Independence, Missouri - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Flambeed Vanilla-Poached Pears with Apricot Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Sheet Cake II

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This cake is one of our family's favs. A suggestion of mine would be never to mix these ingredients with a mixer. Just put all ingredients into a large bowl, and mix together by hand. I cook mine at 350 for approximately 35 minutes. The only question I have about this cake is why does it always sink in the center? Been making it for years and it always has. Is there anyone out there that can tell me why this happens and what to do to avoid it, if possible? For the frosting I've always made a cream cheese mixture. Will tell you what I mix together. Frosting; 1 1/3 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 stick of softened butter, 1 8oz pkg of cream cheese 1 tsp vanilla and 1 cup chopped nuts. Ice cake while still warm. We love the cake, just wish it wouldn't sink in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaArt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I used 24 oz. Spaghetti, 2 jars Classico sauce, 2 pound ground beef, 3 cartons of ricotta, 1 8 ounce bag Italian blend cheese, 1 8 ounce bag mozzerella. After assembling layers, I used a spoon and made cuts through layers. Then I shook the dish to help sauce seep through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This cake was great! I'm getting ready to make it a second time for a Fall Party. It was easy to bake and came out looking beautiful...and very tasty! A direct hit here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Harris-Mattoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is just ok. I think with all the good reviews, I set my expectations too high. Also, the chicken I used had been marinated in Italian dressing, maybe that threw the flavor off from what it was supposed to taste like. I added some red pepper flakes to give it some spice. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamperedChefKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers)

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Recipe makes a bunch! I made a full recipe of the filling which was really good then used a can of Grands Biscuits to make just enough for dinner for DH and myself. The rest of the filling froze well, so now I can put together a quick meal using a can of refrigerated biscuits and quick thawing a portion of the filling. I also served these with creamy horseradish mayo for dipping. Really added some nice 'zip' to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rice Balls alla Christina

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is a great recipie, I just loved the combination. This will definetely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bloody Mary Cocktail

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Want to kick this drink up a notch? Try using bacon-flavored vodka (yeah, there really is such a thing). Ah-MAY-zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
My favorite banana bread recipe. Very moist, lots of banana flavor and keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Acorn Squash

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
So good and so easy! I added some chopped pecans with the butter and brown sugar. 100% yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veal Marsala

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
So quick with so little effort. I added a bit of half and half to the sauce to make it extra creamy. I will so be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I made this on Christmas day and did not toast the bread cubes either. It was delicious and every last bit was gone. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Coleslaw

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
We loved the flavor and so easy to make, but beware, the recipe as stated makes a TON! 10 servings is not a joke, at least. Again, loved the flavor and I'll make it again for a potluck, but to just serve with dinner, I threw more than half of it out because it did not keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

100 Percent Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I just made this using fresh milled flour in my nutrimill. I used hard white winter wheat berries. I didn't have any of the added grains but it was still delicious! To cut out fat I added 2 TBS of non-gmo lecithin granules instead of coconut oil. I also had to increase the water by 1 cup. I used half my dough for rolls and the other half for cinnamon rolls, a healthier version that is still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grands!® Monkey Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
pretty good, but the dough did not seem to want to all bake in a bundt pan, so the center came out a little doughy. I would suggest not to put it in a bundt cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanish Rice Bake

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Great recipie! everybody loved it, this will be a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
just the perfect combination of spicyness and sweetness. Wonderful recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Cream Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and they were wonderful. It makes a larger batch and since I have 8 children and 16 Grandchildren, it was perfect! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Strudel Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I liked it, but it was extremely think, similar to cookie dough. I added about 1/2 Cup of milk, and also added 2 tsp. of cinnamon to the batter. They turned out fine. I really think the flour needs to be reduced, or just add milk. They were nice big muffins. I might leave off the topping next time, and just sprinkle lightly with cinnamon sugar. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pink Ambrosia

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
My family calls this "Pink Stuff". We make it without coconut. (Don't tell my husband because he LOVES coconut!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States