Kansas City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is excellent! I made it for my family and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Mexican Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
It took me making another Mexican type stuffed pepper from this site to realize how much I appreciated this one and the simplicity of it. There is a lot of flavor here with little effort. I don't feel it serves as a main dish as some of the others do but it makes for a perfect tasty side dish to serve with your Mexican food. I plan on making this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Mexican Chicken Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
There was a lot going on in this recipe but oddly enough the flavors worked okay. What didn't work for me was the 2 hours and 10 minutes of time invested just to end up with a so so dish. Also, my chicken was nice and tender after it simmered in the beer but after the total cook time of 1 hour 50 minutes, it was completely dried out. I think this recipe has potential but as written I cannot give it more than 3 stars. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Solid base. Needed more flavor and something to make it more filling. So i added to it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Good for quick and easy. I will need to triple the recipe in the future. Used 2 cans cream of chicken and a box of low sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Popa's Simple White Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I grew up on white beans and still prefer them over red and black to this day. I am also a big fan of green chilies so I knew with a quick glance of the ingredients that this was going to be a darn good chili. It seems a lot of people translate green chilies and green enchilada sauce into "too hot" but that really isn't the case in this recipe. Made as written this recipe was super simple, packed full of flavor, fuss free, and perfect for days you don't have much time to spend in the kitchen. Bonus is that it is friendly enough for the entire family yet more heat can easily be added to the individual bowl of anyone desiring more spiciness. Thanks for the great recipe bd.weld!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Dijon-Bacon Dip for Pretzels Recipe

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I've made this dip, per recipe, several times and it's awesome! Everyone, kids included, loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Crispy Chipotle Roasted Smashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I used baby golds and my oh my these were tasty! I tried to take a short cut by sticking the oil/chipotle mix in my mini food processor instead of digging out my blender but it never fully blended (my fault) that way. You could really taste the richness of the corn oil in this recipe and the amount of heat was perfect for us. I will be making these often...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Yum, made this last night to go with the Chicken Pot Pie that I made for dinner. Worked wonderful. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Slow Cooker Chicken Pozole Blanco

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I've had Pozole numerous times but it never has done much for me. I've always thought it was because I'm not a huge fan of hominy but there is something about this recipe that changed my opinion on the matter. This was EXCELLENT! The only change I made is that I used the last of my Poblano pepper from the garden but it would have been just as good with jalapeno. This is one that needs no tweaking just don't forget the toppings. This will be my go to Pozole recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Slow Cooker Chicken Tinga Tacos

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Tinga is one of our favorites and this one is the best on this site. There is only one flaw in this recipe and it is a big one in my opinion that might detour people from trying this and that is the "ready in" 10 hours 20 minutes. This has got to be a typo so please do not let it fool you. Plan for 4 hours max because this is all you need. Don't skimp on the toppings and I promise that you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Salted Caramel Nut Brittle

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Hubby said 5 stars hands down and clean-up was a breeze using the Reynolds Non Stick Foil. The entire sheet of candy lifted right off of the pan without a hiccup. I am 100% sold on this foil. The only problem I ran into was that if you let it sit for two minutes then it gives it too much time to set up and your nuts will not stick properly. I recommend having your nuts chopped and prepared ahead of time and then sprinkling them on immediately. This had such a rich buttery toffee flavor and the topping could easily be changed up with whatever nuts you preferred or had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Easy Flank Steak Fajitas

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I added a few slices of orange bell to the mix for extra color but other than than I made as written. This recipe is super easy and one that would be perfect for a weeknight meal. I marinated the meat for the full hour and was surprised at how well the flavor took. You could taste all of the ingredients in every bite. My only complaint is that 30 minutes cook time on the meat was too long by the time you let it rest. The next time I make this I will only cook it for 20 minutes and then let it rest for a bit. With that being said, this recipe is super easy and sure to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Apple Butter Pork Loin

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Adjusted down on sweetness for our own tastes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Salmon Fillets Dijon

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I think we'd have given this 5 stars w/o the breadcrumbs and butter. That's how I'll be making it from here on out. They weren't necessary and made it a little pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
So good, and easy to make. Followed directions, and turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
So yummy!! Loved making this, and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Puree

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Wow, I was excited to find this. I have never cooked my own pumpkin puree before. This was very helpful. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Boiled Peanuts

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I added a few drops of crab boil to the water and just like the most helpful review mentioned, I turned them off after 2 hours and then let them sit in their brine and tested them every 30 minutes until they were too my liking. Simple recipe and one you can add things to suit your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Chrissy's Tangy Seafood Dip

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I actually forgot about the reviews and made as written with 2 tablespoons of Old Bay and Worcestershire and I didn't find it overwhelming. The only change I made was to add a can of shrimp so I'm not sure if that made a difference or not. It was very good straight out of the oven and although I found the ingredients to be an odd combo, they worked nicely together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States