an 8 cup mason jar. Larger than most. Bud Ice is not part of the recipe, but when you complete everything at 2am, like I did that time, it might find its way into the photo. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffern, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

Grilled Tuna

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
A super easy recipe that's incredibly delicious! My daughter flipped out over this recipe. My fresh tuna was cut in 2 1/2 - 3inch thick triangle steaks. As I have a gas grill I did not use soaked hickory wood chips. I marinated it for 2 hours in EVOO. Then covered it with Garlic Salt, Garlic Pepper & Garlic Powder. I grilled it over high heat for 5 minutes on each side. Then I tented it in aluminum foil until I got inside and squeezed the fresh lime juice over the tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Secaucus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Tuna

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
A super easy recipe that's incredibly delicious! My daughter flipped out over this recipe. My fresh tuna was cut in 2 1/2 - 3inch thick triangle steaks. As I have a gas grill I did not use soaked hickory wood chips. I marinated it for 2 hours in EVOO. Then covered it with Garlic Salt, Garlic Pepper & Garlic Powder. I grilled it over high heat for 5 minutes on each side. Then I tented it in aluminum foil until I got inside and squeezed the fresh lime juice over the tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Secaucus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This dish was a huge hit! I adjusted the recipe for 6 and my family LOVED it! since my wife doesn't like cheese all that much I let the people choose to use cheese. We use Pecorino-Romano instead of Parmesan. I made a 1 1/2 cups of Orzo & used one box of Chicken Stock. Mixed in the fresh Basil (right from my own garden). Seasoned it with Salt & Pepper and voila'! Absolutely delicious. This was paired with a grilled Tuna recipe from here. it was the one marinated in EVOO only. Incredible meal and a new favorite of my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Secaucus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This dish was a huge hit! I adjusted the recipe for 6 and my family LOVED it! since my wife doesn't like cheese all that much I let the people choose to use cheese. We use Pecorino-Romano instead of Parmesan. I made a 1 1/2 cups of Orzo & used one box of Chicken Stock. Mixed in the fresh Basil (right from my own garden). Seasoned it with Salt & Pepper and voila'! Absolutely delicious. This was paired with a grilled Tuna recipe from here. it was the one marinated in EVOO only. Incredible meal and a new favorite of my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Secaucus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly and the soup had a really delicious flavor with just a hint of creaminess. I am not a big fan of creamed soups so, this was a winner for me. I used a one pound ham steak and there was plenty of meat to go around. I think the cayenne pepper is pretty key in this soup, I wouldn't leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This recipe was excellent.It didn't say not to drain the sausage so, I didn't and I think that was a good idea, the sauce had a nice richness of flavor. I think letting all the ingredients simmer for at least 15 to 20 minutes is a good idea also, let the flavors come together. I did not use the full 14.5 ounces of broth as I felt it was too much liquid. I left a few ounces out. Also, I ended up using a tablespoon of corn starch as the sauce was just too thin for my taste. My sweetie and I ate most of it in one sitting. Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Have to give this 5 stars, I was a little skeptical if it would be any good but, surprise it was perfect and quick to boot. I used it to make beef and bean burritos and it was perfect without all the extra chemicals from a canned enchilada sauce. I did cut the water down to one cup and I added half a cube of beef boullion. After adding the cup of water, it looked like the perfect consistency, I know enchilada sauce is pretty thin. thanks, for a helpful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Jazz

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I had to make dinner in a hurry and I found this recipe and even though I only browned ground meat with pepper and put in a can of celery soup and let it cook for ten minutes and poured it over rice, it was really tasty and only took about 20 minutes. I had cooked the rice in the rice cooker previously. I would never have thought to use a condensed cream soup with hamburger meat. I was really surprised how good it was and I skipped most of the ingredients and most of the steps. Hamburger jazz rocks! :) When I have more prep time, I will make it the correct way. Thanks, for sharing an easy and tasty recipe! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Halloween Halfling Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
The kids loved it they tought it was hilarious it was also very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KindseyC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

"Spa"ctacular Frozen Grapes

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
My aunt introduced me to these she found them on weight watchers i tried some and i liked them ..... But i thought they were still tart so i tried this recipe and coated them in sugar and now i eat them all of the time.. THEY ARE DELICIOUS FOR A HOT SUMMER DAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KindseyC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
It is very good and nutrisious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KindseyC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

Easy Authentic Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Just got finished making this and it is a really nice rice dish. I used Serrano chilis instead of jalapeno peppers, I had none on hand. Of course it came out super duper spicy but, my fiance and I like a food that challenges us! Thanks, for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Enchilada Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great enchilada sauce. I didn't have the tomato puree on hand so, I had to leave it out and it was still really good. Most enchilada sauces I have tried are pretty thin anyway. I was surprised by people commenting that this sauce was no better then canned sauce. This is a gazillion times better then canned sauce. Thanks, for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Prune Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Excellent recipe. I took others advice and dusted the prunes with flour to keep them from sinking to the bottom of the tin. They have a nice banana flavor and are moist and fairly dense. I don't understand the "bland" comments at all. This muffins are nice balance of flavor in my humble opinion. Great way to use up overly ripe bananas and you get a bit of fiber from the prunes. Thanks, for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States