Leavenworth, Kansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Nancy's Boiled Gazpacho

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Since loosing my old Betty Crocker cookbook I've been SOOOO missing this recipe!!! Thank you so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEARTH4KITTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
no left overs... delish....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie
Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

Gulliver's Cream Corn

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Absolutely awesome! I attempted another version of this recipe three times previously with disasterous results - my sauce never thickened. I finally decided to make a roux instead of using cornstarch and voila' - PERFECT CREAMED CORN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caprese Appetizer

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
So simple yet so delicious! I had a craving for Caprese Salad which at the restaurant I use to dine at meant large slices of tomatoes with fresh slices of mozzarella and basil leaves....I never thought of this wonderful minature version now at every holiday event i attend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Feta Cheese Foldovers

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was a recipe I was skeptical about and once again I am thrilled I stuck to the recipe. I had never cooked pastry puff before and took me a little bit to get use to but besides the proper thawing of it this was so simple and delicious! It is great as an appetizer or to have during the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Cranberry Chutney

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
When I was a child I did not like cranberries but I tried this and WOW!! This is unbelievable! I made it for the first time last year. I think I will try to can it and make it a gift like someone suggested. This is delicious with your turkey or on a cracker with some cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe for several years now and always get requests for extras so they can bring to their family thanksgiving dinners. I love pumpkin pie but sometimes get overwhelmed with too much "pumpkin" flavor. I think this cheesecake is perfect, not too much pumpkin but just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab-Stuffed Filet Mignon with Whiskey Peppercorn Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I have made this several times and still get excited making it. This is the best steak I have ever had!!! That cream sauce is killer and adding a crab stuffed steak....really what more can you ask for. DON'T CHANGE A THING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken, Grape, and Rice Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I wanted to try a different type of chicken salad and this definitley fit the bill! Next time I will cut down on the red onion thats for sure. I love onion but for this dish (and my tastes) I will halve it. Other than that it was pretty tasty and will make again. I did feel like it was missing something....just can't put my finger on it. Hopefully someone figures it out and writes a review, thats where i get most of my inspiration from!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Uptown Cowboy Caviar

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I know its a salsa but its so darn good I sometimes eat it as a side!! :-) I get requests to make this for events or just cause at home. Great and easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Corn

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I have made this at almost every holiday dinner I have gone too and am always asked what is in it. I absolutley LOVE this recipe! I like to leave some bigger chunks of jalepeno in there for an extra spicy bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Pasta Salad II

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This got better everyday! The flavors were off the chart! I made a mistake and didn't buy enough pepperoni but there was so much else going on that it almost didn't matter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I am new to baking and was suprised it called for sour cream. I am so happy i didn't doubt it and just went exactly by the directions. I made this for my birthday in July and even brought some to work. They were a HIT! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I made this exactly as directed and WOW! It was for my sister's birthday and my first time making carrot cake. It was so simple too which I found odd! Next time I make it I might scale back the raisins to a half a cup. It was moist and so flavorful! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Oatmeal Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Absolutely out of this world! I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
EXCELLENT! I used Yukon Gold potatoes which whipped up creamier than any other potatoes I've ever used for mashed potatoes. Flavor was tremendous. Making these ahead of time saved so much time on Thanksgiving Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttery Caramel Apple Jam

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Though it didn't really taste like caramel, this was a great alternative to the run of the mill apple jam. It has really been a hit in our house & has been used quite a bit on buttered English muffins. Thank you for this great recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEARTH4KITTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Dreiling Hofstetter

Chicken Zucchini Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe! Corn bread stuffng is awesome in it, and shredding the veggies worked great. Only thing I added was a dash of oregano to the veggies and sauted them before combining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Dreiling Hofstetter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smith Center, Kansas, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buckeye Balls

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Made these for the holidays and they were a real hit! Everyone who had some asked for more. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEARTH4KITTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This soup was amazing. I used hot Ro-tel (the kind with habaneros), chili beans in hot sauce, Trader Jose's dark beer, and a 1.3 oz bag of TJ's taco seasoning. It was incredible, with just the right amount of spice. My boyfriend ate 4 bowls and proclaimed it the new title-holder of the best dish I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 99) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States