Olathe, Kansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by shasty

Vanilla Berry Parfaits

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This recipe was a hit with young and well not as young in our house. I used vanilla Greek (fat free) yogurt, cinnamon graham crackers and added a drizzle of honey to each layer. The frozen mixed fruit had cherries in it and I think this was such a great addition. We added a dollop of sugar free cool whip to the top and grated fresh nutmeg on the top. I would definitely recommend adding the nutmeg to EACH layer as it adds something that makes this parfait PERFECT! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by shasty

Mexican Rice I

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was very easy! I grew up thinking that Mexican rice was like macaroni and cheese with tomatoes ~ it just didn't sound appealing. When I had it at Mexican restaurants for some reason I always thought that it was SPANISH rice. After making this I won't hesitate to make/eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by shasty

S'more Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Oh wow!! This recipe is so gooey and indulgent it will satisfy almost any sweet tooth. For the sliced bread we only had whole grain and that didn't sound like a good match so we used 2 hotdog buns. Buttered the outsides and spread the peanut butter on both sides. This causes everything to stick well. Instead of mini marshmallows I used 4 of the large marshmallows and cut them in half. They fit perfectly in the buns. We cooked them in a saute pan until both sides were browned and crispy. The salty butter, crispy outside of the bread paired with the sweet melted layers of this sandwich made us really glad we waited until after the kids went to bed to make them. So simple yet so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
These were awesome! I didn't have enough butter or flour. I substituted oil for butter and threw some oatmeal in a food processor for the flour. I also mixed white and milk chocolate chips (didn't have enough of one, seeing a theme :-)). The batch made about 20-22 LARGE cookies (a few were taste tasted before I could get an official count). Can't wait to make them again true to the recipe instead of making so many substitutions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amor_fati

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
It was great! My picky 6 year old even had seconds!! It was a little soupy, I think next time I will use a little less enchilada sauce. I also didn't char the tortillas, and they weren't firm so next time I will grill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcsangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tcsangel

K-Dub's Sausage and Egg Casserole

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Super easy and super tasty!! I made this the day before, let it sit in the fridge overnight and popped it in the oven the next morning. Great for my kids before school! Mine did take almost an hour to cook...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcsangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Shrimp Tacos

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These were delicious!! I made them and served them with a chipotle lime sauce...Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcsangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty

Greek Salad with Spinach & Feta Chicken Sausage

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Loved this light and tangy salad. I let everyone add the toppings as desired. Also I recommend slicing the olives or everyone will be fighting over the 6 olives. A great summer recipe and the sausage adds a great flavor to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

al fresco Roasted Pepper and Asiago Chicken Sausage Frittata

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is a FANTASTIC dish. It is very quick and easy. You can make everything in one pan and it tastes great. I took this as a meal to a family that had recently adopted 2 girls and everyone LOVED it. The Tabasco was just the right amount that even my "heat sensitive" kids ate every bite and asked for the leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Refried Beans Without the Refry

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Loved this recipes, very easy. I used half black beans and half pinto beans. I soaked them over night to help with the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAmy1033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty

Guinness® Corned Beef

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
My family loves this recipe. It is so moist and juicy. I do make this in the crock pot for about 5 hrs on low. I typically add 1/2 head of cabbage that is cut in quarters and separated about 1 hr before it's done cooking, otherwise you'll just have cabbage mush. Another thing is that the packaging companies seem to think one size fits all when it comes to the seasoning packet. So we looked at the seasoning packet and supplemented with what we had on hand to make sure it was flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by shasty

Grilled Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage with Tomato Cream Sauce Over Linguine

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This sausage is so good. My family loved that it was very flavorful with our being too sweet or too intense. My kids loved it! I used a 12 oz package of sausage (that's what was on the shelf) and it seemed like a lot so 16oz would definitely have been too much. Can't wait to use this in other things. I did puree all but 1/4 cup of the sauce before adding the sausage because my husband is not a fan of chunks of onion or tomato. Also I added 1T of cornstarch to thicken it. Based on the reviews and the type of wine I had on hand I did 1/4c of red wine and 1/2c of low sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by tcsangel

Grilled Mediterranean Greek Pizza with Sundried Tomato Chicken Sausage

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this today for lunch!! I tried to use the outdoor grill, but couldn't get it to stay lit. So, I grilled the sausage inside on my grill pan and then baked the pizza crust in the oven on 350. Once I had all the toppings on, I baked it in the oven until the cheese was melted. It was delicious!! We will definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcsangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Crusted Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Very good, especially with brown rice and steamed green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amor_fati

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackened Chicken Pizza with Yellow Tomato Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I didn't know who would like this in our house since it was spicy but it ended up being me and my 15 year old daughter that ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kip Stamper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty

Comforting Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Great flavor and good for you too! Love the leeks in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is by far the best chili I have ever cooked! I did back off a little on the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty

Fiber One® Chocolate-Peanut Butter Haystacks

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
GREAT!! So surprised as I didn't find many other successes with this cereal. Co workers loved and raved about it. I did realize later that it says makes 48...mine made 18. So perhaps I measured with a heavy hand. One tip: be careful eating them out of the fridge...they get VERY hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by tcsangel

Fiber One® Chocolate-Peanut Butter Haystacks

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
These are yummy! They are also very simple to make. My 6 year old daughter and I made them together after dinner tonight. Great recipe and I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcsangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Very Good! I made the adjustments that others recommended. I put garlic salt on the chicken and cooked it a little before I put it in with the vegtables. I also boiled the vegtables and chicken in chicken broth. I added garlic powder to the mix as well. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcmom2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States