Brick - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Arroz con Gandules

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was very tasty but its still not like mom 's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I am still working on my bread making skills, and even with my limited abilities this turned out really good. We couldn't stop eating it warm right out of the oven. I don't have a bread maker so I used my Kitchen Aid and kneaded the rest by hand. It tasted great with and without raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Cinnamon Pecan Ring

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This turned out really good. I made it for my dad because he loves the Entenmann's danish ring. I didn't use yogurt, i used sour cream because that is what I had. I also used regular milk. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
You can't go wrong with this apple crisp. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is the best coleslaw. I made it for the first time in March and I have probably made it ten times since. The only change I made was to use only 2 tbls. of sugar. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Baked Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
My family loved these. I used cabbage instead of bean sprouts because that is what I had. They tasted just as good reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Our new favorite cookie. My son requested these for his birthday at school and they were a huge hit. They are big, but they are so good. I had to send the rest to work with my husband just so I would stop eating them:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Berry Sour Cream Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I used to work at a restaurant and we served a cake very similiar to this. It was my Mom's favorite. This came really close. I baked it in a springform pan which definitely required alot more baking time. Before baking I topped it with fresh srawberries and blueberries. Afterwards I did not use icing, just powdered sugar. Great coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Creamy Banana Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Really good banana bread. I like the idea of the "cinnamon nut swirl" through the middle. Everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Golden Cakes

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
The first day I made these they were great. As someone else stated, by the second day the tops had hardened like sugar cookies. Not the worst thing that could happen, they still tasted really good, I probably just wouldn't make these to bring anywhere. As for my family, they loved them. My mom ate them plain for 3 days, the rest I frosted with a strawberry cream cheese frosting, topped with fresh strawberries. Still really good, just not the best yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This cake was awesome. Hands down the most moist cake I ever made. My only advice would be is to bake on parchment paper because even though I greased the pans well, the cake is very delicate and it stuck to the bottom. I actually put it in the freezer for about an hour so I could ice it. I used the creamy chocolate frosting (my favorite) from this site, and it was perfect. Also I have always steered away from cakes with coffee because I don't drink it, and now I realize I have been missing out. It didn't taste like coffee, just the richest chocolate. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Cherry Cream Cheese Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Excellent cake, definitely more of a pound cake. I followed the recommendations by Naples ( thank you very much) and it was moist and delicious. One of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Simple Scones

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was the first time I ever made scones. I used raisins and they came out great. I am definitely going to make again with different combinations. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Apple Banana Cupcakes

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I made these cupcakes because I had extra bananas and apples that I didn't want to waste, so I plugged that into ingredients and found this recipe. I am so glad I did. My family went crazy over these cupcakes, which I totally didn't expect. Finally I tasted one and it was excellent. I topped them with the simple vanilla glaze, a slice of banana and some cinnamon sugar. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Minnesota's Favorite Cookie

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
We loved this cookie. Who doesn't love chocolate and toffee? I did chill the dough before baking and they turned out great. This recipe makes alot of cookies. Thanks for a great alternative to a plain chocolate chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Aunt Lillian's Crumb Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I made this two days ago and everyone loved it. I already made another one for my husband to take to work last night. He said it was gone in less than an hour. I used Naples suggestions for the topping, (thanks Naples!) and it was was a perfect crumb cake. It deserves 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Cut-Out Cookies in a Flower Pot

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is my favorite sugar cookie recipe. They roll out perfectly and hold up to even my kids decorating them. I tried another popular recipe but I prefer this one better. I usually use vanilla and almond extract. Really delicious with the sugar cookie icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Terrific icing for cookies. I always add more milk until I get the right cosistency. Love the almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Vanilla Pear Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
We loved these muffins. I made them for my father who is in the hospital, and he was giving them out to all of the nurses who had nothing but rave reviews. I used brown sugar instead of white because that was all that I had, and they turned out great. Please try this recipe, you will be happy you did. Thanks CC, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LaurenM

Chicken Milano

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I made it for my whole family and they loved it. Personally I am not crazy about sun dried tomatos so when I make it again I may use roasted peppers, but that is just me. The sauce was excellent. I made it all in one pan and added mushrooms. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 96) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States