Independence, Missouri - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy German Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
So easy and DELICIOUS. Everyone raves about this cake when I make it. I have printed this recipe off for so many to make. This is a keeper in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beefy Southwestern Corn Pudding Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is a family favorite. WE love Mexican food, and this is a simple recipe that is fast, easy, and delicious! My family gives it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Husband and i loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paelliott59
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Very Popular Bubble Tea

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I buy my pearls at an oriental market in the bubble tea aisle, and cook them what the instructions say. They are black, large, and puff up in about 10 minutes, as the package says. This recipe is pretty good. I add fruit to it, and put it in the Vita mix, then pour it over the pearls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flambeed Vanilla-Poached Pears with Apricot Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Sheet Cake II

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This cake is one of our family's favs. A suggestion of mine would be never to mix these ingredients with a mixer. Just put all ingredients into a large bowl, and mix together by hand. I cook mine at 350 for approximately 35 minutes. The only question I have about this cake is why does it always sink in the center? Been making it for years and it always has. Is there anyone out there that can tell me why this happens and what to do to avoid it, if possible? For the frosting I've always made a cream cheese mixture. Will tell you what I mix together. Frosting; 1 1/3 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 stick of softened butter, 1 8oz pkg of cream cheese 1 tsp vanilla and 1 cup chopped nuts. Ice cake while still warm. We love the cake, just wish it wouldn't sink in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaArt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I used 24 oz. Spaghetti, 2 jars Classico sauce, 2 pound ground beef, 3 cartons of ricotta, 1 8 ounce bag Italian blend cheese, 1 8 ounce bag mozzerella. After assembling layers, I used a spoon and made cuts through layers. Then I shook the dish to help sauce seep through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is just ok. I think with all the good reviews, I set my expectations too high. Also, the chicken I used had been marinated in Italian dressing, maybe that threw the flavor off from what it was supposed to taste like. I added some red pepper flakes to give it some spice. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamperedChefKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers)

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Recipe makes a bunch! I made a full recipe of the filling which was really good then used a can of Grands Biscuits to make just enough for dinner for DH and myself. The rest of the filling froze well, so now I can put together a quick meal using a can of refrigerated biscuits and quick thawing a portion of the filling. I also served these with creamy horseradish mayo for dipping. Really added some nice 'zip' to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rice Balls alla Christina

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is a great recipie, I just loved the combination. This will definetely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Didn't have the mayonnaise, used a bottle of ranch dressing. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Salad

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Didn't have any celery, used chopped water chestnuts instead. Added wasabi for extra flavor. Will be taking for lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

"Pantry Raid" Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Used leftover rotisserie chicken, added sauteed onion, corn and used pinto beans in place of the black beans. Topped with cilantro and fresh jalapenos when it was served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab and Pea Salad

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I added red onion instead of the onion powder. (Didn't have the onion powder.)Also added some leftover salad shrimp. Will be making it on a weekly basis this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bloody Mary Cocktail

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Want to kick this drink up a notch? Try using bacon-flavored vodka (yeah, there really is such a thing). Ah-MAY-zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
My favorite banana bread recipe. Very moist, lots of banana flavor and keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Acorn Squash

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
So good and so easy! I added some chopped pecans with the butter and brown sugar. 100% yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veal Marsala

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
So quick with so little effort. I added a bit of half and half to the sauce to make it extra creamy. I will so be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I made this on Christmas day and did not toast the bread cubes either. It was delicious and every last bit was gone. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Coleslaw

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
We loved the flavor and so easy to make, but beware, the recipe as stated makes a TON! 10 servings is not a joke, at least. Again, loved the flavor and I'll make it again for a potluck, but to just serve with dinner, I threw more than half of it out because it did not keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States