Kansas City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cockaleekie Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I started with half a teaspoon of cloves and would only do a pinch next time. This makes a rich and tasty stock but the end result needs more substance in my opinion. The cook's notes state that potato or parsnips can be added but I decided to add celery and carrots back into the soup and didn't add them until the last 30 minutes of cook time. As written I can only give this 3 stars but it is easily tweaked and has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

McDonald's® Tartar Sauce Copycat

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I HATE sweet relish and so I usually shy away from tartar sauce because of that reason so this one appealed to me in a big way. I like capers and typically have them on hand but was certain that Mickey D's would NOT use capers and this would not taste anything like their sauce. WRONG! Spot on! No, BETTER! The recipe submitter mentioned it turning out a little too runny and my solution to that was really smashing the relish against the jar before adding it to the recipe to eliminate some of the excess liquid. Hands down this is the best tartar sauce EVER and I am thrilled to be the first reviewer. I will make this often with my catfish. Thanks duboo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Totchos Libre

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Instead of baking the tots in the oven I cooked them in my waffle iron which made a fun presentation and also sped up cooking time. I did put them under the broiler as directed for the finishing touch. My avocado had gone bad on me and I didn't know it until it was too late but next time I will be sure to have one. This was fun and a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This is the best soup! I only added 1/2 tsp. white pepper and that was perfect. Wouldn't want any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marzale Adams Fosdick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Chinese Ham Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Use the water you soak your mushrooms in for additional flavor. I didn't have anywhere near 5 pounds of pork leg so I added 1/2 pound of ground pork that needed used up. I also had some shaved carrots that needed used and I added them in the last 20 minutes of cooking. This turned out a lot better than I expected and is something I would make again. I had the leftover today and added a generous squirt of Sriracha and that added a nice touch as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Lavash Cracker Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Really enjoyed this recipe! Used my pizza stone to bake the dough on. Made the perfect base for a thin and crispy pizza. Accidently made the best pita bread with one round that didn't get properly docked which was great as I have tried on purpose to make pitas and failed. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Southern Fried Cabbage

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is a keeper for us. I followed reviewers' suggestions by stir frying the cabbage alone first and by adding a tbsp sugar, 1/8 cup white but vinegar, a little paprika and red pepper flakes. Then, I added hot sauce to my own bowl, because I like it hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUMMALUVN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Red Wine Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
We really enjoyed this recipe and served it next to a mushroom pilaf (from foodnetwork). Ok, full disclosure..this is a great excuse to open a bottle of wine on a weeknight. I didn't measure the paprika or brown sugar; instead I just rubbed it on until it seemed "right" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUMMALUVN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Special K

Low Carb Jambalaya

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Made this and did not change anything. One of the best jambalaya recipes I've made and low carb. All the ingredients were wonderful with the perfect amount of Cajun seasoning. This is one we will definitely make again and again and again.......well you get the point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Special K
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Muffin Cups

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Yum!! Love these. I will be making more of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cod au Gratin

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Ater reading the recipe I knew the sauce would be too bland for my family so I took the liberty of adding some seasoning to flavor the sauce. I would have given this recipe a 5 star rating but boiling the fish prior made it seem overcooked after being in the oven. It was good enough to consider making it a second time so next time I will skip the boiling process (even if that is the traditional way to prepare it). My additions to the sauce were garlic powder, dry mustard and a dash of worchestershire sauce. I also added flavored panko breadcrumb to the top, cut down on the cheese by 1/2 cup and mixed sharp cheddar with mozzarella cheese. Overall this was a nice addition to add to my recipe box and something different to do with Cod fish considering I had only ever battered and fried it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Lyn's Chill Chaser Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I have a couple of suggestions for this recipe that I think will be helpful. First of all I was extremely impressed with how much flavor came out of something I put so little effort into. To make things more simple, there is no need to dirty up 3 pots and it can all be done in one. Brown your sausage in your soup pot and then add all other ingredients except the pasta and the parm. Add your pasta to the pot in the last 10-15 minutes cooking time and there you go. One thing I highly recommend is to skip the butter altogether. The sausage and pepperoni yield plenty of grease (almost too much) and the butter is simply not needed. While this is SO simple and effortless for all of the flavor it packs, I think adding some fresh herb such as parsley, basil, oregano, etc. would step the flavor up even that much more. If you were so inclined to chop up some green bell pepper I think that would work nicely too. I used Ditalini pasta because that is what I had but imagine any dry pasta would work just fine. If you like pizza and you like soup that appears you have fussed over it for hours, give this one a try. Thanks for sharing FISHINLYN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Hot Shrimp Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I wish I would have read the reviews before making this one. I squeezed out as much water out of my shrimp as I could both before chopping and after I chopped it and my finished dip was still watery. It looked pretty when I pulled it out of the oven but as soon as you got past the top layer of cheese it was sitting in water and oil. Adding cream cheese would have been a quick fix but I didn't have any so I stirred it around until the top layer of cheese melted into the dip and then just kept adding cheese and sticking it into the micro until it was thick enough to spoon onto toast. Because of all the added cheese to thicken, this didn't have a dominant shrimp flavor as it should have. This dip has potential but needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Chipotle Smashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I've made these many times throughout the years and I love them. I recommend using only one chipotle pepper though unless you like things super spicy. I went ahead and used two this go around and I will be going back to one. Also if you only use one, you can replace pepperjack cheese for the white cheddar which is nice variety too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Wow, these were fun to make. I have never tried this before and it turned out great. My daughter requested that I buy some of these, and I thought why not make my own. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

BLOTCHE aka Widow maker

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Made as written except that I only had plain white bread and I also chose to only butter one side of the bread and leave the bacon grease out of it. LOVED the flavor the green onions made melted with the cheese. The one problem I did have was getting my cheese to melt but that might have been fault to my cheap bread which browned so quick. This is one you wouldn't want to eat on a weekly basis but it sure makes for a nice treat once in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Leek and Onion Vegetable Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This was super simple and tasted ten times better than any pre-made onion soup dip. I really liked the deep onion flavor the leek soup mix gave it. The one thing I thought this recipe was missing was some color. I think a teaspoon of chopped fresh herbs would really make this dip pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Lobster Tails in Champagne

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Made this recipe right after Christmas and it was amazing! The champagne heavy cream sauce is to die for. Followed the recipe exactly and was very easy to make. Will be making for my sweetheart on Valentine's Day this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Special K
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cajun Potato Wedges

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Not sure what makes these Cajun but these are all of the ingredients I use when I fry potatoes in a skillet for breakfast so I thought why not? Mine got a little too done however I cut them in hearts for Valentines Day instead of wedges as the recipe calls for so mine were much thinner and it was my own fault for not checking on them more frequently. Great basic recipe for roasted potatoes in the oven. Get creative and add some herbs if you dare...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States