Independence, Missouri - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Classic Tiramisu

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
My husband made this (as is) for a "teacher appreciation" luncheon recently . . . the bowl came home empty! And the teachers are still raving about it. Can't wait to make it for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debzidoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thanksgiving Leftovers Stuffed Shells

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was fantastic! A few of the other reviews said it was bland, but that will of course be the case if you start out with bland tasting turkey, stuffing, and gravy. If you start out with really good tasting thanksgiving leftovers, this dish will turn out good tasting too. I used the recipe as a "guideline" and basically threw in what I had, which was 1-1/2 of turkey, about 2 cups of dressing, and only a cup of gravy. I didn't have any parmasan cheese, but I did have "Italian Blend" cheese, so I used that instead of mozzarella. It was truly wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Sour Cream Pumpkin Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I am planing on making this cake again, but this time with less sugar. It was also a bit dryer than I thought it would be from the reviews, which makes me thing I need to make the cake again. All of you can't be wrong. Mainly I thought it was a bit too sweet. It is a beautiful looking cake too, loved the orange glaze, but may leave out the Streusel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Greatest Vegetable Broth

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Excellent! Are the turnips used to kind of replace potatoes? Also I think if I can find them, Rutabaga would be good to add, or to replace the turnips with. They are a bit sweeter than turnips. Also if you puree the vegetables , they make a great addition to meatloaf or meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waldorf Salad II

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Absolutely excellent! I added some cooked, chopped chicken and took it to a fish fry. It was the first empty bowl on the table! I have made this several times and it is excellent on it's own or stuffed in a pita pocket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken Breasts Supreme

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Surprisingly fabulous! I subbed french onion dip for the sour cream. Super tasty and easy to fix. My boyfriend normally does not like any kind of baked chicken, but he absolutely raved about this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup V

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Made w allvegan substitutes and was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Twice-Cooked Coconut Shrimp

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Best shrimp recipe ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Okra

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Grilled okra is a summertime regular at my house and I have found a MUCH better way to grill them. Lay 5 or 6 of them out side to side. I alternate the direction of each one so they fit nicely against one another. Then take bamboo skewers and run all the way though them. Put 2 skewers about an inch apart through each bunch of okra forming a sort of raft. Brush on butter and seasoning and grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Delicious! When I follow the directions, this comes out great. I don't recommend doubling the butter, which I accidentally did the last time I made this pie. The flavor is still good, but the consistency is quite firm. My husband still ate it, of course - but I prefer it with the amount of butter actually indicated in the recipe. :0) I like to make fresh whipped cream and spread over the entire pie, then top with chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLICAT2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Roasted Pepper Sauce and Cilantro Pesto

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made it exactly as written. Beautiful, tasty meal that was healthy! I served with yellow saffron rice and sauteed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MO girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pie IV

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Super easy and absolutely wonderful! VERY sweet and great texture. You can also bake at 350 degrees for the whole hour if you prefer a completely creamy pie with no crispy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MO girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Mango

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I only wish you had described how to cut up the mango in the recipe. I didn't know how and tried to do it my self, thinking it couldn't be that hard and didn't really do the mango justice. After looking at u tube videos on how to dice a mango, I wish I had another mango to try again. Anyway, I also, was a little worried about all the chili powder but it was really good. Going to let my boyfriend try it tonight and see what he thinks. He likes spicy stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamperedChefKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Found this recipe when I opened my box of baking mix to find it empty! Not sure we'll ever buy baking mix again. These were awesome - we dressed them up a bit by adding blueberries. Everyone raved about how good and fluffy they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debzidoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seattle Dutch Babies

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Loved this! Fast and easy. My VERY picky grandson who never eats more than a few bites of anything, asked for and ate seconds! I served it with a Blueberry sauce made by adding 1 cup of Maple Syrup and 1 1/2 Cups of Frozen Blueberries and bringing it to a boil over med/low heat, and boiled it for a minute or two. It was a Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QueenB1682

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is 5 star! I added sliced apples, cinnamon and vanilla as suggested by other reviews, increased all ingredients by one half to make up for the added apples, and left out all sugar (my hubs is trying to avoid sugar.) It turned out amazing, reminds me of "french toast" consistency, although it is definitely better with a tsp of brown sugar added to each serving. We decided to try adding some brown sugar over the top near the end of cooking time next time- WILL make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Sirloin Steak Dianne

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
After preparing and eating this for the first time, my husband told me this was the best steak he had ever had. Considering that we are competitive cooks and live in a part of the country that is known for its steaks, that is quite a statement. One recommendation: the recipe calls for "steak sauce"....make sure it is one that you really like because the steak sauce provides a lot of flavor to this the cream sauce. I didn't use a steak "sauce" at all....I used my favorite steak marinade: Allegro Original Marinade. Also 1/2 cup of Dijon mustard seems like a lot, so just eyeball it and slather it on to each side of the steak so that it coats each side evenly...like spreading mustard on a sandwich. I probably used between 1/4 to 1/2 to coat all four sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Altas's "Kansas City's Best" BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Absolutely the best sauce I've ever tasted or made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I have made this cake for years, and it is Perfect! I never buy boxed chocolate cakes mixes, haven't since I first made this cake. My only changes are, I use hot coffee in place of the water and Kahlua in place of the vanilla in both the cake and the frosting. Best Chocolate Cake Ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
A WINNER! I love squash casserole & have been looking for a great recipe for years. It’s hard to find decent recipe without sour cream (as I’m not a big fan). I have tried similar recipes without the egg. THE EGG MAKES THE DIFFERENCE! It adds great texture to the casserole! My changes include: adding ½ cup grated carrot for color, stewing the squash, carrots, & onion in butter and chicken broth, adding 3-4 dashes of pepper sauce and garlic powder to the mix for depth of flavor, and using bread crumbs dotted with butter on top instead of croutons. SUPER DUPER YUMMY! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States