Elizabeth, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cornbread II

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
UFF, what can I say... it was quite moist but not sweet. I would have liked it with more cornmeal flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Coffee Cake Loaf

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
When I prepared this the first time everyone loved.There was nothing leftat night. I must confess It takes awhile to prepared and as it is crumberly its a bit messy to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Cheese Manicotti

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
The best recipe I've tried. I also sometimes substitute with large shells, they're just easier to scoop the cheese into. Reminds me of the food I used to get at an Italian restaurant in my old neighborhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Tomato Sauce II

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Delicious! This recipe is great for a first time sauce maker. My Italian sorority sisters gave their seal of approval.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Teriyaki Marinated Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Absolutely delicious! When i first tasted it right after making, I was not so sure. But it turned out wonderful! I used sesame oil and doubled the recipe ( next time, when doubling I will use a bit less oil), used half as a marinade and then boiled the rest with cornstarch to make a dipping sauce for the chicken and tempura veggies. The family loved it, and I even had enough left to bottle for another use. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber and Tomato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I really enjoyed this salad! This was my first recipe off of this site, and I'm quite pleased! Simple to make, delicious, and healthy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelena

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
The title speaks for itself, I made this for a family get together and everyone loved it. This is my second time making this wonderful meal and me and my family couldn't get enough. I followed everything to the "T" but omitted the fennel seed, just didn't have any on hand. Just wanted to give props to the person who posted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyonecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugared Asparagus

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Loved the concept of this recipe. I added a cap-ful of lemon juice and 2 splashes of soy sauce to round out the flavors. This was a hit at Easter dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
"This is truly the best meat loaf I have ever made. My girlfriend loves it to.. I will make this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyonecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Five Minute Ice Cream

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Love this recipe! Followed it exact, keeps well for a couple days in the freezer. Wonderfully creamy taste, much richer than store bought ice cream. Quick and easy, you'd never know it only took 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lamb Madras Curry

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
First time with curry, and it came out perfect! I substituted chicken, and added a few chopped potatoes, was delicious. Also, didn't have the whole dried chiles, so used about 2 Tbs. of chili powder- just the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prettyneka

Lemon Icing

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I loved it and everyone at the dinner did also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettyneka

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oxtails with Gravy

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I love oxtails but never had them with gravy until now. I love this recipe and so does my friends. I will make this again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyonecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I used crushed chocolate graham crackers, which I increased to 1 1/2 cups, and I used 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa for the crust, not 1/4 teaspoon. I used Ghiradelli 60% cocoa chocolate chips. I also cooked at 325 for about 70 min., then let sit in oven with the door cracked for another hour. Instead of a water bath, I just put a tray of water underneath the cheesecake. After all that, this was the most decadent chocolate cheesecake I have had for some time. It was picture perfect, and had such a wonderfully rich dark chocolate flavor, I was showered with compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich 'N Thick Hot Chocolate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Wow! I can't imagine drinking instant ever again. I used 1% milk and added a teaspoon of powdered creamer to each cup. Was very rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Meat Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I used a little over a pound of hot Turkey sausage and 1 1/2 lbs. ground beef for the meats, and I added 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper and a 1/2 cup of red wine. Yum! A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Dream Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, added an extra cup of rhubarb and baked an extra 20 minutes. Superb! Been trying to find a recipe that imitated the rhubarb squares at this great little farm stand, I think these fit the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Pie Crust

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I love this crust! Substituted somewhere around 1/3 to 1/2 cup buttermilk for the egg (adjust flour to proper consistency), kneaded the dough in the bowl for a couple minutes, then refrigerated for an hour or two. Used to make baked Samosas with potato and green pea filling. Make sure to use plenty of flour when rolling out dough, it is sticky! Brushed with plenty of oil before baking, came out with just the right amount of crunch around the edges. The flavor is lovely, just a touch of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make Ahead Lunch Wraps

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I cut the filling in half, but used the full amount of corn and tomatoes, and added taco seasoning to the rice. I just take one from the freezer to the fridge the night before, then 2 minutes in the microwave for lunch, and everyone at work is asking what restaurant I got it from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Joey's Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I like that this recipe has more peanut butter and less sugar than some recipes. I brought these to work, and the guy who doesn't like sweets couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 71) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States