Kansas City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Creamy Cilantro Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I loved everything about this and will make it over and over again. The possibilities are endless as to what it would go good with. Buttermilk is not something I keep on hand but it is so simple to make your own. Fill a measuring cup just shy of a cup of milk and then add a tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar and let it sit for 10-15 minutes and there you have your cup of "buttermilk". This was great on salad and perfect as a dipping sauce too. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Corn Casserole III

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
So good, we all loved this one. Will make this again. Mine had to cook for about an hour before it was done. I also stirred it after the 40 minutes were up, then cooked it for another 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Mauigirl's Loco Moco

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Made as written except that I thought I had a package of the jasmine rice but I was wrong. The hamburgers were already in the skillet so I substituted a pouch of the Uncle Ben's Ready Rice Basmati and it turned out great too. This recipe is super fast and easy and perfect for those times you don't want to spend much time in the kitchen. And, using the Ready Rice cuts back on mess and clean up too. The caramelized onions compliment the beef and gravy nicely and then the egg on top ties them all together perfectly. Thanks for the great recipe Mauigirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Asian Chicken and Rice Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Nothing beats a refreshing lettuce wrap on a hot summer night! Made as written except that I whipped up my own stir-fry sauce using a combo of soy sauce, oyster sauce, sherry, cornstarch, sesame oil, and ground pepper. This came together so fast and easy and is perfect for nights you don't have much time to spend in the kitchen. I got distracted chopping the veggies and shredding the carrot and totally spaced out the rice until I thought it was too late. Nope! That is the beauty in Uncle Ben's Ready Rice. A minute and half is all you need. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Green Bean Fries with Cucumber Wasabi Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I made exactly as written and was torn on how to rate this recipe but am going with a 4. Lets start with the positive shall we? The wasabi dip is absolutely amazing and goes perfectly with these green beans. The french fried onions were also genius IF you can get them to stick to the bean. Even with the double dipping method I was unable to get the onions or the bread crumbs to stick so I just had clumps of it here and there. I think a tempura batter makes a better coating for fresh veggies but then you'd lose out on the french fried onions in this recipe. One other to add and that is I felt the chicken broth got lost and was an unnecessary expense. I think salted water would work just fine. Overall this was a great recipe and one I will make again with some tweaks. If you like cucumbers and wasabi then you have to try this dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Hot Dog Sausages

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Loved the concept but as written I found this too salty. No, I didn't use onion salt or garlic salt but I made as written. I made 2 batches today. One as written and one with my own tweaks. As written 4 stars and with my tweaks 5. My own batch I did 1 pound of ground beef to 1/2 pound of ground pork, 2 tsp salt, 2 tsp paprika, and 1 tsp of smoked paprika and the rest the same. LOVED this as a way to use up those extra hotdog buns you get in the package. Thanks Chef John and I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cinnamon Roll Popcorn

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Made as written leaving the optional walnuts out and this taste just like a cinnamon roll. I prefer the savory type of popcorn but like to make sweet for the husband sometimes. If you like popcorn and cinnamon rolls you must give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Twenty-Four Hour Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This is a GREAT summertime salad!! Used red onion for color AND flavor!!! Bake a lil corn bread & you re ready to go!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIEMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
So good, I had some fresh peaches to use, so used those. Really good with some whip cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

7-Layer Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
A yummy salad for summer! We loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Balushka or Cabbage and Noodles

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This is really good. I will throw in some extra ham or bacon if I have it, but it is also wonderful as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Yummy!! These turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Asparagus with Parmesan

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Very good and easy to make. This is our favorite way to prepare asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryKRichards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potosi, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Eggplant Tacos

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
These were amazingly good tacos for not having meat in them. Hubby and I are big meat eaters and not big on eggplant but we both enjoyed them very much. The seasonings used are a great way to dress up eggplant. Give this one a try for something fun and unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Creamy Ham and Bean Soup (Gluten Free)

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Great combo of ingredients. I agree with the other reviewer that it needs more broth. I actually left my veggies a little chunky instead of completely blending them and I still ended up needing more liquid. I left both cans of beans undrained and added another cup of broth and that was perfect. I loved the flavor combo and I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Tasty Taco Bean Dip

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I knew by looking at the ingredient list that this would be too sweet for us as written so I substituted a can of pinto beans for one of the cans of baked beans and it still ended up too sweet for our liking. If I make this again I will use only pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Basic Chipotle Chicken Tacos

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
An entire 7 oz. can of chipotle peppers would be inedible in my opinion. These little dudes are spicy and I am a fan of spicy. I used 3 peppers and that was the perfect spiciness for us. I highly recommend starting out with only a couple of peppers and then adding as you go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Baked Cajun Swai Fillets

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Made as written except that I could not find habanero peppers and had to substitute with Serrano's which ended up being a good thing. I think habanero would have been too hot and masked the other great flavors and that is the only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars. This dish is super simple and flavorful and I will make again when my banana peppers from the garden are ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Fajitas On A Stick

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I typically thread my meat separate from the veggies due to cooking time but it actually worked out nicely in this recipe. Food just seems more fun on a stick and I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Grilled Potato Salad with Crazy Steve's Cajun Cukes

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This was a really nice change to the traditional potato salad. My husband said it was the best potato salad he has ever had. If you are using a brand of pickle you have never had before I recommend tasting them first. I couldn't find the brand mentioned in the recipe and bought a different one that ended up being a spicy bread and butter flavor and I dislike bread and butter. This recipe is mostly about the pickle so make sure you like the pickle that is going in. Can't wait to try this again with a different pickle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States