New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

McDonald's® Tartar Sauce Copycat

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This was a delicious condiment on some homemade filet of fish sandwiches. I might lower the relish a touch. Just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy German Bierocks (Runza)

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I enjoyed this recipe but instead of using dinner rolls as stated, I used phyllo dough and baked them in the oven. Before placing in oven I brushed each with melted butter and baked them in 350 degree oven until golden brown. They were so delicious with the flaky pastry outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne L. Wendland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whiting, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy German Bierocks (Runza)

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I enjoyed this recipe but instead of using dinner rolls as stated, I used phyllo dough and baked them in the oven. Before placing in oven I brushed each with melted butter and baked them in 350 degree oven until golden brown. They were so delicious with the flaky pastry outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne L. Wendland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whiting, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yellow Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Good recipe! I added one clove of garlic, sliced; a small amount of sweet bell peppers, sliced; seasoned salt instead of table salt, and Wheat Thins, Sweet Onion, crushed (instead of buttery crackers)..all of which was because that's what I had on hand. Also halved the recipe, cooking for one. It was delicious! Will make again and do recommend. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Shipley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mayonnaise Biscuits

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I was intrigued by the ingredients of these biscuits so I had to try them. I liked the soft, dinner roll-like texture but they had a bitter aftertaste. Perhaps the brand of mayo used was the culprit, Aldi's. I may try again with another mayo to see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Randy's Slow Cooker Ravioli Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I have made this lots of times, but, always in the oven. The method is basically the same. The only difference is that after I put the ingredients together in the baking pan, I COVER the pan with foil. I didn't notice whether or not the posted recipe uses cooked or uncooked ravioli. I use UNCOOKED ravioli. The layers pretty much work the same way.....I like to add a little fresh mozzarella in between the layers so it has that gooey-ness of lasagna. After I cover it, I bake it ABOUT 45 minutes to one hour at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Miseyko Gutekunst

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I had some extra peaches on hand and tried this recipe for a backyard pool party. It came out excellent. Not too sweet and pretty easy to put together - I used more peaches than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Hollandaise Sauce in the Microwave

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Excellent, excellent, excellent..it took longer than 15 seconds to thicken, but the outcome was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Chicken Divan

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Didn't like this one at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Chocolate Ganache

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This was amazing...I did not use the rum, but I used this to cover a homemade ice cream cake and it was just perfect. Highly recommend this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sam's Zucchini Crab cakes

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
an oldie but goodie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosenhayn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This is a really easy basic recipe for all types of fruit, the fresher the better. I want to emphasize the word EASY. This is the kind of dessert recipe that is perfect for a beginner, or for anyone who is short on time, but wants to serve a dessert that looks like you really went all out! It also has the benefit of being very light. It's the perfect dessert to serve after a somewhat heavy dinner, particularly after beef. The changes I made were slight. I used fresh whole black sweet cherries, pitted the day before. I used close to three loosely packed cups of cherries. I determined the amount of sugar for the cherries by their taste alone, keeping in mind how much of a somewhat-tart contrast I wanted the fruit to be to the sweet light and airy cake they would be nestled in. There was some sugar and flour left in the cherry bowl that I sprinkled lightly over any cherries that lost their sugar going into the pan. That's one tip I can give you; place the cherries one or two at a time into the prepared pan of batter with a spoon. Try to keep them evenly spaced and don't roll them in the batter. Make sure they still have sugar clinging to the tops. For desserts like this one, I recommend a glass baking dish. This dessert is perfect with a scoop of homemade custard based vanilla ice cream. Everyone will love it, so if you're baking for a lot of folks, I'd suggest you make two pans, because people will want seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Sorry - just did not like like it, much too salty for my taste. The flavor seemed to be missing something but I always follow the recipe exactly the first time I make it. Perhaps it would be better if I had followed some of the other reviewers suggestions. Anyway, thank you Jeannettebird for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini and Potato Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
This was GREAT!! The only thing I did different was I added a large rough chopped onion. My whole family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UtahJT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Grantsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Delish! Thanks for a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Shipley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Excellent mac. salad. We added more veggies & reduced the mayo the second time to save calories & it was still very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainSupremee

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I made this yesterday and it was one of the best and easiest thing I have tried as a chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irvington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Made this tonight for 4th of July (after finding the ribs in my freezer from last November). I followed the recipe exactly, only halved it as I had a little over two pounds of boneless short ribs. They were perfectly fork tender after 1-1/2 hours. I couldn't believe how thick the gravy got after ten minutes. Served with baked potato and string beans almandine. May put the leftovers over pasta or polenta. Thank you, Chef John, for another excellent recipe. My husband also thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Nice, moist, dark and very quick to put together. I have a few chocolate cakes that I like as much or more taste-wise, but this one is so simple it can be thrown together while fixing dinner. I cool it for 30 minutes, put in the freezer for 15, and it's cool enough to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States