Kansas City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Crawfish-Stuffed Jalapenos

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I must have got a batch of extra hot jalapenos because the heat overpowered everything else which was disappointing. I will definitely use smaller peppers next time and might even try doing this with pablano's for more of a chile rellenos type stuffed pepper. These are time consuming so plan ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Triple Mushroom and Carrot Medley

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This was excellent and any combo of mushrooms would work nicely. Next time I make it I might add some water chestnuts to the mix for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Quick Ginger Pork Stir Fry

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Made as written and although I would have preferred fresh veggies over the frozen, it was perfect for a night in which I was pressed for time. The pork stayed SUPER tender and even after being reheated the next day. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Mixed Beans and More

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I'm a little torn on how to rate this recipe. It pulled up under the soup search and bean soup is what I was wanting. If I would have paid closer attention before rushing to the store I would have realized there was not enough liquid to be a soup. That is no fault to the recipe submitter since they are not trying to pass it off as a soup. That being said, I made as written to start out with only one substitution which was celery in place of the bell peppers because I like celery in my bean "soup". I left out the optional corn and used our preferred bean blend. This would make for a very good pork and beans type dinner. It was a little too sweet for my liking but then again I don't care for the traditional pork and beans/barbeque beans. I think this would be an excellent dish to take to a potluck and probably the first thing to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Chicken Katsu

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Winner winner chicken dinner! Made as written except that I used chicken breast tenderloins so that I didn't have to do any pounding. These turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Caramelized Frog Legs

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Made as written and this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I've made these numerous times and they turn out great. If the rolls are rolled tight the cinnamon/butter gooey insides will not be on the bottom of the pan. These are absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Goulash Supreme

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is a go to for me! I usually don't add the tomato paste, if I do I add half the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal porter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was pretty easy to make and very yummy! This is a Family Favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal porter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Style Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I have tried this one a couple times. I cut my chicken into pieces and season it. I like to add sliced fresh mushrooms and sliced onions. I season my layers and I add my cheese about 25 minutes into cooking. This one is a keeper for me for sure! Thank You for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal porter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy White Chili

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Yum!! This chili was a huge hit at our house. Everyone loved it. I will be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This turned out good. I have never had Tzatziki sauce before, so I'm not sure how it is supposed to taste, but we liked it. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Pita Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Wow, these tasted great. They were a little difficult to make, I had to add a lot more flour then what was called for, before I could get the right consistency. While cooking them, mine did not puff up very much, so I had trouble getting the pockets in mine. I had to use my finger to force the bread to open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I will never have to go out for a hot fudge sundae again! Better than I could have imagined. I didn't add the vanilla, but did add a pinch of salt. I cut the recipe in half and had enough to fill a pint mason jar. I don't own a blender, so I used my immersion stick in the pan I cooked it in. It was smooth and thick, perfect texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Healthier Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Made as written and this was delish! I made another batch but used a different "heat" source and it was delicious too. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Andouille, Shrimp, and Chicken Jambalaya

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Made as written and my only complaint was that this was just a tad too spicy and salty. I think the Tony's should be cut back to one tablespoon and that would solve both issues. Other than that, this was perfect. Cooking the rice in broth makes all the difference in the world when it comes to flavor. Thanks for sharing Mandybelcanto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Chinese Pork Dumplings

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Made as written and these turned out perfect! The dish is not complete without the dipping sauce so don't skip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Pan Fried Daikon Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I must not have drained my radishes enough because my mixture ended up being too wet to form into patties. I added a little more breadcrumbs and then pressed the mix into small rectangular dishes and stuck them in the freezer for an hour before trying to fry. These turned out very good. I think I will try adding diced shrimp next time for added flavor but good as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cockaleekie Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I started with half a teaspoon of cloves and would only do a pinch next time. This makes a rich and tasty stock but the end result needs more substance in my opinion. The cook's notes state that potato or parsnips can be added but I decided to add celery and carrots back into the soup and didn't add them until the last 30 minutes of cook time. As written I can only give this 3 stars but it is easily tweaked and has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

McDonald's® Tartar Sauce Copycat

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I HATE sweet relish and so I usually shy away from tartar sauce because of that reason so this one appealed to me in a big way. I like capers and typically have them on hand but was certain that Mickey D's would NOT use capers and this would not taste anything like their sauce. WRONG! Spot on! No, BETTER! The recipe submitter mentioned it turning out a little too runny and my solution to that was really smashing the relish against the jar before adding it to the recipe to eliminate some of the excess liquid. Hands down this is the best tartar sauce EVER and I am thrilled to be the first reviewer. I will make this often with my catfish. Thanks duboo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States