New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Joey Joan

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I make a banging red sauce and these meat balls are very much worthy of said sauce. I baked rather then pan fry. I roasted my spaghetti squash on the same baking sheet as the meatballs. Both were done in the same cooking time on 400 degrees, on the center rack. I use parchment paper on my baking sheet, no stick no fuss no muss. When the squash was tender the balls were cooked through. I turned the balls once during cooking. I didn't cook the onion and garlic before hand, I was being a lazy cook and just chopped them fine and added to the meat mixture, along with fresh dried basil, and sage, as well as fennel seed. Because we prefer larger meatballs I made mine just a bit bigger then golf balls. I got 10 meat balls, just perfect for us. My sauce and this meat ball recipe were meant to be together and I know have a killer use every time meat ball recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

Arroz Con Pollo Mexicano

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
BLAND! BORING! I was hesitant about the 4 cups of water, but it comes out ok. BTW ... how does someone "radically modify" a recipe and give it 5 stars?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dry Rub for Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Best dry rub for ribs I ever tried! In fact, this made my spare ribs the best we've ever eaten anywhere! Made me proud to serve them. I made it exactly as written. I did rub a little liquid smoke (a little goes a long way)on the ribs before putting the dry rub on. After applying, I wrapped them up in foil and kept overnight in the fridge. Placed in the oven without opening the foil and cooked slow for about 3 1/2-4 hrs at 250. Served right from the oven and guests couldn't stop raving about them! The meat just fell off the bone and remained juicy throughout the meal. This recipe is a keeper! Thank you Denise Smith! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cream Ridge, New Jersey, USA

Quick and Easy Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Followed the suggestions and tripled the recipe (all except the sugar, used 3Tb). Served with Jasmine rice (with a bit of lemon zest tossed in), family polished it off in record time :) Will DEFINITELY be doing this one a few more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carpenter115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Beef Flavored Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Simple is good,people! My only tweak next time would include sauteeing the minced onion first in half the allotted butter than adding the remaining butter when adding in the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Bechamel Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was what I used tonight to prepare lasagna. The bechamel turned out absolutely lovely,smooth,thick and creamy. Because bechamel is a delicately flavored sauce I needed to heighten the flavor for use in such a robust dish as a lasagna. Another reviewer JodieNMain advised sauteeing a pureed sweet onion down and adding a generous 1/4 tsp nutmeg before adding the flour so that's what I did and the result was delightsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Upside Down Cake I

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this recipe in an 8 inch round pan, with the peaches in a spiral so it looked really lovely. My main problem was that in the round pan, by 25 minutes at 375 the outside of the cake was burning, while underneath it was totally raw. I lowered the temperate to 350 and cooked in awhile longer, which worked (although the outside layer was too overdone) but if I try it again I'm definitely cooking it at 350 instead. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp almond extract as others suggested. It tasted good, but was definitely a heavier coffee cake type cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess51725

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Swiss Vegetable Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I thought this was worth making again. I used fresh vegetable mix from BJ's, but I should have steamed them a bit first. My bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Smashed Cauliflower Side Dish

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Whole family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Excellent dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tiramisu II

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I changed the serving size to 18 and it fit a standard oblong cake pan perfectly. I took it to a dinner party last night and people could not stop raving about this, saying it was better than the restaurant version. The only changes I made were to triple the coffee/kahlua mixture. Added a bit more Kahlua than the recipe calls for. I used the hard ladyfingers. Just dip the non sugar side in the coffee mixture for a few seconds that quickly place sugar side down in the pan. The coffee mixture will drip down through the whole cookie. I will be making this often and everyone wants the recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Made this on the grill!!! Super delish! So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Italian Sausage Tortellini Bake

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
We enjoyed this! Only did half meat for wee ones are picky! Everyone liked !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Pan Fried Swiss Chard

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Skipped the bacon ... Was great!!! Looking forward to picking up some more chard at the farmers market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Bacon for the Family or a Crowd

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
What a great method! I agree with others- feel like my house smells a bit less by cooking in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Made these this morning for breakfast - every last crumb is gone (family of 5). Only chance was I added a handful of choc chips!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
PERFECT! Having seen so many friends claim this to be the best, I just had to try it. It was so easy to make and the cooking time was perfect for me. I used parchment paper to line my cookie sheets and the cookies lifted off so nicely after cooling about 3 minutes. Thank you ELIZABETHBH for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I'm finally in the "zone" of healthy living. This is the bomb!! Love love love it. I add a little red pepper flakes to the mix and tons of garlic. Oh la la.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Ann O'Hanna-Embody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oradell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Thompsons Station, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen

Strawberry Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Loved this bread! Such an easy recipe and no changes were made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tortilla Bake

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Added 1/2 can black beans. Great with corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States