New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Low Fat Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Outstanding! I have made this twice, using dried herbs both times and it was delicious! I am taking another reviewer's recommendation and keeping a jar of the premixed herbs in the cabinet. What a great flavor combination! I am thinking of mixing it in with bread crumbs and breading some chicken tenders. Thanks for sharing, jpsmommie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Mimi's Zucchini Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
We loved this! Quick, easy , delicious! I added a cup of shredded Cheddar to the mix and sprinkled more on top,omitting the Parmesan. So yummy and just as good cold and leftover the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yankee notion farm
Home Town: Emerson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great! I think it helped to dry the beans, as others have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Leafe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
The flavor was great! However, they didn't rise very well. After the first batch, I did a second, using a little more yeast (yes, it was fresh-I checked this time!) and still flat. I'm not going to give up though, I plan to tweak it a bit and see if I can get the beautiful buns that others have :) Will update when I get it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Dough I

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I love this recipe and always follow it exactly. It's the closest thing to the southern NJ style pizza crust I'm used too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by unoticedshifd

My Best Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Wow this is amazing. I usually follow any recipe to the T tge first time but since I pretty much am obsessed with bacon I added 3 strips crumbled and also used the bacon fat. This is great w/ some oyster crackers, baguette & a glass of Riesling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Multigrain Chia Waffles

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made this exactly as written and they turned out perfectly. They are slightly crunchy and have a delicious nutty flavor from the different grains. I have a standard waffle maker and this made about 4 waffles. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

Old-Fashioned Lemonade

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Great standard lemonade, calling for equal measure of lemon juice and sugar. For those who read only the ingredient list, the recipe actually does call for one cup of juice to the cup of sugar. Although I like mine a touch less sweet, it is probably a five for most lemonade lovers. If you like extra tart, hold back on some of sugar and give it a taste, then add to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Tortellini and Artichoke Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This was delicious! I dropped half of my tortellini on the floor and added small pasta to make up the difference and it still came out spectacular. I also added grape tomatoes. I am a fan of artichokes but my husband is not, and he loved it too (even with extra artichoke liquid!) A keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA

Quick Creamy Zucchini Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is pretty yummy! I doubled everything, and instead of mixing the flour and milk, I sauteed the onions in butter, added the flour to make a roux, then added the milk and a pinch of nutmeg to that and heated until the milk was thickened. Then I added the milk/onion mixture to the zucchini and brought back to a boil. It thickened nicely, but isn't too thick and doesn't have a floury taste. I also hit the zucchini with my stick blender after it was soft rather than putting it into the blender Great way to use up some of my many zucchinis!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vburrito

Sharknado Cocktail

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Super tasty & fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Bacon-Wrapped Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This recipe couldn't be easier. I love salmon, I love bacon, and I hate any recipes that are labor intensive (a.k.a. easy for me to mess up). I followed the recipe to a T and it came out great. Even my chef husband loved it. What they say is true; bacon DOES make everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Everyone in my office loved this!! ! !So Easy to make. I did had one cup of water when I combined the dry with the wet. Came out extremely fluffy and moist. Made it twice in one week for the crew..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Van80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Granola

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is quite good, though as I can't stand sesame I left it out. My oven thermometer is flaky, and because of that I use my three crockpots a lot. The method I found for making granola in one works well for me. Take the oatmeal, nuts, and all the liquids, and cook on High, without the lid, for an hour. I stir here every 20 minutes. After an hour turn to Low, again no lid, add all the rest of your ingredients, and cook two to four hours. I now stir every half hour, and with my oval crock I find three hours gives me a nice color. If you find your coconut and/or dried fruits too chewy/tough, add them at the first hour on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChileHead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

Garlic Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Made exactly as described except cooked in a microwave convection oven so it took a little less time (set oven for 325 degrees F with 30% microwave power for 20 min covered then 10 min uncovered). Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I liked this soup. I followed the original recipe except I used frozen spinach (didn't have any fresh) and I put the tomatoes in the food processor before adding because my Hubby's not crazy about tomatoes chunks in soup. It was very good, but processing the tomatoes made it a more tomatoe base. I won't do that next time. I will definitely make this again! BTW,I used Trader Joe's canned plum tomatoes and did not add salt to the pot, making the sodium less than 200mg for the entire pot. We salted individual bowls to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was delicious and very easy! I read the reviews, so used "low sodium" soy sauce and for the mustard used Maille Rich Country Dijon. It was fantastic and so very easy. My husband loved it. Served it with brown rice, with a little sauce on it of course, and a green salad. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummus III

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly as written. Way too much lemon. Way too much Tahini. Sabra is an excellent product and it's cheaper than making your own. My son in law is a chef and I was too embarrassed to even let him try it to attempt a fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK

Tomato Bruschetta

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this for the RECIPE GROUP. I followed the recipe using all the ingredients; but, because I wanted a cold appetizer, I used the mozzarella as a garnish rather than melting it in the oven. I only used the flesh of the tomato not the seeds or juice. When it first got done, I was very disappointed in the taste. I just didn't like the pepper, it was too strong. (Perhaps my fault) After refrigeration of a few hours, it was "knock your socks off" good! All the flavors blended and it was totally delicious! I served the bruschetta separate, as I didn't want the bread to get soggy. I will be using this recipe often, infact I'll be making it again tomorrow. Thank you Joy for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Blue_Banana

Mustard Glazed Corned Beef

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was awesome. I used stone ground mustard but other than that followed this to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States