Cherry Hill - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Authentic German Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Will def make this again! My husband was a little worried when I suggested making this BUT he went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Yummy Bok Choy Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
One of my 'go to' salads. Great with anything that goes well with soy sauce (fish etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Another winner from Chef John :-) And another recipe where the list of ingredients is wrong :-( In the video, he makes a point of saying 1t of Soy Sauce because the Fish Sauce makes it sufficiently salty. The ingredients say 1T of Soy Sauce. Glad he pointed it out in the video - saved me from overly salty dinner. Chef John is absolutely wonderful and we love his all his recipes. Once again suggesting however that he consider having someone proof read the posted recipes for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Even though there's an error in the list of ingredients, this definitely deserves all 5 stars. I believe the video shows him adding TWO cups of water, but the recipe calls for THREE cups. I fixed it by removing the cooked meat from the pot and then cranking up the heat to reduce the liquid. Once reduced, I returned the meat to continue cooking a tad. My family loves ALL of Chef John's recipes - perhaps he can have someone proof read for him?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Fresh Quick Pickled Salad

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Made this as a side for grilled pork loin. Picked up the veggies from my local farmers market. So simple and delish! Will def be in rotation this summer! Thanks Semi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Chef John's French Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Nothing fancy about this recipe. It is the all around basic Frech Toast Recipe, except the unnecessarily added allspice. The real secret to French Toast is using stale bread (aka "Day Old") to soak up the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Ulmer

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon Morrell

Sugar Free Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
As a diabetic, I was looking for a sugar-free chocolate dessert. I think this hit the spot! I read the reviews first, and added 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp vanilla as suggested, and used wheat flour instead of white. While they weren't perfect (the gooey-factor wasn't quite there), they were tasty and chocolatey! I also didn't have the "flat" factor that other reviews mentioned. These rose into a good, thick chocolate bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Morrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Brine

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Suggestion: Bags can tear, so I brine my larger turkeys (20+ pounds) in my canner. it's cold out (January), so I just screw the lid onto the canner and place it on my balcony. We're on the 14th floor, so the only critters I worry about are the house finches :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Surprisingly good and easy to make. For me, it's easiest to peel it whole then to cut off the bulbous portion, slice that in half lengthwise and scoop out the seeds. I made this a day ahead of time for Thanksgiving; stored them on the cold balcony in the serving chafer, then a couple of hours before serving just popped the chafer on the stand to heat it up. Everyone loved it - even those who didn't previously care for butternut squash! Thank you for this easy, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Chef John has never failed me yet so I am confidently giving this 5 stars and making it the day before Thanksgiving (right now, as I write this, as a matter of fact :-). Will update my review after my family and guests have a chance to taste this intriguing cranberry sauce. As per Chef John's video's recommendation, I kept hunting until I found 'the ghost' - didn't find the brand he used, but did find Born to Hula - Ghost of Ancho just this morning (whew!!!). Well back to the kitchen I go!!!!! --- Okay - it's the day after Thanksgiving and votes are in. It was unanimous - family and guests raved about the cranberry sauce. It is officially now a STAPLE at our family Thanksgiving table from now on. SUGGESTION: Give yourself plenty of time to find THE GHOST hot sauce. i found the brand Chef John used (Dave's Ghost Pepper Naga Jolokia Hot Sauce) online, and will make sure to have it handy the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This was the easiest and quickest Chicken Marsala recipe I have ever made. Good for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna LaGrave Schuster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
WOW - followed exactly! But... Made as a cake!! Baked for 55 mins Everyone loved - will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Quick Creamy Zucchini Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is pretty yummy! I doubled everything, and instead of mixing the flour and milk, I sauteed the onions in butter, added the flour to make a roux, then added the milk and a pinch of nutmeg to that and heated until the milk was thickened. Then I added the milk/onion mixture to the zucchini and brought back to a boil. It thickened nicely, but isn't too thick and doesn't have a floury taste. I also hit the zucchini with my stick blender after it was soft rather than putting it into the blender Great way to use up some of my many zucchinis!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Morrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Squares

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Awesome. make againg and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Ulmer

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlena C.

Chef John's Crab Cakes

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Oh, my! Simple and delicious.. doesn't get much better than that, kids! My dinner companion loves this and said it was of restaurant-quality. I will never order crab cakes again. It's this recipe or nothing Rock on, Chef John and keep those recipes coming! I served these crab cakes with Chef John's Spicy Mango Sauce, sweet potato fries, and sauteed green beans. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

White Peach Sangria

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Sub 1 cup of Peach Schnapps for the Vodka 1/2 cup Apple juice 1/4 cup sugar 750 ml white wine frozen fruit Let sit for 1 day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Ulmer

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Excellent dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Ulmer

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Made this on the grill!!! Super delish! So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Italian Sausage Tortellini Bake

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
We enjoyed this! Only did half meat for wee ones are picky! Everyone liked !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Pan Fried Swiss Chard

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Skipped the bacon ... Was great!!! Looking forward to picking up some more chard at the farmers market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States