Independence, Missouri - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pink Ambrosia

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
My family calls this "Pink Stuff". We make it without coconut. (Don't tell my husband because he LOVES coconut!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocktail Meatballs

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
These are always a huge hit at parties! I served them at my parents 50th Wedding Anniversary party and will be having them again for my 50th Birthday party! I have made the meatballs as directed and I have used prepackaged frozen cocktail meatballs. I love the sauce! It's an inexpensive appetizer and I'm always asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Harris-Mattoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alta

Alta's Awesome 10 Cheese Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Irish Whiskey Flat Iron Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Refreshing Summer Cucumber Lemonade

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This is a unique and refreshing drink. Really hits the spot on hot days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Photo by Alta

Simple Salmon with Balsamic Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This is truly a delicious and moist recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Tried this recipe last night. My husband said it was the best burger (except on the grill) that I had ever made. The only thing I did different instead of evaporated milk, I used 2% milk and served on a onion bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Elliott
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Awesome. Just loved it! Traded the one can of reg tomato sauce for one can of Rotel Sauce. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Elliott
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Was really good but little to seet for my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Elliott
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom and Swiss Burger Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The best that meatloaf has to offer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Classic Goulash

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Itook out one can of the tomatoes and replaced it with rotel for a kick. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Elliott
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Huge hit! Thanksgiving dinner in a pan! This is going on the comfort foods favorites list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made it, doubled it. For some reason, the taste of ginger over took everything. I added about a teaspoon or a bit more of lemon juice. I used chicken breasts. I injected them with it at 15 minutes, then basted it, then allowed it to cook for 15 more minutes. The chicken tasted not so full of flavor, which is surprising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I absolutely loved it!!!!! Even the meatloaf sandwich the next day for lunch was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Elliott
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I loved this recipe and so did everyone else. I have to say it was good, but I think it would've been been great if I had the correct ingredients on hand. I had no sherry, so used red wine, had no oyster sauce so added extra water and an extra teaspoon of Guava Nectar, as we were out of sugar. I had no ginger root so used powdered ginger. Had leftover precooked garlic roast that was cooked rare, very thin sliced. I did add 1 onion also. Then used half cauliflower and half broccoli, as we did not have enough of either. In spite of all those crazy changes, it was still really good! Can't wait to try it with the right ingredients!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Bread IV

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I love the ease of this delightful pumpkin bread. I replace the individual spices with 4 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. It is a hit no matter where I take it. I love that it makes 3 loaves - 2 to take to holiday gatherings and 1 to leave at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debzidoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Refreshing Summer Cucumber Lemonade

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
The lemon juice concentrate used in this recipe is NOT the frozen lemonade concentrate. It is the bottled liquid concetrate from real lemons. NO sugar added. It is a very refreshing and thirst quenching beverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Mushroom and Swiss Burger Meatloaf

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. If you are concerned with cholesterol and diet, use LOWFAT ground meats or ground turkey and low fat swiss cheese. This is a favorite in my house and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Unbelievable Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Excellent and easy! I, too, added the about 4 oz of the 6 oz pouch of stuffing mix to the squash/onion mixture and it came out creamy good! The 2 oz of stuffing mixed with the cheddar cheese gave it a wonderful crunchy topping. Highly recommended as a great alternative to potatoes for a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Green Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I've been making this recipe for around 5 years...and it is loved by everyone. I usually use fresh garlic in garlic recipes, but for this dish I just use the already minced garlic you can buy in a bottle...about two heaping teaspoons...instead of mincing an entire head of garlic by hand. It will save a LOT of time and I cannot taste the difference (I've tried it both ways). In addition, use the "shredded" parmesan instead of the grated, and if you can get a good quality parm...it will make a world of difference. This recipe is a staple in my kitchen, btw. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States