Omaha - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cinnamon Coffee Cake II

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Good, simple, coffee cake. Followed the steps exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Muffin Cups

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Very good, simple recipe. Added a couple minutes to the first hashbrown baking step. Will likely add a couple more minutes next time so they get crispier. I might not have pushed them down enough in the muffin pan. They didn't fall apart, stayed in the muffin shape. Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Lemon Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
The flavor of these cookies is fine, but not out of this world. If you are making a wide variety of cookies and wish to throw these in the mix, go ahead. As part of a cookie buffet, they are fine, but they should not be the star of their own show. The texture was good for a day or so right out of the oven, but they tend to harden after a couple of days. Maybe I left them in the oven too long. I am not a cookie virtuoso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Shiny Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This icing recipe is amazing. It's closer to transparent than most icing, which makes whatever you are frosting aesthetically pleasing. The icing is thin, but not so thin that it slides off the cookies. It solidifies quickly. I used this recipe for Blue Ribbon Sugar Cookies, which is also available at the allrecipes website. The volume of this recipe is small, so if you have a bigger job, make sure to adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Blue Ribbon Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Man, these were a huge hit. My family of three snarfed the whole batch down in about two days. The first batch was a little thin, so I adjusted the thickness of the rest of the batches, and the rest turned out perfectly. I was not able to get the sugar to adhere to the bottom of the glass, so I just sprinkled a little sugar on top of each cookie after smashing them down. I used Shiny Cookie Icing, a recipe available on allrecipes, and it was a perfect match. I see no reason to deviate from this recipe of cookie perfection, so I will have it available every Christmas going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Festive JELL-O Popcorn Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Good and easy. Mistakenly bought the 6oz boxes of jello. Used 6 tablespoons of butter and same amount of marshmallows. Turned out well but the jello flavor was to strong. 3oz of jello is plenty. Used microwave popcorn. Standard 3oz bag produced about 8 cups of popped popcorn when the uncooked and half-cooked kernels were removed. Used 3 bags to make 2 batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy OREO Truffles

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Excellent, and easy! Make sure to freeze the balls before dipping, so they don't fall apart in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shredded Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
i don't like sprouts. I can count on 1 hand how many times I've eaten sprouts in the last (ahem) years, and have fingers left over. I loved these. I only made a pound, and I added garlic, but I ate them all. Every. Single. Bite. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Didn't have almonds, used walnuts instead. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These truly are the best sugar cookies. Well, right after my mom's. She's in heaven now, but the memories make hers the star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet McGregor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Calhoun, Nebraska, USA

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Great recipe... added garlic powder and Italian seasonings. Made three 12 inch pizzas for the kids. So yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Good, not great. Might make it again without the sour cream layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Robbi's M&M Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
The shortening I had on hand was old and I didnt trust it. Used butter instead which worked just fine. Didnt have a problem with the cookies spreading at all, but because they didnt they were a bit doughy even after full cooking time and sitting on the pan a few extra min. I didnt find them overly sweet at all. Im always nervous trying a new recipe but I would make these again. Perfect for a night of baking with the kids before the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Photo by zeta724

Barbie Doll Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Perfect...with one and a half cake mixes in a pampered chef bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeta724
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Followed directions exactly. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Turkey Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I knew garam masala would give it a curry taste and smell, but for me it didn't fit this type of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinara Meatball Subs

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
What a great idea for something different on game day. I prepared these for the Nebraska/Iowa football game, 2014. We used Mr. C's locally produced spaghetti sauce, which is a sweet sauce, which we love. I'm not sure they would be as tasty with straight marinara sauce. The meatballs were rustic and delicious, though I may add more salt and pepper or other spices next time. Though delicious, with more spice they would have had more pizzazz. I did have provolone cheese available, which I put underneath the meatballs. Obviously, these sandwiches are a little messy, so we had a fork at the ready to make eating a bit easier. Make sure you purchase good bread, which makes all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Easy OREO Truffles

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Make these for holidays. Love that Oreo has come out with so many new flavors... yum and totally addicting... giving away all of them this year, trying to keep the holiday pounds off lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Chicken Orzo Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Will this recipe replace my normal chicken soup recipe? No, but I did appreciate trying this version. I followed the general consensus to reduce the lemon (I used 1/4 c) but will use the full amount next time. I also zested 1/2 a medium-sized lemon and added it too. Preferring thighs in chicken soup, I "crockpotted" 1lb of them and seasoned them with pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. When done, I shredded it and added it along with fresh spinach (torn into smaller pieces) to the soup a few minutes before serving. I boiled the orzo separately so I could add it when making leftovers. I replaced the thyme with marjoram, as I prefer it in chicken soup. This recipe makes a solid, hearty soup which my hubby (who wasn't feeling well) and daughter and I enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I love this spice mixture! It has become my go-to spice, particularly for poultry, ever since I found this recipe. I make up a whole jar of it and just keep it in my spice cupboard :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States