Omaha - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Tasted great but took a bit longer to get a nice crust than is let on. And if you're dealing with real potatoes (not just frozen already prepped) you're going to deal with a longer prep time. I'd advise doing up the roué with the butter and flour first and then adding the rest to save time/flavor as well. I also melted a bit more cheese into it and then sprinkled some on top. Seriously, you can not have too much cheese with potatoes. Otherwise, this recipe is a great one to play with, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shotwench

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sutton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Fried Cabbage

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Like most others, I omitted the oil. I used an entire package of bacon, which I felt was the perfect amount once crisped. I used a smaller head of organic cabbage and it took a LOT longer to cook down to the texture I wanted, even cooking with a lid on. Even though I browned the the onions and cabbage in the bacon grease, it still didn't produce the bacon flavor I was expecting. I added some garlic powder to the cabbage while cooking, subbed about 1 T brown sugar, and added a few splashes of red wine vinegar as I generally do when frying cabbage. Served with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread, which was a fantastic pairing! Overall, the taste was just ok; I'll try again with a different brand of bacon. I still have high hopes for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Used this recipe on hubby's birthday cake (Black Magic Cake from this site), and it was pretty good! Easy to throw together. I did have to refrigerate it for a bit to get it to the texture I wanted in order to frost the cake, but it set up and spread very easily. A good alternative to traditional buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made this for my chocolate-loving hubby's birthday. Perfectly moist and with a spot-on texture, this will be my go-to chocolate cake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is exactly what I expected a traditional cornbread to be. I like mine sweeter, which this recipe delivered. Followed recipe to the letter, except for using 2 T vinegar to sour my milk since I didn't have buttermilk. Served along Southern Fried Cabbage, also from this site, which is a great pairing! I will definitely make this cornbread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Cilantro Tomato Corn Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is tasty either as a side dish or as a garnish for other meat or seafood. I don't know that the butter is particularly necessary. Yes, it may add a slight richness to the flavor, but it also adds calories too. I will probably leave the butter out or reduce it next time. I used fresh tomatoes, corn, and jalapeno peppers, which really jacked up the freshness factor of this recipe. It's refreshing and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Crunchy Oven Fried Tilapia

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written, and as other reviewers have noted, the flavor was rather bland. I will follow other reviewers recommendations or add some of my own to jack up the flavor a notch or two next time. If you have a perky side dish or two, that's another way to overcome the relative blandness of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Cedar Planked Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
OMG This is one of the best recipes I have tried on AR. And, I have been on here for probably 10-years. Thanks so much for sharing. Can't wait to make this for friends & family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet McGregor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Calhoun, Nebraska, USA

Finnish Turnip Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I really like this; my grandma would make something like this but it wasn't a sweet version. So I used this as a base. Instead of adding sugar I added dill and a pinch of cinnamon. I also did not make a topping to it. It turned out a nice savory version of this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Beer and Gouda and Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I was so sad about this recipe! I thought it had very little flavor and I even increased each cheese to 2 cups as other reviewers suggested. It was floavorless & thin. Nothing like other Beer and Gouda Soups I have had. I don't think there is anyway to save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraElizabeth
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Made these this morning for visiting family members they loved them! Reminded them of ones that our mother used to make. Easy to make I turned them into poppyseed kolaches our family favorite! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I made this recipe last weekend for my family who came for a visit. All I can say is it was so good I had to share leftovers. I'll be sure and make this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet McGregor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Calhoun, Nebraska, USA

Angel Hair Pasta with Peppers and Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
It was okay, nothing really special. I would have liked a bit more spice to it, perhaps some Italian seasonings? Maybe chunks of freshly sautéed tomatoes. I think almost any fresh vegetable could be thrown in . . . but it needs more than what the recipe here suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Just made these with my daughter. I used 2 cups white sugar 1 cup brown. OMG nice dark chocolate taste. chewy fudgy amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emzmommie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Cajun Mahi Mahi

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This recipe is the bomb. I used the frozen mahi mahi from Costco and it tasted like fresh. Very good. And the garnish was spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Mom's Best Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was indescribably good. My whole family enjoyed it. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Grilled Lemon Yogurt Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made this a second time to see if I got the same results as the first time. The answer was yes. The chicken comes out moist and tender, however the flavor seems a little off. I'm not sure how to get a handle on it. Maybe try a different brand of Greek yogurt? I would say that it's better cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Crumb-Coated Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I make this over and over again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKEPETE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon-Parsley Green Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This is a great recipe for using fresh green beans. This time of year, I also like to add some home-grown Sweet 100 Cherry Tomatoes added at the end and cooked until softened. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I found it really tasty! I'm a big fan of the flavor of browned butter, so toasting the orzo in the butter prior to reconstituting it really made this dish in my opinion. I made the recipe exactly as written - I would definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States