New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Creamy Herbed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This was ok. The gravy maybe needs a little something. Pork chops cooked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK

McDonald's® Tartar Sauce Copycat

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
EXCELLENT! I made this to go with tonight's dinner of crab cakes. Normally, I just mix mayo and relish so this really caught my eye. I love the addition of capers so I put in a little extra. I put the relish in a colander before adding to be sure it wouldn't be runny. The flavor is delicious and can only get better the longer it's refrigerated. The texture couldn't be better. There was no need to thicken or thin. I've never had the tartar sauce from McDonald's. All I can say after trying this is, "Look out McDonald's, duboo's in town!" Thanks for sharing duboo. I will use this recipe many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Norwegian Waffles

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
this was not the waffle for us. too eggy, although they were very crisp and light. thanks any way JulsCampbell :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Peanut Butter Easter Eggs

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This wasn't the recipe I was looking for but I am so glad I found it instead. These are simply awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA

Easter Eggs

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I followed someone else's advise and put toothpicks in the end of them before freezing. Just about half way in did the trick. When you put the toothpick in and pick the egg up by it to set it on the tray, you can tell if its in good enough and adjust it a bit from there. I used cherry extract, no coconut, and after I dipped them in chocolate I gave them a good sprinkling of finely chopped peanuts. Then I made the mistake of passing them out to the neighbors. I finally resolved that issue by making another batch and enclosing this recipe. Yeah, these are just that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA

Smoky Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I made this awhile ago and we really liked it. The liquid smoke was a great addition - I broiled it and it tasted as if it came from a grill. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Our Favorite Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
love, love, love this. delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Irish Bannock

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This is my go-to recipe every time. I have no use for buttermilk outside this recipe, and it is only sold by the quart near me, so I always quadruple the recipe. Usually that means I have to add another 1/2 cup to a cup of flour, depending on the weather. I do like the suggestion to soak the currants in rum or other alcohol first, it would be a nice twist and I'd be curious to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tom Henry

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This recipe yields truly phenomenal results! I think the key is having a lot of patience with the many "phases" it requires. I follow all the instructions and ingredient quantities as outlined. Start with room temperature cream cheese and eggs, mix on the lowest settings of your stand mixer. Drizzle the melted white chocolate into the batter while the mixer is slowly turning and when adding to your spring form pan do not scape any chunks of cream cheese that did not fully incorporate into the batter. Bake in a water bath until the temperature in the center reaches 160. This took my oven 90 minutes at 325! I then turn the oven off and leave it in there for an hour. When the cake comes out of the oven and water bath I run a thin knife around the edge and allow it to cool to room temperature. I then put it in the frig overnight but uncovered to allow the moisture and condensation to escape. In the morning, I put it in a sealed cake carrier, still in the frig. An hour before serving I cut the cake with a very thin knife and then allow it to come to room temperature for a perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Henry
Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Mountainside, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK

Yummy Lemon Coconut Loaf

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
OMGoodness! I need more stars! The combination of lemon and coconut is so good! Even Hubby, who is not a fan of lemon, really liked this. The flavor was even better the next morning. I loved the addition of the drizzle. I'm e-mailing this to my friend as I know it will be a hit at her house too. Thanks for sharing another winning recipe, Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Chef John's French Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Nothing fancy about this recipe. It is the all around basic Frech Toast Recipe, except the unnecessarily added allspice. The real secret to French Toast is using stale bread (aka "Day Old") to soak up the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Qia Walters

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
OMG! The heading is absolutely right. Everyone loved these. I first used it for my family's Christmas activity. Normally I make ginger bread houses with my kids, nieces and nephews, but this year we decided to make and decorate Christmas cookies. They were so good, even the teenagers had to get in on the fun and usually they think they're too cool for kiddie stuff. But they weren't too cool for these cookies. Since then, I've made a just because batch and a Valentine's Day batch. Two suggestions I did use that I saw in previous comments, 1: rolling the dough on parchment paper and using powered sugar as opposed to flour to surface it. This makes transferring the cookies to cookie sheet easier when you cut on the parchment paper and just transfer the entire paper to sheet. Just remove the extra dough around the cut cookies and add it back to the unused batch. Overall, this is my new cookie recipe. Its's going in the books to pass down for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qia Walters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stewartsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Easiest Way To Cook Bacon

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I agree this is the way to go. If saving the bacon fat strain it thru a coffee filter while still hot (be sure the container can take the heat) and the burnt bits will not contaminate future products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Speedskiff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Havre, Montana, USA

Broccoli Italiano

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made the recipe for two and didn't measure the ingredients. I sautéed the garlic, onion and mushrooms and steamed the broccoli. It's ok, felt like it all hadn't melded yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Honey-Ginger Grilled Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Pretty good. I marinated for an hour. I cooked and thickened the extra sauce but as I was stirring and tasting it, it was very salty. I didn't end up adding it to the finished salmon. The salmon that was baked in the sauce didn't taste salty, only the sauce that I cooked separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Chicken Paprikash II

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
this was a very tasty dish. i didn't cook a whole hour, maybe 45 mins. the only issue i had, which i am sure is operator error, is i couldn't get the sour cream to mix in nicely. it still tasted good, but nasty to look at. served over egg noodles. i probably used more paprika also. thanks for the post SHAELYNUMBER10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB'

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
FABULOUS! The only change I made was 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 1/2 cups white sugar and `/2 cup brown sugar. Oven set at 325 to start and then halfway through, upped it to 350. Used pecans and baked for 55 minutes. This bread is NOT a high riser, so check after an hour with a cake tester.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Gillette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whoopie Pies I

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I doubled the recipe and tripled the cream and these made our "Pi" day celebration the best! Very delicious, reminds me of the ones my grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best One Pot Cheese and Macaroni

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Just a note: The trick to getting this recipe to work is to make sure that the water from the pasta has boiled down low enough. Then add your milk and cheeses. If not, it will be soupy and the fastest way to fix that is to put it in a casserole dish and bake it. It took me a couple of tries to get this right myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Faucher-Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Watch the video to make this recipe, it is a big help. Although it is an easy recipe, salting, washing, and drying the eggplant is time consuming. I also added the garlic and basil. I tried some pieces with lemon juice but prefer the eggplant without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States