Elizabeth, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quinoa with Chickpeas and Tomatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Yuuuummmmmmmm!!!!! This will definitely be a keeper, I too used cilantro, I also put a little cayenne pepper in to kick it up a bit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I absolutely loved these muffins and so did my kids! A great anytime snack! So easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3KIDS4SAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Gorgonzola-Garlic Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was really good. I added a few black olives and a little less olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annachka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Diane's Colcannon

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I usually make my potatoes in the same pot as my corned beef, but decided to try this recipe. I must say my family loved this. From now on I will be making this quite frequently. The only thing I did differently was add a little more bacon (2 slices) because I made more than 2 1/2 lbs of potatoes. I thought I would have leftovers but between my daughter and son (both adults) they polished it off. Thanks so much for the recipe, it was wonderful and very tasty.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Graham Streusel Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I used devil's food cake instead of yellow cake and seasoned the batter with vanilla and allspice. Omitted the nuts as I didn't have any on hand. Awesome results!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
The only problem with this bread is that I cannot stop eating it! Here are a list of my modifications: 1)Sub ½ cup of white sugar with brown sugar 2)Added 1 tsp of vanilla 3)No nuts 4)Didn’t measure the bananas but used 3 large, VERY ripe bananas 5)Cut the frozen raspberries in half before folding them in. Very dense, very moist. Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wonderful Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I have to say that it was my first time making a meatloaf and I was quiet dissapointing.I add an egg to the recipe. The basic ingredients are ok. but next time I will add flavor to it becuase I found it very blend .... boring. Maybe some chop green pepperbell, 2 boil eggs in between the mix ( not cut )and BBQ sauce for the topping not ketcup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vickie's Beer Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
It´s an O.K bread only nothing too special about it. I did have trouble with the baking time...becuase on my 1# try it got burnt at the bottom which I had to throw it away.On my second time it came out just right but I did reduce the timing. It was ready in almost ready in 35 minutes.So be careful!! do to the fact you don´t want to threw the first one away. The flavor was also quiet dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Shortbread Pie

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Very Good!! my daugahter liked it. I just add 2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon becuase I like it a lot. The shortbread mix needs at least 2 tablespoon more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Banana Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
WOW!! It`s a delight to your mounth. Loved the texture and moist. Very flavory but not to thick flavor on the banana. I used a bit less than 1 2/3 cups of sugar becuase the bananas were quiet sweet. At work EVERYONE LOVED IT & WANTED MOREEEE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Blueberry Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil instead of 1/2 cup oil. It was delicious! It looked like too much glaze when I was putting it on, but it soaked into the cake a bit, and turned out just right. Made this for fiance's grandma, have never seen her eat so much cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Goat Cheese Stuffed Lamb Burgers

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Loved the flavor, but half the cheese melted out since I didn't make sure they were sealed. My sister in law recommended I try freezing the goat cheese in a flat disc shape, then wrapping the meat around, so I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I tried out this recipes becuase, I wanted a cornbread not too heavy on the butter. This is a great recipe...I totally recomend it. Its texture is moist and light, my daughter loved it! I must say that you need to add 2 full tablespoon of flour so, it won´t be too runny the doe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spelt Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This recipe was a HIT!! for Sunday breakfast. Easy to make and bake and what I did like about these biscuits were that they were not too buttery flavored and heavy for the stoamch. I would defintly do them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALeach

Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I love collards. I cook the hamhocks for about an hour or so depending on the size of the hamhocks before adding the collards. I like my hamhocks very tender and falling off the bone. I also add 2 to 4 of a tablespoons of sugar to take away the bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Churros

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
When i first saw how they turned out i was a little worried, but they actually turned out to be really good. They tasted like cinnamon toast crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALeach

KELLOGG'S* RICE KRISPIES* Squares Original Recipe

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is my family favorite. My son prefers me to make this half with fruity pebbles and half plain rice crispy. I agree the vanilla flavoring is a key ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALeach

Green Punch

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This recipe was easy and very tasty. Instead of using the the frozen orange juice I used Dole pineapple and orange juice and added 1/4 of a cup of lemon juice to make it more citrus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALeach

Green Grape Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This salad was delicious to me and my guest. I changed the recipe a little. I used black seedless grapes and added a cup and half of finely chopped pecans. I think it turned out good. I will certainly be using this recipe again. One thing to keep in mind is that the grapes color will start to bleed in after a couple of days. It still taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This was my first cornbread I´ve ever made in my life and it was a 2 thumbs up at home. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 71) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States