Omaha - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Black Beans with Bacon Plus

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
What a great multi-purpose recipe!!! While I have a pressure cooker, I opted to make these in the crock pot today, taking some others advice about some shortcuts. I used 2 cans of black beans, one can of petite diced tomatoes (drained), and I sauted the onion, carrot and garlic in a little of the bacon grease. I added a few drops of Louisiana hot sauce, and a drop of liquid smoke, in addition to about 1/4 tsp of ancho chili powder, and a little Arizona Dreaming spice from Penzey's. It smells and tastes wonderful! I could easily add a little chicken and cheese and make this into a burrito, or just roll this into a tortilla by itself. I'm actually considering eating some of it with chips this afternoon. And that's all above just being a wonderful side dish with something else. A very worthwhile dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Leftover Ham -n- Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This was so yummy!! Very simple but extremely tasty! Both my husband and son liked it. I used golden potatoes, which I think made a better choice than regular Russets. I also used half-and-half instead of the milk. It's what was on hand and it worked great! I have made this twice in the past few months and will continue to make it - it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ferrell Horwich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Cream Cheese Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I made the recipe as is, except I had no jalapenos, so I used a can of green chiles that I had and my husband and I really enjoyed it! I never thought of adding cream cheese, but it was really good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blencoe, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Peanut Blossoms II

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
So soft and delicious. This recipe also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfalke
Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Beer Bread Mix

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I have used this recipe for years and years. It is always a crowd pleaser. I've also made it with different sodas, even orange soda once when I was desperate! You can add a handful of cheddar cheese too, which gives it a nice flavor for a beer bread. It's excellent as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfalke
Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Creme Fraiche

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Mine turns out thick and creamy even using ultra-pasteurized cream. Definitely an upgrade to standard sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

San Francisco Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I followed the advice of the majority of reviewers by cutting back on the cooking time and decreasing the amount of soy sauce and upping the beef broth. I regularly decrease soy sauce amounts in recipes as I usually find listed amounts too salty. Wish I'd omitted the oil called for in the sauce preparation. It wasn't needed as there was an ample amount left in the pan after browning the chops. I'll definitely make this again with these changes as the taste is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by aputler

Chorizo and Chicken Skewers

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These are terrific as-is! I think next time, I'll go total caveman and thread some thick cut bacon on them too. Total party food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Oven-Roasted Turkey Breast

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Just so-so. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen Wiehl

Super Squash

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I must absolutely give this 5 stars. Before we put it in the oven, we tasted it and thought, "Yeah, this is okay." After the oven? Oh, my goodness! We can't stop eating it! I used a combo of yellow and green squash and the ONLY other things I did differently was to use a seasoned stuffing mix (store brand Stove Top - chicken flavor) and I only added one onion (but it was a BIG onion). Served this tonight with a roasted chicken, but I think the casserole was the star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wiehl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pud's Potato Soup

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This soup is simple to make, cheap and good! What more could you ask for? The only changes I made were adding some dried parsley (because I'm trying to use it up!) and thickening it a little with a flour slurry. I just really wish I had some crackers on hand! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Salad with Mint, Almonds and Cranberries

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I loved this recipe! I added 2 cooked, diced chicken breasts and it made the perfect entree for a warm summer evening! I will be making this again, and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buster Bar Ice Cream Dessert

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Love this recipe! I always make it for get togethers with friends and family. The chocolate sauce on the top is rich and fudge-like, a nice finishing touch to the delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfalke
Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Absolutely spectacular. This was dessert for Memorial Day, 2014. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it came out perfectly. My oven bakes faster than most recipes, so the roll dough was done at about 25 minutes. If you are looking for an easy desert that will impress your friends and family with minor effort, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Roasted Apples and Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
It was easy to make and a bit hit. Left out the salt and pepper because I am watching my salt and one of my guests is allergic to pepper. It was delicious. I used very little olive oil as well. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdavis0621

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Fantastic flavors! Ended up in the marinade for about 8 hours which seemed to suit my wife and I just fine. Made Sarah's Rice Pilaf and small tossed salad as a side. I wonder how this would be grilled. May be my next experiment :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I should have known. The cooking time was too long. I overcooked the chops. Though they were still tasty, they would have been far better if they hadn't been overcooked. I'm not blaming the recipe writer; each oven is different and ours usually cooks things faster than most. Next time, I'll turns the chops at 25 minutes and check them again at 45 minutes. I could have also used a thermometer. That's what I get for multitasking, packing and cooking at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Chocolate Surprise Cupcakes

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I love these! Such a nice change from the standard cupcake. I've made them for my son's birthday party and will be doing so again this year. Everyone raved about them, and the leftovers were gobbled up in just a few days. They're also great with a cream cheese frosting or butter cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfalke
Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Taco Filling

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Basic, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Seafood Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I forgot the peas, which would have added color and another flavor nuance, but this is an excellent salad. Next time, I will increase the dressing, because the mixture becomes a bit dry with so many ingredients. I used crab meat and small shrimp, which made the recipe more of a true seafood salad rather than just crab salad. I highly recommend the recipe. This will become another staple in my salad recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States