New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe was delicious! The local super market only had 2.5lbs pork shoulder roasts so I made two of them at once. While the end result was a little too tender after cooking for 6 and half hours on a low setting it had the texture of pulled pork. Although it was still very good, I am confident that the next time I make this it will be perfect if cooked between 5 and 5.5 hours. Also reducing the broth to gravy was a little difficult and ended up using cornstarch and seasoned with a little garlic powder, salt and pepper. Thanks for the recipe Chef John, all of your recipes I've tried are always well recieved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Refried Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
First time I made this I drained the beans. Second time, did not drain, liked them much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Joey's Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Somehow we had a jar of store-brand, reduced-fat peanut butter that no one liked. So not to be wasteful,used it to make these cookies and they were delicious! Can't wait to try with good peanut butter lol. Only change I made was to bake at 350 degrees for 13-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Squash and Green Bean Saute Side Dish

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is a great recipe to make when your garden is overflowing with green beans, squash and cherry tomatoes! I used fresh parsley as that was also prolific in our garden. I used have a little EVOO & butter to cook the veggies in and waited until the very last minute to add the parsley and tomatoes so it stayed fresh. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, New Jersey, USA

Easy Brownie Mix Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Like others, I couldn't find the right size brownie mix. I tried some other suggestions of adding more flour and using crisco and refrigerating, and the cookies didn't spread too much. However, they were very thin, hard to get off the pan, even using parchment paper. They crumbled some and I could not make them into sandwiches. They tasted delicious, but was not what I was hoping for in a sandwich cookie. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken Reuben

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
As other said, I liked all the ingredients and thought this would be a five. I followed recipe except for reducing the Thousand Island Dressing. I am glad I did because the baking dish was swimming in sauce. I didn't finish mine and my partner did but we got rid of the leftovers. It was easy to make - oh, I also reduced the cooking time to 50 minutes and it was cooked. I would think it depends on the thickness of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Nacho Cheese Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Probably the best nacho sauce I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by vburrito

Spanish Rice II

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was good, but could've used more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Easy Salsa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Would make it again but I think I would kick this one up a notch by using a very good Hot Salsa because of the cheese. Maybe some sour cream on the side. The measurements were right on the mark. Not too dry, not too mushy for our tastes. I served it with baked potato and corn on the cob. Oh, I did use a can of tomato sauce to pour over the top before putting it in the oven. Sprinkled some dry parsley on the top to make it look pretty. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I am not a huge apple bread person but this was GREAT!! Using other reviewer's advise - I used 1 cup dark brown sugar and 1 cup regular sugar and added one healthy tsp of vanilla. My older son - the junk food machine - loved it so much he wanted to take a piece to school today with his lunch. Almost fell over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Salsa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Would make it again but I think I would kick this one up a notch by using a very good Hot Salsa because of the cheese. Maybe some sour cream on the side. The measurements were right on the mark. Not too dry, not too mushy for our tastes. I served it with baked potato and corn on the cob. Oh, I did use a can of tomato sauce to pour over the top before putting it in the oven. Sprinkled some dry parsley on the top to make it look pretty. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Very versatile, cute idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican-Style Goulash

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This was OK. I upped all the ingredients and it still seemed to be missing something. I added fresh garlic, cumin, and hot pepper sauce. Still just eh. If I do make this again, and it's an "if", I think maybe lots of fresh peppers, bell, jalepeno, something green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Tasty and quickly put together. Served with a side of Rice and a veggie. A real family pleaser! I read some of the other reviews. Some outstanding variations there that I will be trying in the future Thanks to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Spicy Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Some of the spices need to change: only 2 cloves of garlic, no italian seasoning, add: 1 TBSP dried Oregano, 2 TBSP dried BASIL, 2 Tsp. grated NUTMEG, 2 Tsp. Salt and 2 TBSP sugar. If you make these changes, it will be a 5-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETTY BOOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Busy Day Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
My 6-qt. cooked this chicken to mush in 8 hours. The bones can deteriorate, splinter and become dangerous for young children to deal with. I will have to play with timing on this recipe and will use some boneless skinless thighs and breasts combined in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Asian Burger Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Quick and easy dish for the kids! Be sure to cut firm veggies small enough to cook in 3 minutes, or precook a bit. I think this would also work well with ground turkey and chicken broth. I ditched the peppers because of young ones, and put the onions in with the sprouts to mellow them. I just realized, I might have left out the water, which might account for enough flavor. Could be an idea to leave the water until last and add to your own desired concentration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Blueberry Zucchini Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These muffins were easily adapted to our dietary preferences. I omitted the nuts, substituted almond milk, maple flavoring, and chia seeds mixed with water (for egg sub), and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cicily Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Yum! I stuck to the original flavor profile, using 1/3 of a large red onion and had a handful of carrot to a standard 15.5 oz. can of garbanzos. I gave a fine chop to the veggies in the blender and mashed the chick peas with a potato masher. This was a hit with my husband and I was pretty darn impressed. It's one of those "sum is greater than the parts" things. Although it looked a teensy dry, it tasted moist and I was glad I left well enough alone. I made sandwiches on whole wheat bread and my meat lovin' man stated he could eat these for lunch on a regular basis! I will use only 2-3 Tbsp. pulverized onion when I make this for my 3,6 & 7 year old grand kids, and will definately be cooking up my own dry beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
WOW - followed exactly! But... Made as a cake!! Baked for 55 mins Everyone loved - will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States