Omaha - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy OREO Truffles

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Make these for holidays. Love that Oreo has come out with so many new flavors... yum and totally addicting... giving away all of them this year, trying to keep the holiday pounds off lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Chicken Orzo Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Will this recipe replace my normal chicken soup recipe? No, but I did appreciate trying this version. I followed the general consensus to reduce the lemon (I used 1/4 c) but will use the full amount next time. I also zested 1/2 a medium-sized lemon and added it too. Preferring thighs in chicken soup, I "crockpotted" 1lb of them and seasoned them with pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. When done, I shredded it and added it along with fresh spinach (torn into smaller pieces) to the soup a few minutes before serving. I boiled the orzo separately so I could add it when making leftovers. I replaced the thyme with marjoram, as I prefer it in chicken soup. This recipe makes a solid, hearty soup which my hubby (who wasn't feeling well) and daughter and I enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I love this spice mixture! It has become my go-to spice, particularly for poultry, ever since I found this recipe. I make up a whole jar of it and just keep it in my spice cupboard :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Verenika

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Finally! This is how my grandma made them (we called them kaysnip). We served them with sour cream and breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shotwench

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sutton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cowboy Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My 6 year-old DD helped me make these after school today. We both liked them a lot! Like other reviewers, I used extra oats, real butter, and vanilla. I subbed a combo of coconut oil & applesauce for the oil. Bummed I didn't have butterscotch morsels, I used 3/4 semisweet chocolate chips instead. Very good and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar)

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Like many previous reviewers, I too, was skeptical about the spices, but I followed the recipe closely (which is odd for me), and used the optional spices. I deviated slightly by using 1c panko and all lean ground beef (what I had on hand). Instead of all chicken broth, I did use 1/2 beef and chicken base (Better Than Bouillion brand). The meatballs turned out perfectly! The gravy, however, I tweaked a bit by adding the same spices used in the meat mixture (including the brown sugar). I also used a cornstarch slurry to thicken to the consistency I wanted. After removing it from the heat, I briskly whisked in about 1/8c sour cream, tasting as I went. Perfect!! Husband asked me to definitely make again, and I wholeheartedly agree. It will absolutely remain on our fall/winter dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Banana Fritters

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
With 4 VERY overripe bananas to use, and wanting something other than banana bread on this snowy day, I came across this recipe. I guess I expecting the same texture as apple fritters, but what I got were greasy little banana pancakes. Don't get me wrong; they were tasty (very pronounced banana flavor, which was awesome!) and will be eaten, however, they weren't even remotely close to what I expected a banana "fritter" to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was the "BEST" meatball recipe I have ever tried. I overdid it on the Oregano which was my own fault. I will not do that again. But, thanks so much for sharing this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet McGregor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Calhoun, Nebraska, USA

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I used Johnathon apples and sprinkled a little extra white sugar and cinnamon over the apples and dotted them with butter before covering them with the oat topping. I melted the butter and crumbled it over the apples. It was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Valley, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This was a really good recipe. I left out the rolls and just made a dip out of it. Served it with Fritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet McGregor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Calhoun, Nebraska, USA
Photo by aputler

Country-Style Steak

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
An incredibly simple and delicious recipe. I buy pre-tenderized cube steaks from the local grocer which yields an even more tender steak. Also sliced a medium yellow onion into ¼ thick rings and layered them in the pan under the steaks. Served with red & yellow mashed potatoes and fresh vegetable medley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Man, this is the way apple crisp ought to taste. So hearty, rustic, and substantial. A co-worker gave my wife a box of apples and this was a great way to use some of them. I forgot to add the water, but it wasn't a problem. I may use half the water called for next time, but even without it, the apple crisp was plenty moist. You cannot go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Caramel Pretzel Nut Popcorn

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! I reduced the size down to 4 servings since I had only 1 cup of chopped pretzels. I didn't account for the small amount of caramel, so I burned my first batch of caramel. The second time I only boiled the sugar mixture until golden brown and proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I would also recommend using dry roasted peanuts. I grabbed cocktail peanuts because it was what I had available and they won't stick to the caramel. Despite this, I am going to have a hard time saving this popcorn for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Moist and delicious. I followed the recipe as written and would not change a thing. My wife and son both gave two thumbs up. Between the three of us, the muffins lasted about a half day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Shrimp and Avocado Wraps

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Love the dressing mix! A versatile recipe that can be easily modified to suit your taste. I like to use regular mayo, add 1/4 tsp old bay and 1/8 tsp cayenne and omit the salt and pepper for the dressing, top with sliced cherry tomato and crumble 6 strips bacon for the four servings. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This rice was the closest I've found to what you get in most restaurants. We loved it as is - although as another reviewer suggested, I added the onion in with the rice to get them cooked down - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blencoe, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
We made this as is and it was wonderful! I didn't feel like they were a lot of work at all. I made the chicken earlier in the day, and after I shredded it and put it back in the pan with the broth and seasonings, I covered it and put it in the refrigerator. Then, when I was ready to make dinner, I just reheated it and the rest all went together very quickly! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blencoe, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Spinach Tomato Tortellini

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made this almost exactly as written...except my family expects meat...so I added shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Used 5 skinless boneless chicken breasts following the directions as given. Baked at 375 degrees for about an hour. Delicious! Crispy outside and moist inside. Will try next time with chicken nuggets and mayonise instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This really had great flavor! I made exactly as the recipe states, except I did not blend it either. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blencoe, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States