New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Care

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
LOVE these tacos. The first time I made these I followed the recipe and used tilapia. The second time I used shrimp and they were just as delicious! I topped them off with chunks of avocado. The marinade is fantastic! The shrimp were a little easier to grill than the tilapia was and it helped to put them on skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Care

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Wished I had made more! I wish I had had some real maple syrup,so I used just used the regular maple syrup and it was still great. I did use the rest of the marinade, to cook down into a glaze.It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese and Walnuts

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese and Walnuts

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Korean Steak

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan

Field Grade Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I totally liked this and hubby is warming up to it. He said it was really good cold for lunch today. I made a few changes. I used ground sweet Italian sausage as my meat. I just knew it would mix well with the secret ingredient. I also added a pinch of sugar as I do to all tomato sauces. It helps lower the acid and removes the after taste some tomato sauces have. I followed the recipe as written from that point. Did a taste test with my family and then made the rest of my changes, I had a tomato needing to be used and I like a more rustic sauce so I cut it up and threw it in the pot, while that simmered a little longer I removed the stem and vain in the spinach I picked a week ago and really needed using up. I threw that in the pot and called it dinner. My picture is of the sauce before I added the spinach. Delicious with and without the spinach. This recipe is going in my winter round up of comfort foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

Cucumber Salad With Thai Sweet Chili Vinaigrette

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I really liked this. However, unless you are big on sesame oil, reduce or leave out. Next time I'll reduce it. This was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Bars

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
We think this cake is delicious, however, a cheesecake it ain't. Nor does it taste like a cheesecake. It is a wet-bottomed cake, (in a good way) which keeps it moist. The almond extract gives the cake an exquisite taste along with the blueberries. I think vanilla may be substituted as some reviewers suggest but you'd be missing out; trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK

Roasted Garlic

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This turned out great but needed to be roasted for at least an hour at a higher temperature. I roasted it at 335 degrees for about 70 minutes. Thank you CONI67 for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Old Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
The shortcake turned out to be very doughy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Marie Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fortescue, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana To Ten

Lemony Quinoa

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was the first time that we cooked Quinoa, the kernels were kingdom of stuck together. The flavor was great, but think maybe we did something wrong. We did rinse it very well before starting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon for the Family or a Crowd

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
So much easier to make bacon this way and does not smell up the house as much. I have found with 2 trays of bacon it takes about 30-40 minutes to get crisp. Everyone loved it, nice and flat, perfect crispiness and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I read a bunch of reviews and followed some of the advice, making the sour milk with only 1 Tablespoon of vinegar instead of 2 and also adding 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I made sure not to over mix as I know that makes them flat and dense. These turned out great. They tasted really good and were nice and fluffy. Everyone loved them and all want me to make again next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Coffee Cake

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Hated it. It tasted strongly of flour, so much so that it was really gross. It was also more moist than I would have liked. Definitely will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nevermore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

Artichokes

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I thought this recipe was only ok. Easy to prepare but not enough flavor even though I doubled the amount of garlic (I really like garlic). I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Casserole

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Love the ease of this recipe and the great taste !! I, like most others, substituted one can of creamed corn for one can of whole sweet corn. I did add diced chili's and I sautéed the onion in an oven safe pan, then transferred the whole thing into the oven with an oven safe lid. Went a little longer on the cooking, and I used the 1 cup of butter. I liked the moistness the extra butter gave the dish. I think it would have been dry otherwise. Which for some, is what they look for in a casserole. For me, I was looking for moist and tasty. I got it. Will use this recipe again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAZEinNY03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldwick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pantry Curried Quinoa with Garbanzo Beans and Roasted Peppers

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I liked this recipe, but think it had too much curry powder. We didn't have any so we used chili powder, and cut it way down because we don't like too much heat. We could also have cut out the red peppers; I think that they are not necessary. But the rest of the flavors are great. We didn't have raisins, and didn't want so much sugar so we used slightly sweetened cranberries, and I forgot to toast the almonds, but it was still very good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Fish Tacos with Mango-Pineapple Slaw

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This had WAY too much salt, pepper and Vinegar in it - fortunately I cut down the pepper, eliminated the salt because cod and tortilla's have enough salt in them, but unfortunately I didn't cut down the vinegar. It was ruined and way too acidic because of it, even on the mango and pineapple, which could have been nice. I also eliminated the jalapeno pepper because we don't like hot stuff. Also, in my opinion, a fish tortilla needs tomato to taste good. My cod came out great, but we threw away the sauce. Maybe with changes, a teaspoon of pepper, no salt, and a teaspoon or 2 or vinegar, it would have been good. What a shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written and we couldn't get enough of them. They lasted about 5 days and were still soft by the 5th day in a sealed container. These were so chocolaty and good, whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Same recipe as my mothers - these are delicious! I always use crunchy Jiff - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States