New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by njmom

Sole with Bananas

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
i have to say, my DH and i were pleasantly surprised with this. i had some cod out for dinner, and 2 sorry looking bananas...i had everything else on hand. since people complained about the excessive wine flavor, i merely drizzled on the wine and lime. the only problem i had was the bananas sliding off the fish before cooking. so, i had to improvise and stick a couple of tooth picks to keep them steady. very good. thanks for the most unusual way to eat whitefish KAREN SHAVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I think I added too much water because it was bland. I did not omit any of the ingredients and even added a thinly sliced onion. I would reduce the sauce more if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Graceyrose

Amazing Lemon Scones

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I loved these scones. I thought the glaze might make them a little too sweet but they were perfect. I did have to add a little extra butter and milk because my batter was a bit dry which is why I gave them 4 stars not 5. The end result was definitely 5 stars with my minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graceyrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

Blueberry Oatmeal

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I love blueberry oatmeal! We prefer this recipe with old fashioned oats (not quick). Make in the microwave one serving at a time and cook for 3 minutes. Cooking the blueberries with the oatmeal instead of adding them later allows some of the blueberries to pop and distributes the flavor throughout. Allow everyone to add their own brown sugar at the end so it's just the right amount of sweetness. Fast and easy for weekday mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

Chicken Pot Pie II

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I followed the recipe with the exception of how I prepared my chicken and the crust. I used 2 HUGE chicken breasts, added onion, garlic, rosemary, and I used chicken base. I like it so much better than the granulated stuff. I wasn't sure if my bowls are oven safe, so I wound up using 2, 6 inch cast iron skillets, and I also used puff pastry. This is what a chicken pot pie should be. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA

Keto Coffee Chipotle BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Hands down the best ketogenic BBQ sauce recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shamong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Bok Choy Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
One of my 'go to' salads. Great with anything that goes well with soy sauce (fish etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Simple Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Great recipe and easy to tweek if you want to. I added bacon bits at the end and used mild and sharp ceddar because that is what I had on hand. My daughter loves this mac and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborahcr
Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

OU Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
need to add the 8 oz sour cream and you have aced it don't add additional sugar just a pinch of pepper for a kick! dont add cheeze or onions it takes away from the corn....It is a CORN cassarole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mildred Beauchamp Geronimo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Love this recipe! I have an herb garden on my back porch, and was so happy to find a recipe that uses so many delicious fresh herbs! I added sage to the mix. My family love this, and I'm sure I'll make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Delicious! Great pancake recipe, and easy to change up and toss in your favorite add-ins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

Sausage, Zucchini and Two Pepper Pasta

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
this was very good. i grilled my sausages, and lightly pan fried my veggies. i removed the veggies from the pan and added the marsala wine and some softened cream cheese. i did not use the chicken broth. didn't measure the wine; just used what i had on hand. it made a nice sauce. i tightened it up a bit with a slurry. and no peas. i forgot. thanks for the recipe Nancy and Terry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Sister Slaw

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
This was really good, I'll be making this often! I added toasted walnuts and cranraisins as suggested. I think I will put a little feta on it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrice Wassmann
Home Town: Emerson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mint Citrus Water

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
we love this.....we do add the cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Jersey John

Pasta with Vegetables

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
this is a great recipe, it is so versatile. the second time I made it i added smoked angus sausage and cooked the veggies in the pan i used for the sausage. gave an incredible smokey flavor. I also switched up the red wine vinegar for balsamic vinegar. WOW. this was great!! I will make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey John

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Broccoli-Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I liked the buttery, creamy taste of this soup! I used more veggies than just broccoli - I had some frozen peas, carrots, onion, and a small amount of frozen peppers to use up. Also, I used "better than bouillion". Quick, easy meal that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK

Chocolate Dipped Bing Cherries

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I am sorry to say that this recipe did not work for me. I cut a slit in the bottom of the cherries and used a tomato shark to pit them. The problem is that the pit is connected to the stem so it makes it hard to keep the stem in place. I mixed the vanilla and sugar and used the microwave set at the lowest temperature to get it hard. That worked well. I place the hard sugar lumps into the cherries and dipped them in the chocolate. The chocolate seized so I thinned it with some Crisco shortening and that worked well. The problem then was that you couldn't dip the cherry without the stem coming off as it is not connected to the pit anymore. I tasted them and they were too sweet for me. I'm sorry Barry, I would love to give this a higher rating but I feel it's important to give my honest review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
OUTSTANDING!!! I added 2 diced red peppers because I had them, only 1 can of beans because that is all I had, 1 can corn because that is what I had, no cilantro because I don't really like it but it would have been good with wilted spinach or other greens. The seasoning were outstanding just as written. I will make this again and again. With my recipe it came in at about 9 Weight Watchers points for about 1 1/2 cups. So, so good. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Another winner from Chef John :-) And another recipe where the list of ingredients is wrong :-( In the video, he makes a point of saying 1t of Soy Sauce because the Fish Sauce makes it sufficiently salty. The ingredients say 1T of Soy Sauce. Glad he pointed it out in the video - saved me from overly salty dinner. Chef John is absolutely wonderful and we love his all his recipes. Once again suggesting however that he consider having someone proof read the posted recipes for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Even though there's an error in the list of ingredients, this definitely deserves all 5 stars. I believe the video shows him adding TWO cups of water, but the recipe calls for THREE cups. I fixed it by removing the cooked meat from the pot and then cranking up the heat to reduce the liquid. Once reduced, I returned the meat to continue cooking a tad. My family loves ALL of Chef John's recipes - perhaps he can have someone proof read for him?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States