Olathe, Kansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Eggplant Tomato Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
We really liked this recipe, especially using fresh summer tomatoes and eggplant. What a wonderful dish! Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSMITH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty

Bubbie's Grits Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
We have seen several things about grits and have wanted to try them so this was a great opportunity to do that. This recipe was really simple. We followed the directions exactly. It didn't need very much salt at all in our opinion ~ you'll want to taste it to see if salt and pepper are needed before adding in the eggs since tasting raw eggs can potentially make you sick. It is rather runny so moving it to the oven can be a little tricky. We cooked it for 30 min and checked it, it was bubbly but not golden brown. 10 more minutes and a beautiful browned cheesy crust and the grits were completely set. Great creaminess from the processed cheese and the sharpness from the cheddar and who doesn't love bacon? I sprinkled cilantro on the top and chalula sauce on my plate (after tasting so I could review fairly). My one question was why did I need to cook 8 slices of bacon to only use some of the grease and half of the cooked bacon? Perhaps I was supposed to sprinkle it on the top with the cheddar cheese. I make a bacon sandwich instead ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by shasty

Easy Challah Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I used my bread machine on dough setting and made it exactly according to directions. It was really sticky when it came out but used a few tbsp flour to make ropes and it worked great. We used the butter option to brush it, I did initially think that 1 tbsp wouldn't be near enough but it worked beautifully. If you do this by hand you really only need to keep your hands floured when kneading. The more flour you add the drier it is going to get. As to the "killing the yeast" comment in my opinion your yeast may be old...this is a standard temp for water to bloom the yeast in. Or maybe salt was added while it sat. When salt is added to yeast while it sets to bloom it can cause it to die. Instead add everything and don't let the yeast set or wait to add the salt when you add the flour. The honey (sugar) makes the yeast to grow. Made our whole house smell AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Super Strawberry Sherbet

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
The fresh strawberries in this was AMAZING but you can definitely cut the sugar in half. It is very soft serve when it comes out so we are freezing it over night for a firmer texture. Next time I'll cut the sugar in half and maybe try 1c white sugar or splenda and 1c brown sugar. Really a good recipe though, just too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by shasty

Ham and Corn Beignets

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was really good! I made it as close to the recipe as I could. The only changes I had to make were I used 1/2 c re-hydrated minced onion (my red onion was well past it's prime) and only 1/2 T cayenne pepper (learned from a previous experience that 1 T is WAY to much for my family). The ham and corn had a nice sweet contrast to the savory spice of the dough. Keeping the oil at temp is important to avoid a dense beignet. (funny I didn't know beignet was French for fritter or fried dough. I looked it up since the first thing my hubby said was "That's a fritter."). I used a cookie scoop to drop it into the oil and found that the more horizontal I could get the scoop the better the batter came out. This is going to make a big batch for my family of 4 so I'm going to try to freeze the cooked ones and reheat in the oven and see how that turns out. UPDATE: Freezing them turned out great. Thaw in fridge and bake at 350 until warmed through and crispy. Will make again possibly with crab meat in 1/2 batch and andoulle in the other (sans pepper for this). Now to find a great dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by shasty

Cheddar Pennies

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Made these exactly as directed. My dough was super crumbly so I added hot water and it took about 1/2 C to get it to stick together. Baked for 23 min and they weren't very crispy so I added 5 more min. I didn't want to burn them so I took them out. We tried them but found them to be bland so I tossed them with a bit of garlic salt and they were much better. To me this was alot of butter with no reward. If a recipe calls for a stick of butter I am expecting indulgent...this just didn't have that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by shasty

Baby Greens and Goat Cheese Wrap

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is the first time I've ever had goat cheese and first let me say YUM!! This is a GREAT vegetarian dish (unless you don't do dairy) and you could easily add some steak or chicken to these to bulk them up. Very light and a rather "guilt free" dish as well. I made these with one minor change I used Light Balsamic dressing with EVOO vs. the Balsamic and Olive oil seperate. I made them for a 4th of July party about 3 hours ahead of time and they turned out great (next day not near as good)! I didn't make my own peppers (they were costly fresh) but the jarred were great. I do recommend having toothpicks on hand though ~ helps keep them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by shasty

Barbeque Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I miss the mustard flavor in traditional potato salad BUT that being said the barbeque sauce adds a nice sweetness (I used honey bbq as that's what I had). Still seems to be missing something for a kick but over all a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Grilled Chicken with Rosemary and Bacon

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
We made this exactly as written and it was so very good. Don't let the amount of garlic powder scare you away! We sprinkled 1tsp on each half breast (1/2 tsp on each side). The bacon wasn't super crispy but that didn't take anything at all away from this. We even accidentally lost track of time and the probe said 190 degrees...we panicked a got it off the grill asap and it was still moist and tasted great!! VERY EASY! Might try a different bacon next time for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! We made it just like the recipe the first time and and lessened the onion to a small onion the next time and used a can of chicken to save time. My hubby doesn't like shrimp so in the last hour of cook time I used a small glass mixing bowl and ladled some of the jambalaya into it, set it in the crock pot with the rest of the jambalaya, and continued cooking it. GREAT!! I got my shrimp and he didn't complain about me trying to "poison" him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This dish was great! The only thing I did different was that we brined the chicken before cooking to keep it nice and moist. Other than that served as is and we thought it was wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyme322

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
The French fried onions are what really made this dish, even my hubby who hates tuna casserole said he wouldn't mind if we had this again :) The only changes I made were I that I played with the soup a little. I doubled the recipe and used one can of cream of broccoli and one can of cream of chicken. I added some fresh ground pepper to the mix as well as a little milk for creaminess. Other than that I left it as is and it turned out great! My one year old kept shoveling it in :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyme322

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This recipe is great! I don't change anything except I cut the chicken into smaller pieces and serve over linguine pasta. My whole family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyme322

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Ive been making this recipe for years and everyone loves it! No modification, I make recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyme322

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
The only modification I made was to use cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. Served with corn and mashed potatos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyme322

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was really good! We enjoyed it with a spicy meal to cool our tongues and it was great! Didn't change a thing other than letting the cucumbers sit in a strainer with some salt to get rid of the water that seeps out of the cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyme322

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Spicy Beef Kabobs OR Haitian Voodoo Sticks

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
The whole family loved these, even my 8 year old! We served them on Greek flat bread and as a side dish I made a cucumber salad to eat to stop the burn! Very good recipe and I did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyme322

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Cut back on salt and pepper (chicken boullion has plenty f salt). Otherwise, made just as it was. Add shredded cheese, scallions and dollop of sour cream when serving and it tastes just the same as Houlihan's Baked Potato Soup. Will never use another potato soup recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchiladas II

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Really good! I used 7 inch low-carb tortillas (saving a BUNCH of calories) and Jack cheese instead of Cheddar. Everything else I kept the same. Lots of yummy gooey filling, this will go in my monthly rotation. Served with Mexican rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARMONYGIRL79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Chicken Strips

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I usually use egg, but I think using the butter kept the chicken more moist. I also pounded the chicken out first and only baked it for about 20min. My picky and healthnut husband loved them and my 2 year old son devoured his share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryingtocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States