New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Irene's Barbeque Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I loved that this recipe made a sane amount of sauce and I don't need a 2nd fridge to store the unused portion. I had everything on hand which made it my chosen recipe for tonight's dinner. I altered the technique not the ingredients a bit. I pureed the onions and sauteed that mix in the oil and then dumped all the ingredients together and simmered. Looking forward to it on my chicken...it was good on my finger so it must be good on chicken, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1wayin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Branchville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Uncle Wynn's Bread Machine Rye

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great recipe although I'm looking for some feedback on what setting I should have used for baking it in the machine. What's the "normal" setting on the machine...white? I used the French Bread setting but I was at a loss for what size loaf it should be - 1.0, 1.5 or 2.0? Also what crust to use - tried medium. Any advice out there? Tastes great but it came out looking a little scary but that could be I didn't have the correct settings and I am going to try less of the vital wheat gluten as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Temptations II

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Delicious! I doubled the recipe and used chunky peanut butter, otherwise used the exact recipe and these were hard to keep around. Everyone loved them, by doubling the recipe I made about 90 which was great for a larger group. I refrigerated the dough before making the balls and kept them refrigerated when done as well so the chocolate wouldn't melt in the summer heat. Need to make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made this with only 2 bananas which wasn't 1 full cup and it is good but would prefer a little more banana flavor, next time I will use a cup of smashed banana's as others have suggested. I made these as mini-muffins baking for only 15 minutes and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I really liked this recipe as I don't care a whole lot for ricotta cheese, making it with sour cream was a change that turned out to be delicious! I used ground sausage instead of ground beef and I mixed the sauce in with the noodles as per others comments. I kept everything else the same as the recipe and covered it for 20 minutes and then uncovered for the last 10. Everyone loved it and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

How to Cook Steak Article - Allrecipes.com

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Absolutely the best way I have found to cook steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chip Bocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Rice -- Arros con Pollo

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Bite your fingers off, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chip Bocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I added onion to it also. My whole family found it boring and lacked any sort of pizzazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunanight

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atco, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Bacon Hamburgers

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I make a very similar recipe, except, I fry some chopped onion with the bacon and use horseradish cheddar cheese. I also FREEZE the cheese before I add it to the burger, takes a little longer for the cheese to melt....which makes it a bit less messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One-Jar Lemon Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Didn't have coconut vinegar so used white champagne vinegar, was a little too tart probably because of the change in vinegars we added about another TBS of honey. This will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK

Lucky's Quickie Chickie

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
EXCELLENT! This recipe came together so quickly and was so super yummy that I know I will be making it again and again. I used chicken breasts which I cut into medallions because that is what I had on hand. The only thing different I will do next time is to pound them thin so they will be more tender and soak up more of that delicious sauce. Oh yes, and definitely make extra sauce. It is soo good! Thank you Lucky Noodles for sharing such an EXCELLENT recipe!! I only wish I had tried it sooner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Spaghetti Squash I

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I am in love with this recipe. I omitted the olives and added parsley. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini and Potato Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was really good but seemed to be missing something. I made exactly as written maybe next time i will add some parm cheese or something to give it alittle extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Southwestern Vegetarian Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Everyone really enjoyed this even my 10 yr old who complains about everything didnt complain. I made exactly as written but used homemade chili powder not store bought. I will be making this again . Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Joey Joan

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I make a banging red sauce and these meat balls are very much worthy of said sauce. I baked rather then pan fry. I roasted my spaghetti squash on the same baking sheet as the meatballs. Both were done in the same cooking time on 400 degrees, on the center rack. I use parchment paper on my baking sheet, no stick no fuss no muss. When the squash was tender the balls were cooked through. I turned the balls once during cooking. I didn't cook the onion and garlic before hand, I was being a lazy cook and just chopped them fine and added to the meat mixture, along with fresh dried basil, and sage, as well as fennel seed. Because we prefer larger meatballs I made mine just a bit bigger then golf balls. I got 10 meat balls, just perfect for us. My sauce and this meat ball recipe were meant to be together and I know have a killer use every time meat ball recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

Arroz Con Pollo Mexicano

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I was hesitant about the 4 cups of water, but it comes out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dry Rub for Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Best dry rub for ribs I ever tried! In fact, this made my spare ribs the best we've ever eaten anywhere! Made me proud to serve them. I made it exactly as written. I did rub a little liquid smoke (a little goes a long way)on the ribs before putting the dry rub on. After applying, I wrapped them up in foil and kept overnight in the fridge. Placed in the oven without opening the foil and cooked slow for about 3 1/2-4 hrs at 250. Served right from the oven and guests couldn't stop raving about them! The meat just fell off the bone and remained juicy throughout the meal. This recipe is a keeper! Thank you Denise Smith! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cream Ridge, New Jersey, USA

Chicken Breast Cutlets with Artichokes and Capers

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I make this recipe on a regular basis and my family loves it. I usually put over whole wheat penne pasta, but have also used rice. I have even swapped out the chicken for shrimp for a scampi feel. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy L. Feehan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Followed the suggestions and tripled the recipe (all except the sugar, used 3Tb). Served with Jasmine rice (with a bit of lemon zest tossed in), family polished it off in record time :) Will DEFINITELY be doing this one a few more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carpenter115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Beef Flavored Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Simple is good,people! My only tweak next time would include sauteeing the minced onion first in half the allotted butter than adding the remaining butter when adding in the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States