Independence, Missouri - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quick Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
i really didn't like it,but my husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Herington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Beans and Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I wasn't that impressed with this meal. Yes, it was easy and economical, but the taste didn't wow me. If I were to make this again, I would probably add some corn, and maybe some cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Spellerberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Waffles

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I chose this for the fried chicken recipe. I used waffle mix for waffles, and didn't make it into a sandwich. My family wouldnt' eat it if I used the sandwich. The fried chicken part is flawless, but I felt needed a tad more salt. I never add salt to my food, but thought this needed a bit more. It really worked well. It was my second time to fry chicken, and this recipe works! The secret must be the 20 minute rest time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I made this as written. We liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Delicious. I did half hamburger, half Italian sausage. I used ricotta cheese instead of milk. and it seemed the 25 minutes didn't quite brown them. I put the oven on broil, and sat them under the broiler. I increased the recipe by 1/4th. It made wow, over 30, and a group of 5, ate all but 7. I also get alot of my recipes from this site. Very good! This is one of my favorite recipes on Allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Tetrazzini II

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Quick and filling weeknight dinner. The recipe is very customizable; add veggies or don't, it's still good either way. A great way to use up what you have on hand or leftover poultry and veggies before they go bad. What a money/time saver! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan-Fried Mustard Mayonnaise Tilapia

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I am not a fish eater, but I like this recipe. One tip, rinse your fish, then pat dry THOROUGHLY. This will help the coating stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Shields
Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cornbread Stuffing Southern Style

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was the first time I've ever made cornbread stiffing and it was the best I've had since Granny made it!!!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Flank Steak with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This meal was both easy to prepare and delicious! I followed the directions exactly except for the fact that I did not have fresh or dried rosemary. It was a hit in my house served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Spellerberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy White Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Awesome!! My 3-year-old even scarfed it down! I did grill my own chicken, used reduced fat cream cheese, and used whole wheat tortillas to make it a little bit healthier. This recipe will be a must for Mexican food night for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MO girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy White Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Awesome!! My 3-year-old even scarfed it down! I did grill my own chicken, used reduced fat cream cheese, and used whole wheat tortillas to make it a little bit healthier. This recipe will be a must for Mexican food night for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MO girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
LOVE this recipe!! I added a tiny bit of bacon bits for some added flavor (just a personal preference, it didn't need it) but otherwise I followed the instructions exactly. It was better than a lot of restaurants' rice I've hadd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MO girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Caramel Pie I

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I have made this pie for years and everyone loves it. Your method is complicated and to much work. Heres how to reduce the work to 10 min construction time. Place the condensed milk in a pressure cooker and cook at 10 -15psi for 35 mins if you like caramel, and 40-45 min if you like it browner. I use cool whip. I am an avid user of pressure cookers; it is gaining popularity on cooking shows. You can completely cook a large pot roast so the meat falls off in 45min not 2-1/2 hrs or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eve's Chicken Quarters

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Yummy recipe! Used one cup of water with Uncle Ben's rice and a can of cream of chicken soup. Cooked about an hour. Chicken just fell off the bone and the rice was so tasty from the juices! Nice easy way to cook leg quarters, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbatl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Butter Noodles

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
They were soo good and easy to make. My family loves them and I will definently be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.R.Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

Gingerbread Boys

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Fantastic gingerbread taste (I, too, substituted molasses for corn syrup). Light and perfect. For chewy cookies, roll 1/4" at least, for crisp, roll thinner. I found they were perfect at 8 minutes. I'm throwing away all my other gingerbread recipes. This will be my go-to recipe from now on for the taste alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I was looking forward to having a hot bowl of soup on a cold December night and have to say that I did not care for this. So bad that we gave up tossed it out without even forcing it on the family. I would give it negative stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debzidoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Tiramisu

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
My husband made this (as is) for a "teacher appreciation" luncheon recently . . . the bowl came home empty! And the teachers are still raving about it. Can't wait to make it for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debzidoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I make this with a 1 1/2 cans of water and a 13.25 ounce can of mushroom pieces, undrained. Just before serving I stir in 1 cup of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thanksgiving Leftovers Stuffed Shells

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was fantastic! A few of the other reviews said it was bland, but that will of course be the case if you start out with bland tasting turkey, stuffing, and gravy. If you start out with really good tasting thanksgiving leftovers, this dish will turn out good tasting too. I used the recipe as a "guideline" and basically threw in what I had, which was 1-1/2 of turkey, about 2 cups of dressing, and only a cup of gravy. I didn't have any parmasan cheese, but I did have "Italian Blend" cheese, so I used that instead of mozzarella. It was truly wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States