New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Southern Cornbread with Buttermilk

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Perfect cornbread for chili or stuffing - no sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

Chef John's Five-Spice Carrots

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Easy and a great taste. DO NOT go crazy with the five-spice powders. A little goes a long way with this spice. I added some black pepper to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Of Carrot Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Good and super easy!!! I followed exactly except for increasing carrots to 3 cups. It ended up being extremely thick so I had to thin it out a little using more chicken broth. Next time I won't make any changes. I loved the taste of the soup before adding the curry powder and did like it with the curry powder. Next time I think we will eat it the first time without the curry and add the curry the next day for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Spice Martini

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
My boyfriend called this a "Pumpkin Pie-sicle." He used pumpkin vodka, whipped cream vodka, and Bailey's Irish cream (because that's what we had in our liquor cabinet). The he added a little 1/2 and 1/2, shook it up with ice and topped it off with a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg. I prefer my drinks on the rocks so he poured everything into my glass. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carpediemlise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manahawkin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I would not change a thing about this recipe. The flavor is incredible and it is really so easy to make. I served it with mashed potatoes. Perfect. I asked my husband what he wanted for dinner this weekend and he wanted the same recipe. (not happening there is too much good stuff out there) A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lee fitzmaurice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oradell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is a keeper. Next time I will add more pesto (home made is the only way to go). That is more for personal taste. My husband had three servings and I had 2. It does make a lot even after I altered the recipe to feed 6 because I like left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lee fitzmaurice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oradell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holly's Hummus

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is a delicious recipe, although I did omit the olives because I don't like them and also for the high salt content. I also added more garlic for flavor, and sesame seeds for crunch. I really liked it a lot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

Bishop Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Of course I love - it's my Mom's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews

Apple Bran Muffins from Mott's®

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
A little firm but that was expected since we used applesauce instead of oil. Good flavor. Definitely a bring to the office muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA

Jalapeno Hummus

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Slow Cooker Cider Applesauce (No Sugar Added)

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is a REALLY good and easy applesauce! I used 5lbs of Honey Crisps we picked two months ago that were just starting to get soft. I cooked this on low for 8 hours, and then cooked it for another hour with the lid off the crock as the applesauce was VERY soupy. I am used to sweet applesauce, and find this has a bit of a bite to it in addition to the sweetness, and I'm just not sure I love that. I added 1/2 packet of Truvia to the portion I just ate, and that softened the kick. If you're looking for an overly and overtly sweet applesauce, this isn't for you....but it is FULL of flavor and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Beets with Feta

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Thought I didn't like beets, but these were delicious! I've only had beets once or twice, years ago, and I had never cooked them myself. I picked this recipe because of the great ratings, and it didn't disappoint! To speed things up a bit I peeled and sliced the beets into 1/2 inch wedges, drizzled with a little olive oil, and salt and peppered lightly before roasting at 350 degrees. They were done in 30 minutes. I used onions instead of shallots, but otherwise no changes for the vinaigrette. Wonderful! Wish I remembered to take a picture before we gobbled them up because this recipe makes and elegant, gourmet-looking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Tomato Pickles

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have made this twice, and each time I've forgotten to make a key change that would make it more tailored to my personal tastes: next time I do it, I would like to try not cooking the tomatoes at all. I grew up with pickled tomatoes that were very crisp, almost crunchy, and cooking them for almost any length of time will soften them too much. The blend of spices is pretty good, though I have to decrease the amount of sugar because I don't really like sweet pickles (cucumber or any other vegetable). I'll be using this recipe again, but I'm finally putting my review here so that hopefully I'll remember next time to make it more to my personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Father's Day Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Delicious! Used diced sandwich ham and added a bit of hot sauce between the hash brown and cheese layer. Very easy! Cooked it in a small casserole dish. Used i cup hash browns, 5 eggs and crescent rolls. Cooked for 28 minutes middle rack and then moved up to top rack for 5 minutes to brown the cheese. It set up perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Califon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tilapia Feta Florentine

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I really liked this. The spinach was the highlight of the dish. Excellent. I made as directed. I used reduced fat feta cheese and cut butter back to 1 Tbs. I think next time I will season the tilapia a little more, maybe add some lemon pepper. I served this with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodylane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA

Mexican Bean Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Followed this exact and it was DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!! Perfect for any occasion, any holiday, any season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I omitted the jalapeno & cilantro.... Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Polenta with Rosemary and Parmesan

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Way easier to make than I expected. I'm going to be making this so much now, exactly as the recipe says. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Devils on Horseback

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
These are great, and so easy to make. Took much less time than I expected. The suggestion to add cheese somewhere is a good idea since a couple people I know don't like things to be too sweet, but I'm not sure I'd want to lose the smokey almond taste in exchange. Maybe cheese AND almonds inside the dates?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Portobellos and Spinach

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Had to use white wine instead of red but flavor-wise it turned out great. Would definitely recommend serving immediately before the mushrooms release all their juices. Everything turned kind of brown when we didn't eat it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States