New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Emma Crawford

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I made these as written with the exception for needing more flour. I had to add half a cup more, but check your dough before you do because you might not need to. I also had to bake them about 12 minutes, but that's might just be the way my oven bakes, it's propane. All and all these cookies are the ones I will go to when I'm looking for a chocolate chip cookie. Awesome job on the recipe.mthanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA

Nonna's Tuscan Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I used high quality balsamic, but 1/3 cup took this way out of balance, far too much acid. Photo posted of the dressing looks creamy in color, mine came out brownish-purple. Will definitely try this recipe again, but will mix everything but the vinegar and add 1 tbsp at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liam Ward

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chester, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Salad with Ginger

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I made this recipe frequently, both with and without the ginger, when my kids were small and we loved it! Somehow, it got lost in my memory and I specifically searched for it to serve to my grandkids tonight, not that it really requires a recipe. The orange juice and raisins are the perfect sweetener for the carrots. My husband and I like this as much as the children do, and it is so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Smothered Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Made this with leftover rotissary chicken... Just reheated it in the microwave with the lemon pepper, but left out the salt. I wasn't trying to save time, but that saved about 15 minutes. Otherwise i followed the recipe exactly. The carmelized onions were wonderful, maybe the result of cooking in bacon grease. I served it for lunch on toasted hotdog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
So it's not authentic, but five stars because this is so yummy, easy and used ingredients on hand when I didn't have cream. This also has fewer calories than a full cream version, especially if neufchatel is used. I have made three times now, once subbing Pecorino Romano for the Parmesan, and a disastrous substitute of Provalone on the third time. The Provalone clumped and I had to spoon out disgusting clumps with a large ladle. I managed to salvage the rest by stirring in 2 tablespoons of roux (2 Tbsp. butter & flour cooked together) which dissolved the remaining clumps, and I added a few ounces of Parm at the end. Learn from my goof and don't sub a slicing cheese for the Parm. My picky grandkids, 4, 6 & 7, lapped this up each time, even with canned clams added to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Thirty Minute Cocoa Cake With Quick Cocoa Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This recipe really is THE BOMB ?? ! I did, however, make a couple of substitutions. I used brown sugar and instant coffee ? instead of the cinnamon because both of those ingredients intensify the chocolate ?? flavour. I also doubled the cocoa in the recipe. The frosting is fantastic, but please do remember to sift the icing sugar because the lumps are very hard to get out. Fantastic recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Faucher-Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Photo by JustJoy

Easy Baklava

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
My 17 yr old son and I made this together and cut out the word, PROM? for his official promposal to his Junior Senior Prom. She said Yes and the rest of the family enjoyed every last morsel of what was left over. If my son could make this (he does NOT bake!), anyone can do this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom

Chicken with Sausage Potatoes and Peas

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
yummy!!! delicious comfort food with what i had on hand. thanks for the post BA! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I made these with Easter dinner and they were a hit! So delicious, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Cross Buns I

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Very good, I made as stated and they turned out great. I had them with Easter dinner and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
So good! I made this for Easter this year, bought the bananas a week ahead to make sure they were good and ripe. These were so tasty, everyone gobbled them up! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I made this for Easter this year for the first time and it turned out really well. I did cook it in a roasting bag, mostly for clean up purposes. I cut open the bag for the last 30 minutes to brown even more. Everyone loved it and it was really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Totally delicious! I made this exactly as stated and it was perfect. I made it for the first time for Easter - company and all - and everyone loved it. The pecans in the icing was a huge hit. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK

Heinz 57® Copycat

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
VERY GOOD! I tasted this sauce after mixing and I honestly can say I thought it was going to be a loser. I refrigerated it until dinner giving the ingredients time to blend. When served with a steak it was excellent! It truly can compete with any store bought steak sauce. Thank you NWMama for sharing your recipe. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Tuna Curry in a Hurry

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Keeper!! Thanks for the recipe. I've recently started eating low-carb, and this recipe fits right in to my new lifestyle. I prefer red bell peppers over the green, so I used that, and I used 2 TBS of dried, minced onion - just because I didn't feel like cutting up a fresh onion. Other than that, I didn't make any changes. I also would suggest that you can substitute cooked chicken for the tuna, if desired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
WINNER! Something as simple as garlic and butter makes such a nice touch to an ordinary steak. I used my microwave to melt the butter and garlic. It was much easier than having to dirty a saucepan. A very basic recipe but a WINNER nevertheless! Thank you Solana for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This is great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexikaleema

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I must have done something wrong this recipe did not work for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexikaleema

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gazpacho

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
We skipped the tarragon, basil & parsley and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Matt's Chicken Adobo

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
i really loved this. simple and very flavorful. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States