New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I made this last Thanksgiving and it was wonderful! I used spice cake mix and topped it with sprinkles. No icing needed. But, for the life of me, I haven't been able to find spice cake this year, so I bought carrot cake and am about to try it with that. What I've read says it is equally good, so I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJerzGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gloucester City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Stromboli

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Made this recipe twice, and both family and friends loved it. The first time I used the sausage, but the second time I used pepperoni because I had it on hand. Both times it was great! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy L. Feehan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foolproof Rib Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I have to say, I was so nervous about this cooking method, especially since the meat was pretty expensive and I had never cooked one before. I ended up getting (2) 2.5 cuts. I sat them on the counter for about an hour, and sprinkled salt, pepper and Steak seasoning. I placed in a pre heated 375 oven for 30 minutes, turned off the oven and although tempted, didn't open the oven door. I let sit for one hour and 15 minutes, then turned back on to 375 for another 20 minutes. I let sit on counter for another 10 to 15 before slicing. This was absolutely amazing, simple and delicious. There was enough juice in the pan for dipping and I can't wait for the next holiday to try again! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefkim21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No-Bake Peanut Butter Cookies III

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
BEWARE! These cookies are highly addictive. Hands down one of my favs! They are a must have for every pregnant woman. As far as making them, it doesn't get any easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison030177
Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broadalbin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
delicious!! big hit on the cookie tray this year. used homemade fig preserves instead of raspberries. thanks for the post MARBALET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Garlic Asparagus with Lime

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Made these for Christmas and was a huge hit. However, 1/4 lime didn't quite make, I added the juice from the whole lime to get the flavor. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grinch Kabobs

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
My rating is for it's creative appearance. This recipe inspired my Grinch Brunch menu for Christmas: - Grinch kabobs - "Who Hash" (any hash - I made potato and breakfast sausage with onions, red & green pepper) - Eggs - Stolen (because the Grinch "Stole" Christmas) As for the taste... the kabobs are best served with a yogurt dip or on a long skewer to garnish a fruit smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
AWESOME! I will definitely be making this again! I added some fresh spinach 5 minutes before it was done, as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Soft Boiled Eggs

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I haven't had a soft boiled egg since I was a little girl and my father used to make them for me once in a while. It has been over 50 years since I have had one and it was just as good as daddy used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

Elegant Turkey Stuffing

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I used orange juice in place of triple sec and I gotta tell ya - this stuffing is the best ever! If your able to make the day before do so. The stuffing was so much better the second day. I baked at 350 for 40 minutes. Stuffing was incredibly moist (even on the next day). I will never make another stuffing other than this! Thank you so much for posting, Joan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waldwick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pudding and Cream-Filled Strawberries

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Made these for Christmas and they were a hit. I don't like coconut so I used almond extract instead (vanilla would be good as well) and I sliced the strawberries into a floret and stuffed them...makes for a really pretty presentation and allows you to stuff them with more filling. Next time I will cut the milk back to 2/3 cup as the filling was a little on the thin side and didn't set as nicely as I would have liked. Was a bit better after putting the piping bag in the fridge for awhile but I think a tad bit less milk will make it perfect for nicely formed piped rosettes. Taste was delicious and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENIO67
Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggnog Russian

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
delish! i have a lot of eggnog to get rid of...and kahlua. this fits the bill perfectly. they go down real easy. thanks for the post BAMATT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Sausage Stuffing Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
this was a big hit this year for Christmas eve dinner. like others i used twice what the recipe called for for the stuffing. did not use the extra onion/celery. the few we had leftover were great for breakfast the next day with some leftover deviled eggs! thanks for the post GINGERCHANCEFELIX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Salad Stuffed Shells

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
made my own chopped salad and stuffed the shells while they were cold. it was a fun way to serve salad! thanks for the post Micki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Winter Leek and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
To all of you kind and wonderful cooks who tried this soup (which was passed on to me by my late mother-in-law), I want to thank you for taking the time to submit your comments. It is most gratifying. And I can't tell the editors of this marvelous cooking site how honored I was to have it posted in the last issue of the AllRecipes magazine. Thank you all! Happy holidays and a healthy New Year. From Sassa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
It IS easy, but I prefer my chicken parm with breaded chicken. Buy the Perdue breaded chicken - already cooked. Can add some frozen chopped onions & peppers. This recipe would probably work with another sauce, too, such as cream of chicken (or cream of mushroom) soup, or one of those Progresso sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Easy to make but wasnt a very big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Honey Maid Holiday Cheesecake Presents

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very good, and very easy! Be sure to line the pan with foil BEFORE putting the graham cracker mixture in the bottom of the pan, and be sure to dip knife in hot water before making EACH cut! We used green and red gel to decorate. I did not change the recipe at all. However, next time, to make things a bit easier, I will buy graham cracker crumbs. Note that the 10 crackers called for in the recipe makes 1 3/4 cups of crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Easier Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was really easy to make. I fried the chicken 1st removed it and put it aside in a foil pan. Added the wine and mushrooms to the pan and cooked. I used an exotic mushroom mix of crimini, shitake and oyster mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Poinsettias

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Really good! I added 1/2 oz of triple sec and some other recipes call for. I mixed the cranberry juice and triple sec together in a pitcher (I multipled the recipe 10x) then toppped each drink with champagne as it was poured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States