Brick - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This soup was excellent - my husband and children finished the entire pot in one sitting! I added an additional tsp of cumin, pepper and chili powder. I used medium salsa in lieu of the enchilada sauce, and also added additional fresh cilantro. To serve, I put scoop of refried beans in bowl, then added soup, sprinkled with shredded montery jack cheese and dollop of sour cream - super good! I will add black beans the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Slow Cooker Savory Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Like other reviewers I changed this a little. I don't like mushrooms so I used cream of celery coup. I skipped the carrots. I also added an 18 oz. can of ready to serve french onion soup. My roast was very tender and tasty but a little dry. I cooked for 7.5 hrs. on low. I think next time I will try 6.5 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNMMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Beach Haven, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scott Ure's Clams And Garlic

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was superb. Throw it over some cooked linguine and you have a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent recipe! I used ground turkey instead of ground beef, and added a bit more steak sauce to keep it moist, I let it simmer for about an hour or so, until the peppers and carrots were tender. My family devoured every bit! I am making this chili again this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy

Rigatoni Pasta with Chorizo

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Very delish no problems I added some mixed veggies for some color and to make it a bit healthier. I also used fat free milk and low fat butter spread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

No Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I made these for a baby shower and they were a big hit. I am giving them four stars though because they are more like a candy than a cookie and personally I didn't care too much for the raw oats. The syrup, coco and peanut butter consistancy was very good however. I think next time instead of oats I will add rice crispys or a cruchy cereal instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

Lemon Chicken Tenders

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I love this recipe, but I have to agree with the other reviews it is way too sweet, next time I will only add a few tablespoons of sugar. Other than than it was a great idea the lemon juice and curry was very tasty, maybe I will add capers like one suggested, I also used panko bread crums and milk to dip the chicken in instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

Old-Fashioned Cheese Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Wow!!! This reipe was so good! I will absolutely make this again. Cheesey with a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNMMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Beach Haven, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Apple Strudel

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very easy and tasty. I also added some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNMMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Beach Haven, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flavorful Flounder

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Lots of flavor. I love flounder and was looking for some other way to make it besides frying and this is it. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNMMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Beach Haven, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Teriyaki Marinated Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
The soy sauce and pinapple juice gave the chicken a flavorful taste. I couldn't help but feel that there was something missing. The second time I made it I added some sake and miren (sweet cooking wine), but I think that maybe it needed some salt or pepper or something. But I will try the recipe again and see what I can do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

Apple Oatmeal Cookies II

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Really really good, moist and tasty. I used apple sauce for the margine. The apples give it a nice sweetness for it not having any sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

Zucchini Bread II

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Yummm!!! Exactly what I was looking for, a thick, moist, and tasty zucchini bread. It was a little sweet but it was perfect. I left it in the oven for an hour and 20 min, and I used wheat flour instead of white. I also added a little nutmeg for added flavor. I will make this again very soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

Strawberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
These muffins turned out great. I made a few changes as the other reviewers suggested. I used half whole wheat flour, and added vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg. I also decreased the sugar from 1 cup to 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. Very moist and it had a great flavor from the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

Playgroup Granola Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
just made these with a few changes. I used splenda brown sugar, sugar free maple syrup instead of the oil, and they came out wonderful. thanks for the reipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ascrof

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Isaiah's Pretzel Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This tasted really good, had a nice crunch and the chicken came very tender. I used all the listed ingredients, but half the cayenne because it was for the kids too. I used large breasts and cut them into 4 quarters. I ran out of crumbs after 3 breasts - used italian style breadcrumbs for the remaining chicken. Make MORE pretzel crumbs or use less chicken because the pretzel crumbs were MUCH better! Ran out of egg too - use 3 eggs or 3 large breasts, not 4. I also put it in the oven at 400 for 20 min. on a foil lined baking sheet instead of frying - I'm just no good at frying on the stove top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Majewski Mazzuca
Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Corn Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I thought these were a little plain. The texture was decent and they weren't too seet, just didn't have a strong enough flavor for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNMMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Beach Haven, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Super easy. A little strong on the lime flavor for my taste, but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNMMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Beach Haven, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Cornbread Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I did like these muffins, however they tasted more like cornbread than corn muffins becuase they did not have enough sweetness. I think that they would be really good with some jelly or honey drizzled on top to add some sweetness. I also used wheat flour instead so that it is more healthy. Overal, a keeper. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I added 1 cup of milk as suggested, I accidently ommited the 1/2 cup of sugar, but the chocolate chips made the muffin sweet enough, so I will leave the sugar out the next time as well. I also used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour. I think that this was a great recipe, very moist and I will def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 81-96 (of 96) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States