Independence, Missouri - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Tipsy Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
It was nice to try something different for a change. My Hubby said he had never had chicken with olives before! I did use chicken breasts, and added some artichoke hearts but they really didn't add much flavor. Oh, and I used two cr of mushroom soups instead of the cream of celery called for and didn't need the flour, maybe because I just eyeballed the wine and didn't use the full cup and a half called for. All that to say.....You can hardly mess up this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamperedChefKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This was great! Used 1lb organic beef, 1 lb turkey, don't really measure ingredients, so just tossed everything together that was listed. I added the Worcestershire sauce, sauteed just half an onion in a little butter, also sauteed some mushrooms and added them. Oiled and seasoned 2 potatoes and cooked them on the rack next to the meatloaf, added steamfresh green beans to the meal. Awesome dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbatl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My husband, kids, and grands all loved this! I will definitely be fixing this again. The only change I will make is to cook it for a full hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Harris-Mattoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kielbasa with Brussels Sprouts in Mustard Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made this last weekend following receipt as written tasty, hearty and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sy's Challah

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I have made this dish many times and it turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Coburn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is an excellent cake. A good from scratch cake that I have never had fail. I would suggest, if it's to your liking, to use an espresso for the coffee and Kahlua in place of the vanilla. To the one with the meh ratings, and they are all over the internet, you never like anything. I ignore your ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Benny's Famous Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
We made these last night & they were yummy, but completely mild (my 10yo liked them & she doesn’t like too spicy)! Here are some suggestions… …To the cheese mixture, add: Add 1 clove minced garlic (or garlic powder) Add minced chives or onion Add 1-2 dashed cayenne pepper (or creole seasoning) - a little flavor boost, but not a lot of heat. For more heat, add some of the seeds to the cheese mixture. …Sauté the bacon to get the cooking started or you’ll have a hard time getting it cooked enough on the grill. (We started on the grill, but had to finish in the oven – the peppers we done, but bacon undercooked) …Also season the wrapped poppers with pepper before grilling. Hope these tips help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy German Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
So easy and DELICIOUS. Everyone raves about this cake when I make it. I have printed this recipe off for so many to make. This is a keeper in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies I

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is the recipe we always use. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beefy Southwestern Corn Pudding Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is a family favorite. WE love Mexican food, and this is a simple recipe that is fast, easy, and delicious! My family gives it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Husband and i loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Elliott
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Marinated Mushrooms

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fideo

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I grew up on this. this is my first time making it and I am so pleased.It turned out just like my moms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Very Popular Bubble Tea

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I buy my pearls at an oriental market in the bubble tea aisle, and cook them what the instructions say. They are black, large, and puff up in about 10 minutes, as the package says. This recipe is pretty good. I add fruit to it, and put it in the Vita mix, then pour it over the pearls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Drumsticks Perfecto

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Parmesan Tilapia

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
didn't have much flavor for all the ingredients that are in it. we had left over and for some reason had more flavor the second day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flambeed Vanilla-Poached Pears with Apricot Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Sheet Cake II

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This cake is one of our family's favs. A suggestion of mine would be never to mix these ingredients with a mixer. Just put all ingredients into a large bowl, and mix together by hand. I cook mine at 350 for approximately 35 minutes. The only question I have about this cake is why does it always sink in the center? Been making it for years and it always has. Is there anyone out there that can tell me why this happens and what to do to avoid it, if possible? For the frosting I've always made a cream cheese mixture. Will tell you what I mix together. Frosting; 1 1/3 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 stick of softened butter, 1 8oz pkg of cream cheese 1 tsp vanilla and 1 cup chopped nuts. Ice cake while still warm. We love the cake, just wish it wouldn't sink in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaArt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I used 24 oz. Spaghetti, 2 jars Classico sauce, 2 pound ground beef, 3 cartons of ricotta, 1 8 ounce bag Italian blend cheese, 1 8 ounce bag mozzerella. After assembling layers, I used a spoon and made cuts through layers. Then I shook the dish to help sauce seep through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This cake was great! I'm getting ready to make it a second time for a Fall Party. It was easy to bake and came out looking beautiful...and very tasty! A direct hit here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Harris-Mattoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States