Kansas City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
There are only two of us eating and I usually make tacos or taco salads and then have quite a bit of leftover taco meat. This recipe is a great way to use it up since leftover tacos don't go over so well! I scale this back by 25-50% and use the 1/2-3/4 lb of leftover taco meat then serve with guacamole, chips and homemade salsa (garden tomatoes, garlic, onion, jalapeno, cilantro and salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
The favors are spot on yummy, but I used cheater (canned) beans, reduced cooking time to a little over an hour. Everything else was the same and yummy. Might cut back a smidge on the cayenne as it will be even hotter tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Wow, this was tasty!! Loved it, I would never have thought to make a stir fry with hamburger, but it works. It tasted a lot better than I was expecting. I will make this again for sure. Oh, and I used beef broth instead of the water, about 1 cup so there would be plenty of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brownie In a Mug

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I used vegetable shortening, instead of oil. Found this quick great and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanie12325

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Parkville, Missouri, USA

Teena's Spicy Pesto Chicken and Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I do not change recipes and rate them, so I made as stated. After tasting, however, I added some extra kick ( for personal taste), pine nuts for texture. Other than that, it was great. I would make this for a dinner party. Fast, easy and keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Yum, this fit perfectly for our dinner. I needed to find a recipe with things I had in the pantry. This was perfect. We liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chop and Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I would have given this a 5 star except for two things 1) needed a little more flavor - so 2nd time I made I added a package of dry onion soup mix 2) instant rice makes it mushy so 2nd time I made it I used brown and long grain wild rice and 3) I added a whole can of chicken broth and upped the rice to 1.5 cups since I used 8 palm sized butterfly boneless chops. It was definitely a 5-star recipe with just a little extra seasoning and regular rice. And no I don't like to change a recipe then rate it but if you are going to make it as written, I think you will be disappointed (read the other comments) and it doesn't need to be re-written...just needs a little tweak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Brittle Surprise

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Yum, Yum, Yum!!! So good, I could see myself getting into trouble if I made these too often. I had extra room on my sheet pan, so I used a whole package of crackers (about 42). These turned out really good, I couldn't wait for the hour in the fridge to set up before tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
5 star plus! love making pies and lots of experience doing it but never a key lime pie...super easy & exceptionally yummy recipe. Followed the recipe but reduced sweetened condensed to 2 (used bottled key lime juice) and it turned out perfect all the way around. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIET5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Butt Roast with Vegetables

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was a great meal. We liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pianokeyz

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I've put this into my monthly rotation of cooking for about 4 months and it's always satisfied :) A few tweaks: To make vegan, I went away from the suggestion of coconut milk and instead added 2c Soy Creamer from Trader Joes, no addition of salt (tomato sauce had enough for me), upped the curry to 2 Tsp, upped the # of garlic cloves to 6, and added 1 Tsp of Garam Masala. Served over coconut basmati rice. Excellent, forgiving recipe :) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Wheat Honey Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Wonderful!!! Mine needed about 5 extra minutes to cook, but they turned out very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Not Thousand Island Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Love me some Reuben's but have always disliked Thousand Island dressing due to the sweet relish. I whipped this up while my corned beef was slow cooking and you talk about an awesome Reuben! Hats off to you Mike Harvey. This sauce would be good on many different sandwiches and one I will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Bread Maker Doughnuts

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
These turned out fantastic. The kids loved them. I will have to make more soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was one of the easiest recipes. I increased the confectioners sugar to 1 cup and the brown sugar to 3 tbsp. I also pureed toffee, pecans, almonds and chocolate chips together for the coating. It was a huge hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Turkey Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was fantastic! The whole family really loved this. I will make this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Very easy to make with a great flavor. My whole family liked it. Next time I make it, I'll add carrots and peas. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryKRichards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potosi, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Yummy, this was so simple and yet so delicious. My store does not carry ham hocks, so I just used some ham that I had. I just cubed it and threw it in the crockpot. Four hours later, when we got home, we had a delicious dinner waiting for us. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Denver Omelet

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Yummy!! We loved this, it was a much easier way to make omelets for the family. I will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States