New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Danielle Ren

Carrot Cookies II

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I only had whole wheat flour and orange extract so I tried those in place of the white flour and orange zest. I increased the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon, added a dash of nutmeg and a scant cup finely chopped pecans. The cookies are good, not too sweet. Texture is buttery and moist, but dense like a shortbread. Good with hot tea. Didn't get the carrot flavor you would taste in carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Ren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil and Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
very tasty... followed exactly as is.... very important to let simmer for 2.5-3 hours for full effect and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aw-some Cole Slaw

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Made this exactly as written. Simple to make, tastes like a lot of thought and time went into it. I will ever make another type of cole slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA

Lobster Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had a one pint container of leftover lobster (that I picked out of the shell) from a special occasion a couple of days ago. I wanted to use it up with a recipe that was more 'dinner' like instead of cold lobster salad, so I came to (of course!) allrecipes.com and plugged in my special ingredient. There weren't many 'hot' lobster recipes, but this one stood out. I didn't have cream or regular bread so I used whole milk and rye bread. I also added a little sharp cheddar and parmesan (less than a cup total of both) to the sauce, along with just a sprinkle of Old Bay seasoning (just because I like things kicked up a tad). I husband raved the rest of the night about this AND I think it took me LESS time to make than the recipe actually called for! LOVE that on a weeknight! I know I changed a few things on this recipe and gave it 5 stars, but I really think it's the kind of recipe that you can tweak to make it your own with just a 'little here and a little there'. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, New Jersey, USA

Popa's Pickled Eggs

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Amazing!!!! I let them soak 4 full days before tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Ravioli Lasagna

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Cooking time is more like 90 MINUTES when making as directed. Maybe 40-45 minutes is using cooked ravioli?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Basil Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
i did not try it. I am disappointed at how many recipes I am finding using prepared sauce mixes. Most people don't cook using anything but fresh ingredients. Even those who use mixes probably don't keep them on hand. I suggest that we encourage this site to provide a separate heading for recipes using additives that are not part of the common pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAILYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beachwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is the best NY style cheesecake recipe I have ever tried! I followed the suggestions of others such as room temperature cream cheese to start and leaving the cake in the oven to cool off and to avoid cracks. I didn't agree with some reviews that adding the flour made it taste "cakey". I will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great as is but I grow all my own herbs so used fresh everything. Do it. Fresh oregano isn't as strong a flavor. I can't stand dried, the only thing that should be used for are hoagies & pizza sauce lol...but fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Seafood Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is a wonderful base recipe for stuffed mushrooms. It's creamy without being too creamy. I always read the reviews prior to making any recipe. I did take some of the comments into consideration when making it myself. I added about 1/3 C finely chopped vidalia (sweet) onion (omitting the green onion) along with some finely chopped fresh chives and fresh parsley from my herb garden. I also added 1 T Parmesan to the 1 T bread crumbs (I used whole wheat seasoned Italian). Also used baby bella/crimini mushrooms and finely chopped about 1/2 the stems and added them to the mixture.I used 1 pound of lump crab and omitted the shrimp. I also melted 1 stick butter with about 1 clove garlic finely minced and poured that into the baking pan before adding the stuffed mushrooms. Topped with a mixture of 1/2 C whole wheat Italian seasoned bread crumbs and added about 1/2 C Parmesan cheese to that. Baked them about 20 minutes then popped them under the broiler for a very short time til golden and lovely. As noted by others this recipes as it is, makes a lot more than 12 mushrooms, so be sure to have more on hand OR take the remaining filling and put it in a greased baking dish, then bake to heat through. Serve with your favorite crackers...YUM!!! I will add the adjusted/adapted recipe to my collection of favorite recipes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope, New Jersey, USA

Eggs Benedict

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Loved it! Will make more often. But I will make hollendaise last just before plating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Kris
Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dunellen, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Lilac

Home Made Farmer's Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Thank you for this recipe and helpful reviews. I moved to Oklahoma where soft farmer's cheese wasn't available. This saves one of my family's best recipes. I used white vinegar. 1c per gallon of whole milk. I let it sit as suggested for about 8 minutes and it made about a pound of cheese. It was mild and a tad sweet. No vinegar flavor and all pure whey left. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Casserole I

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This is always a big hit. I'm always asked to make this for any family function. The husband can't get enough. I usually have to make two one for him. Lol. The only thing I changed is I use a 1/12 cups of milk, pancake syrup and 3 eggs. Takes a little longer to cook but has great consistency. Salt pepper and garlic to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Taco Quiche

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Vegetarian Version - replace the beef with a package of defrosted frozen spinach. Otherwise the same. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZ735

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Needs to add something to spice it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Needs to add something to spice it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This is now my go to cookie recipe! For the longest time I struggled to find a cookie recipe that would stay chewy once it cooled down. This is one of the best cookies I've ever had (including ones from bakeries). The only changes that I make are to use salted butter because it's all I ever have on hand and I only use 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of two (don't worry, it's still plenty). I like that it makes big cookies. If you like small cookies this is not the recipe for you. They spread out and become very big no matter what you do. Personally, I like it that way but not everyone does, it's really just a matter of personal opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom

Super Good Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
tasty! i will try on steak in the future....the kabob meat i bought was a little tough at times. even marinated it over night. thanks for the post carousel-lady!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Chef John's Salmon

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I made this for my husband and really absolutely loved it! I had some salmon and went on allrecipes and this was the recipe of the day, so I didn't bother to look any further. It was extremely easy to make and cook. He kept asking me what is in it, and said to make salmon this way from now on. Not a lot of clean up, not a lot of work, great tasting fish. win/win/win Definitely try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Conrad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I used a jar of med. hot salsa and found it to be a little overpowering. Next time I'll use a mild salsa and reduce the amount to 3/4 cup. Very easy and quick recipe to make on a busy weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States