New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Refreshing Watermelon Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy L. Feehan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie Kasper

Spicy Unstuffed Cabbage

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
**EDIT** When I posted this recipe I didn't realize that I had left out to transfer the cooked and drained meat to a Dutch oven or a large soup pot. You can even use a crockpot if you desire. The amount of spice you add is all up to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rubbed and Grilled Pork Loin

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I didn't have all the spices on hand so I just used salt and pepper. I used a roasting rack on the grill since indirect heat was not an option. The timing was perfect and even though I overcooked it just a smidge, it was juicy and flavorful. I will definitely buy the recipe spices and do this again and again! Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beets on the Grill

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This recipe was excellent! I used golden beets, peeled them and olive oil rather than butter. Timing was perfect, the beets were tender and flavorful! The kitchen stayed cool and I was grilling anyway so this was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Love these cookies, this is the same recipe my Grandmother and Mother always made! Delicious, sweet, delicate, and they keep well for several days as well as transport well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Very good! Not as spicy as I thought but definitely tasty. I did not add the spinach until right before serving. Great summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is a tasty one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wenonah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I used hot sausage in mine....this is favorite with my guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wenonah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Jalapeno Hot Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Salt & Pepper to taste!HA HA HA. Added salt, took a taste and couldn't taste anything for a half hour. Very fresh tasting. Great mixed with sour cream for Tex-Mex food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My new pesto recipe! However, I have some issues with the measurements. Firstly, why would I chop or mince anything if it's going in the food processor. Secondly, instead of 12 servings,I would have preferred amount in cups. I started with 5 medium cloves of garlic and threw into the processor with the blade running. Stopped processor and put in 3 cups of basil leaves, good handful of walnuts, the cheese, a good shake of red pepper flakes instead of chili powder, salt & pepper to taste. Started processor and poured in 1/2 cup of evoo, which seemed to be enough. Since I was using this as a side dish, I cooked a 1/2 lb. of rotelli pasta, tossed with the pesto and only had enough leftover pesto to fill 3 ice cubes in an ice cube tray. That all said it was delicious and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I tried this today and it was pretty good! Normally, I make recipes on AllRecipes as is, but I did take the other reviews into consideration and came up with my own alterations. Here's what I did; 1. I used 3/4 cup of chopped onion instead of 1/2 cup 2. I minced 3 cloves of garlic 3. I substituted 1/4 cup water for 1 cup of low sodium beef broth 4. I added 2 oz of sour cream along with the 4 oz of cream cheese 5. Finally, I mixed 1 tablespoon of flour with 2 tablespoons of water to help thicken the sauce. I also found that 8 hours was too long and that my beef stew meat had cooked within 5 hours. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eboehnlein_629

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Dix, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Glaze

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Very easy. Used this to glaze Cinnamon Swirl cake from this site. I do admit I eyeballed the milk until I got the consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carole's Sesame Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I am rating the dressing only on this recipe because I turned it into a pasta salad. I loved it and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Squares

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Awesome. make againg and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Okra

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this from fresh okra in my garden. Used 1/2 corn meal 1/2 flour and added a little milk to the egg and soaked for 5-10 minutes before dredge. Also added a little cayenne to the dredge. They fried up nicely and coating stayed on. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy L. Feehan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Kabob Marinade

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It was easy to prepare . These are ingredients that I always have on hand so I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VENUSENVIE

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
These were quite delicious as is. I would try separating the egg yolks from the whites, mixing then adding the egg whites at the end as another user had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
didn't change anything, except seasoned the chicken separately with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder to give it "Layers of flavor". awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJBEN2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Lisa Majewski Mazzuca

Zucchini Chocolate Chip Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This cake is fantastic with the recipe as written. I shredded the zucchini on the small shred side of my box shredder and it completely disappear into the cake while it baked. My 6 year old daughter heard there was zucchini in it, didn't want to have anything to do with it, but asked for another piece after she tried it. My 9 year old talked about how he loved the texture - the top was a bit crunchy and the inside was so soft. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Majewski Mazzuca
Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Polish Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
What I did, when I strained the broth I re-used the bowl to make the dumplings. Just delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Kris
Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dunellen, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States