Olathe, Kansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by shasty

Comforting Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Great flavor and good for you too! Love the leeks in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is by far the best chili I have ever cooked! I did back off a little on the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty

Fiber One® Chocolate-Peanut Butter Haystacks

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
GREAT!! So surprised as I didn't find many other successes with this cereal. Co workers loved and raved about it. I did realize later that it says makes 48...mine made 18. So perhaps I measured with a heavy hand. One tip: be careful eating them out of the fridge...they get VERY hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by tcsangel

Fiber One® Chocolate-Peanut Butter Haystacks

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
These are yummy! They are also very simple to make. My 6 year old daughter and I made them together after dinner tonight. Great recipe and I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcsangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Very Good! I made the adjustments that others recommended. I put garlic salt on the chicken and cooked it a little before I put it in with the vegtables. I also boiled the vegtables and chicken in chicken broth. I added garlic powder to the mix as well. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcmom2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty

Hoisin (but not really) Country Ribs

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Very good! I didn't have peanut oil so I used the Smart Balance oil on hand. I agree with another reviewer that browning isn't necessary. I cooked them on high for 4 hours and the bones we're falling out. I love the ease of this recipe and the short list of ingredients. I would suggest trying a whole onion, adding garlic and some sriracha for some heat. A good side in my opinion would be quinoa, sticky rice, or a steamed/grilled veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
My family of 7 LOVED this meal. I cut the red pepper in half, and my younger children still thought it was too spicy so next time I will just use a 1/4 of the red pepper. The rest of us loved it with half though. I also used stew meat instead of roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerton, Arkansas, USA

Sugar-Free Frosting

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used chocolate fudge instant pudding mix for this frosting. It tasted like pudding and not frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Photo by shasty

Oatmeal Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Just the right amount of chewy and gooey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by shasty

Double Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These cookies turn out so wonderful! I did go ahead and use the whole bag (2c) of chunks. Start with 11min for the first batch since your pans are cool. I also recommend keeping the dough in the fridge between batches. For subsequent batches start with an 8 min timer since your pans are hot. Next time I think the next time I make these I will add 3T brewed coffee. We always have a little left in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by shasty

Dark Chocolate Crumb Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
VERY RICH! Substituted a white cake mix for the flour sugar and salt. The nuts add that extra crunch. So yummy. If you find that the crumb mixture is too "wet" add a little flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Did this with 1 1/2 c of half-and-half and 1 1/2 c coconut milk. Turned out perfect. This is my mom's favorite pie and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Slow Cooker Savory Pot Roast

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Very simple! Good flavor and ingredients I normally have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Tater Tot Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Really good! I only switched the soup to cream of chicken because my hubby really isn't a fan of onions so the amount already called for was enough for him to take. My girls both asked for more after finishing their first serving in about 5 min (usually takes them 30-45 min to eat supper) so I would say kid friendly as well. We did add cheddar cheese on the top and didn't really think that it added anything. I will probably double the worcestershire and ketchup mixture and maybe add green onions. Really good recipe and easy on the budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Festive Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this for a celebration at work and it turned out really well. I inadvertently made the following changes I used 1lb mild country sausage and a whole loaf of bread (helps to check the recipe and not do it from memory). At first I didn't think there was enough liquid but it turned out ok. I liked the amount of sausage I used, think it would have been too much bread for my taste with out it. It was a good casserole but really basic. I wouldn't describe it as festive at all. I think that next time I'll add pepper jack cheese and a mixture of bacon and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Waffles I

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Our kids absolutely love this recipe!! Its a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerton, Arkansas, USA
Photo by shasty

Zesty Italian Crescent Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was super good! We use dehydrated onion and added 1 1/2 italian seasoning to the meat. Also followed a reviewers advice of adding 1/4C butter and 2tbsp minced garlic to the cheese and sour cream mixture. My girls (5 and under) said it was fantastic. We'll probably do 1/2lb italian sausage and 1/2 lb hamburger next time! SOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I just made this rice to go with enchiladas. I thought it turned out fantastic! Not quite five stars but the best Ive ever made at home. I made it EXACTLY as written. Its extremely important to cook the rice in the oi to keep it from being stickyl and it is extremely important to leave the lid on the rice for the entire cooking period. If you mess up either of those your rice will have problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyme322

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty

Veggie Pizza Faces

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
My kids aren't really fans of eating the faces...they like a supreme pizza where they get topping on every bite BUT it was really fun to make and a healthy pizza option. I loved the idea of using the ranch as glue and I also mixed ranch dressing mix in my pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

Potato Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Good soup, but too heavy. Next time I'll use half the cheese (in fact, I thought it tasted great BEFORE adding the cheese). Also, I used rice milk instead of cows milk so it's even lighter than it would have been. Also, used celery instead of onions since neither my son or me like onions. Also, chopped up fresh parsley instead of dried. Thought that added some great flavor. Will definitely make it again...just with a couple more modifications (I like to experiment). Maybe with cheddar instead of Swiss cheese next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jiriki13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States