Elizabeth, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tostones (Fried Plantains)

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Love these. Great side dish for almost any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laureenaonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made the pie and really enjoyed it! I picked this option because I knew it was something my son would eat. The ONLY thing I would change is I would leave the crescent rolls out altogether. It's not needed and adds a "bread like" taste to it. I followed the advice of others here and added some lettuce and tomato and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencet30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Turkey

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was the second time I ever baked a turkey in my life. The first time was a disaster! This turkey came out perfect....literally. I had to read up on the brining process and learned how important it is to making sure the turkey will retain water and come out juicy. Whatever you do, don't skip this step. If you follow the directions to the letter, you should do quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencet30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Turkey Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this because my son likes casserole type dishes and he loved it. It has a different taste to it but I like it as well. It is extremely easy to make and takes very little time to cook. The ONLY reason why I did not give this a 5 star rating is because is can't be all that healthy with the cheeses and sour cream in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencet30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Pears

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Amazing! Loved it, this will be served frequently this winter! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Melendez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

Kickin' Collard Greens

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This recipe is easy to make and is delicious!! I love a good pot of collard green and never would have thought to cook them in chicken broth. It tastes just as good if not better than greens that have been cooking for a few hours. I made these for both Thanksgiving and Christmas and would recommend this recipe to anyone. Hats off to the chef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencet30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Turtles

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
As if this delicious recipe could be any easier; In Walmart, there is a package of about 50 UNWRAPPED Rollos on the candy isle in the grocery part of the store. I also loved the sweet-savory yummyness created with a sprinkle of sea salt when they are still warm. GREAT recipe. Senkuveddymucho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

Tater-Dipped Eggplant

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
We have fresh thin eggplant from our garden. I use "butter and herb" potato flakes. To simplify I use small plastic sandwich bags for the egg and for the potato flakes. Shake the eggplant slices and follow recipe. Yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rice Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Can't wait to try these. I have celiac disease and grandson has egg/dairy allergies. This has us both covered. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gulab Jamun

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Recipe for dough does not bind, it is runny and not able to form balls from it. I agree with Effie, add more dry milk until able to form balls. I tried adding more flour but it made it too doughy. Next time I will try more dry milk. They should be spongy not doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3KIDS4SAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Mom's Applesauce Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Loved this recipe. Having Celiac Disease I have difficulty finding recipes I can adapt. This one worked great with a gluten free pancake mix. My husband loved them. Definately a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My family liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laureenaonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
My kids loved the meatloaf, however my husband did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laureenaonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Just finished making a batch with some smoked salmon that a friend's husband caught and that I was lucky to receive. This is a flavorful chowder that's hearty enough for a rainy Seattle day. I did add three bacon strips chopped up very small, in with the butter and olive oil and the other ingredients at the beginning and it really gave a little more boost to the already flavorful broth. Very easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3KIDS4SAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Vegan Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very good. I will add Cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laureenaonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage and Noodles

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This definately is a comfort food, which normaly means--hit the gym afterwards...lol! It is a Hungarian Dish..I used Halushki Noodles..they are just a little thicker than your average noodles. I stuck to the original recipe...And I am now ready for the 14 inches of snow we are supposed to get tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
yum yummy. Perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laureenaonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Wow!! This was really, really good!! I added chopped Spanish Chorizo to this...it gave it a smoky kick, I also subbed Cumin for the Oregano.... After putting it in the bowl, I did all the garnishes, but I also squeezed a little fresh lime on top...all I have to say is Wow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Uncle Bill's Chicken Strips

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Very good. Make sure you season the egg mixer with salt. This helps to give the meat more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laureenaonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great starter recipe. I stuck to the recipe, however, I added green pepper and red salsa. I also added cooked rice. This recipe it easy to tweak to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laureenaonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 71) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States