Elizabeth, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Guinness® Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Yum! Very dense and semi sweet, almost more like a cake than bread. We didn't even put anything on it, just ate chunks while still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Apple Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
We love this cake! Followed the recipe as written, but used a 9x13 pan, and baked at 350. Topped it with a simple brown sugar glaze. The batter seems very dry at first, but when it cooks, the moisture from the apples makes it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
No onions, no pimentos, used frozen corn and canned diced tomatoes. YUM! we love this, and yes it makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I echo a previous review... this is the BEST chili I've ever had! I cannot keep enough of it in the house! Recipe alteration: I cut the amount of chili powder in half and doubled the garlic. I also substituted the can of black beans for a can of pinto (pink). Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Autumn Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Wow! This is a new favorite. I followed the popular changes and substituted walnuts instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Bacon Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I used turkey bacon and diced tomatoes (instead of stewed). Wow! This was a delicious and filling soup. Will definitely make again. Unique flavor combo, but works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Rosemary Pork Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This is recipe is okay. Nothing spectacular. I don't think the rosemary was all that great with the apples. I also think the apples would have been much better cooked inside the pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocktail Meatballs

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
A friend made these for a dinner party. OMG are they good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
The flavor was okay, but I found these to be too dry and dense for burgers and dogs. They kind of fell apart a bit when we tried to eat them, too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

A Farewell to Basil Fettuccine

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Had some prosperous basil ourselves, and this was just the right recipe for it. Rolled by hand, was very easy. Used a simple oil and garlic sauce, which we thought was the perfect accompaniment. Any other sauce might have drowned the basil flavor, but the oil and garlic helped to bring it out. Look forward to making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This soup is delicious! Skipped the onion. Used a can of "black beans with chiles and lime" along with 2 cans regular beans. The jalapeno gave it just the right amount of kick. This is a new house favorite, look forward to making again and again. Oh, and I did not add the salt, this soup was salty enough without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewiest Brownies

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Wow. This should be renamed "Chocolate Sin". I halved the recipe, and put it in a 9" pie plate (adding an extra tablespoon or two of ghiradelli cocoa powder). Be aware, you MUST like a strong dark cocoa flavor, or you will not like these. However, for all you dark chocolate addicts, you will find it difficult not to eat the whole plate. Very dense and rich. Just be careful of overcooking, as they dry out very quickly if baked too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
My changes are: I use hot turkey sausage, chicken broth, extra garlic, and frozen spinach. This is a great filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I skipped the onion, used canned diced tomatoes and can diced green chiles for the jalapeno. Wow! We sprinkled a little cheddar and a dollop of sour cream on top one night, and crushed tortilla chips another. Wonderful as a main dish soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I didn't use the lemon zest, just the juice. I also used egg beaters instead of eggs, and "I can't believe it's not butter light" istead of real butter. Of course, it was pretty soupy, but made an incredibly tasty lemon sauce. I am sure the recipe as written is perfect lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexina Salsa Verde

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I skipped the onions and tomato, used 1 lb. of tomatillos, and didn't cook anything, just threw in the blender. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Indian Dahl

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I skipped the onions as I am allergic, but followed the rest precisely. Yum! The cilantro really makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This has the perfect proportion of sugar and flour! I used about 3 cups each of strawberries and chopped rhubarb. I put foil on the edges of the crust, baked at 425 for 15 min. , took off the foil, turned it down to 375 for 45 more min. With pies like this, you cannot just cut into them fresh from the oven, or they run all over the place. I made this at 9 at night, then cut into it the next day in the afternoon, no runniness at all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Rosemary Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Perfect! Great for dipping with some good olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lazygirl's Ground Turkey Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
The stroganoff was good, except it needed a little more cream of mushroom soup than the recipie called for. I guess it just depends on how you like the texture of your food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencet30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-71 (of 71) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States