Omaha - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Surprise

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
When attempting to eat healthy, it's often a challenge to find heart healthy recipes. Chicken Surprise, which can easily function as the main course or an excellent side dish, is certainly a versatile recipe that falls under the healthy umbrella. My only addition was a little Cajun seasoning, which was a good choice. Next time, I'll use diced tomatoes rather than stewed tomatoes. The diced tomatoes provide smaller and more numerous tomato chunks. It seems like stewed tomatoes have five or six hunks of tomato, which means the tomato isn't dispersed well throughout the dish. I expected a very average flavor from the dish, and was pleasantly surprised. The poultry seasoning added a ton of flavor without being overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Mediterranean Three Bean Salad

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I am a bean salad fan, but of all the bean salads I've had in my life, this ranks in the bottom tier. It wasn't horrible, and my wife rated it higher than me. I would prepare this again as a decent side dish, particularly as a heart healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Superfast Asparagus

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
So simple and easy. Two ingredients? But don't let the small number of ingredients lead you astray. I was concerned that the Cajun seasoning may be too strong, so I didn't use much on my initial try. Next time, I'll use more seasoning. An excellent side dish, but my son had only the asparagus for supper. He said it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Chicken In Basil Cream

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Just made this on Sunday. I must admit, I didn't want to run to the store, so I did not have any pimentos and the only fresh herb I had on hand was Sage, so I substituted that. Delicious!! Will definitely make again. My husband even drizzled some of the sauce on his potato and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blencoe, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

New Wife Tuna Salad

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Love tuna, check. Love celery, check. Love hard-cooked eggs, check. Love dill pickle (I mince two baby dill pickles instead of the relish), check. Old Bay instead of seasoned salt, check. The wife and I love this recipe and like to make “tuna wraps” with it. Use large flour tortillas covered with a single layer of large lettuce leaves. Spoon the tuna salad onto the lettuce. (I add halved cherry tomatoes too) and fold up like any other wrap. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Seared Scallops with Corn Cream

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Very tasty! Just a bit too much brown sugar for my taste but otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dday515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All American Roast Beef

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Reminded me of my childhood when big family dinners were more common, I was nervous but it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Made these for a st pat's day potluck, put it into a crockpot after cooking in oven using 1 readers suggestions for making them more crispy using foil lined dark pan. My potatoes went first by a long shot and everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus Parmesan

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Tried this at last family get together and thought I made more than twice what was needed so I could have leftovers, we'll guess what, there were none! Everyone loved it and it was so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp and Pasta Shell Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I've been looking for a good seafood salad recipe but could never find one that suited my taste buds. But I love this one! Very fresh! I used the small already cooked salad shrimp though which was more economical and a time saver, didn't have cayenne so used some chili - lime seasoning, also used red, yellow and orange peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
This frosting is a perfect companion to chocolate cupcakes! My husband couldn't believe the delicious flavor the frosting provided. I made sure all of my ingredients were softened before mixing. The consistency turned out well. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfalke
Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wow! Sweet and Sour Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This was one of the best Sweet & Sour recipes I have tried. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet McGregor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Calhoun, Nebraska, USA

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
The wife and I love cabbage. I added the garlic only AFTER the onions were translucent since I didn’t want to chance burning it. Also added a teaspoon of caraway seeds after the cabbage was stirred in. Caraway works well with green cabbage recipes. Got the idea from one of our favorites “Westphalian Cabbage”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Creamy German Coleslaw

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Thanks, Catherine, for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
We thought this recipe was fine, but nothing spectacular. My wife detected the slight citrus flavor with the lemon pepper seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Strawberry Fruit Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I use this recipe every time I make a fruit tray and everyone always loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This Hawaiian raised girl LOVES this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Popper Spread

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Best served in a crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Onion Ranch Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was GONE super fast! I only did 15 green onions, but it was still FAB! Try it! I may even try making it a dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States