Lenexa - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roasted Balsamic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
easy and delicious. Add a little parmesan when you take it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Walnut Relish I

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
The Best!! So easy and so delicious. The marmalade gives it a wonderful flavor. Tastes even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie Bars I

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made these for Thanksgiving. I followed the recipe and added about a cup of semi sweet chocolate chips. Everyone loved them. These went faster than the pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Yams

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My Mom used this recipe for years....this was always part of her Holiday menus....I LOVE this dish and will always make it for my loved ones. DELISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake Bars - Healthy Boost Style

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Kids loved it. Cheaper alternative to baby food carrots is pureed steamed carrots. Just steam 2C baby carrots and put them in the blender. Other things I snuck in with the pureed carrots: juice of 1/2 orange, 1/2C applesauce, 1/2c grated coconut flakes. Added 1/2 C oatmeal to the flour. Doubled the spices. Threw in 1/2C raisins too. Baked same amount of time (30mins). Turned out perfect bars - moist and cakelike, but held together. Not gummy at all! Top with kefir cheese frosting or cream cheese frosting if regular frosting has too much sugar for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Kids loved it. Cheaper alternative to baby food carrots is pureed steamed carrots. Just steam 2C baby carrots and put them in the blender. Other things I snuck in with the pureed carrots: juice of 1/2 orange, 1/2C applesauce, 1/2c grated coconut flakes. Added 1/2 C oatmeal to the flour. Doubled the spices. Threw in 1/2C raisins too. Baked same amount of time (30mins). Turned out perfect bars - moist and cakelike, but held together. Not gummy at all! Top with kefir cheese frosting or cream cheese frosting if regular frosting has too much sugar for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Would not make again. This sauce just was not what we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foody
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Gingerbread

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Yum! This was a big hit at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foody
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Shell Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Yum, I really like this dressing and will make it in the future for any creamy pasta salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foody
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pepper and Olive Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I am cooking this right now and fully expect it to be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foody
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Halibut Provencale

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I enjoy this recipe with tilapia also. It is easy & I keep most of the ingredients on hand all the time. Even my friends who do not like most fish enjoy this. Thank you for the easy & healthy recipe! The only thing I change is that I skip the olives and sub in panko for the breadcrumbs, simply b/c that is what I keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frosted Banana Bars

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Excellent recipe! Great banana taste and not too sweet. Stays moist and delicious for days! I added a little bit of cinnamon and used Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe, and added a little cinnamon to that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angel Hair with Feta and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
We really liked this dish. My 4 year old and my 2 year old both asked for seconds! I used regular feta and added a little lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYN_G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These are amazing. I made these for Easter and everyone said they were the best cupcakes they'd ever eaten. I only gave this recipe four stars not for ingredients, but for yield. I used regular muffin pans and the recipe only made 19 small cupcakes - I was wondering what they would rise like or I could've made 12. That being said, the frosting recipe makes enough for 3 times what you need...so next time I make this (which will be often!) I will double the cake recipe and half the frosting recipe. The frosting seems too sweet on its own, but don't be fooled - once you put it on a lemon cupcake the flavors balance perfectly! I also added fresh blackberries on top for a pretty garnish to the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Herb Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
These rolls were more work chopping the herbs and were very pretty, but I was disappointed in the plain flavor. They also did not rise very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was wonderful! I am trying to incorporate more whole grains into my diet, and my husband and I both agreed this was better than any mix we've ever bought! We loved them. I used frozen blueberries instead of fresh and olive oil instead of vegetable, but other than that left the recipe alone. Thank you for such a great recipe! These are now my go to blueberry muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Spice Cookie

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Great for kids. I added 1/4c coconut oil and my own spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves). Fast & easy for a busy mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Cheesecakes III

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I've taken these to work many times and everyone loves them. I like to make them in mini muffin tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYN_G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caesar Salad Supreme

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is a great alternative to the classic coddled egg version. It has all of the taste, but you could keep it in the fridge and use it over a few days making it a great option for smaller households. I actually didn't make the croutons, but used store bought to save time and effort, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foody
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Beans

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Update! I still make this using all the ingredients, but I just wanted to say this meal has become as traditional as the ham holidays! A few days after Easter or Christmas, everyone always comes back over for ham & beans because of this recipe! Everyone loves it. I pair it with jalapeno cornbread. I use all the ingredients but I use the leftover ham bone from the Christmas ham with meat still attached to it. Then I just throw everything in a crockpot and cook it on low 8-10 hours. It is amazing. The sugar & cayenne pepper really make this recipe special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States