Lawrence, Kansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Despite being a lover of cream cheese, I just didn't care for this. A commenter left a recipe for homemade strawberry glaze that was to die for, though! Putting that on top of yellow or angel cake with a bit of plain cool whip is divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I thought this was delicious! I followed the directions exactly with the exception of the broth and chicken. I used leftover chicken that I made using a Rotisserie Chicken recipe from this site and for the broth I used two quarts of water and Better Than Bouillon mix. Used a total of 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper which gave this quite a kick. Altogether it was very flavorful and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krlong6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Apple Oatmeal Cookies I

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
My husband really loved these, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Delicious! Did not use carrots or celery. Used onion, fresh garlic, and added a can of Rotel. The meat was really tender and soooo flavorful! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suziematoozie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Wow. Wow. Wow. Absolutely loved it. I used homemade sauerkraut and I didn't have caraway seeds in either the sauerkraut nor the pork, but the first bite shocked me with great flavor that I totally didn't expect, it is simply amazing. I served it with toasted bread and that made my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Ginger Snaps

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I make a lot of cookies, and these were really easy and turned out great. I doubled the spices per other reviewers and I might add even more ginger & clove next time (I like it spicy). I found that the cookies on the top rack in the oven cracked beautifully, those on the lower rack didn't really. I also rolled some into 2" balls and some into marble-sized, and the marble-sized turned out so cute and bite-sized that I'll do them all that way next time. They do spread out quite a bit so space accordingly! Rolled some in red and some in green sugar and they looked great for Christmas. Baked for exactly 9 minutes and they were perfect (just a tiny bit chewy still). I plan to make these many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe for a "Friendsgiving," and everybody loved it. Instead of graham crackers, I smashed up 1 box of Vanilla wafers for the crust with the same amount of butter, but only half the sugar listed. I also added some freshly ground cinnamon and nutmeg to the crust mixture. It did take a bit longer than 10 minutes, however, to get the crust to a good, lightly-browned stage. I used prepared Cool Whip, but next time I would like to try whipping fresh cream instead. I bet this pie would taste great frozen as well, as I stuck mine in the freezer to help it set up faster. I finished up the pie with a sprinkling of fresh ground cinnamon and nutmeg on top, pretty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Baldridge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
It was the first recipe that I learned in home economics class but with a slight variation, we add little pieces of tomatoes also. Very wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Lemonade Ever

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Just helped my 7 year old make this this morning for a family get together. He put a sign out that said Free Lemonade Samples with small cups. Everyone liked it so much that he made almost $8. He never even asked for money, they liked it so well they got out money and were paying him. And it sure made him feel good! ;) Easy trick, to cool the simple syrup, we put the bowl of syrup in a bigger bowl of ice water. It was nice an cold in no time at all, like 10-15 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amatriciana

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Didn't expect It to taste that good! After I fried the bacon I took it out and out it back at the end and simmer for a minute or so so that there is a little crunchy things! I followed the recipe exactly and it is good by itself, but a little more bacon would make it better I guess. The little red pepper is good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
They are in no way "Brownies," but rather a really deliciously moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Despite my mistake of forgetting the sour cream, the taste is fine, but not the best. Too much milk called in the recipe and the tomatoes did nothing essentially. The sauce is creamy though. I had to use extra cornstarch to help thickening as I can seldom use flour as thickener successfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti with Broccoli and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
It absolutely surprised me with its nice flavor but with the following adaptions: I used fresh broccoli and mushroom and garlic, I added a little white onion in it too. It turned out to be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I have tons of tomatoes from my garden and needed a way to use them up. I was browsing for tomato recipes while drunk last night and accidentally wrote down 2 cups of tomatoes instead of 4. I just realized that now, after having made the recipe and coming back to review it. Anyway, despite me only putting in 2 cups of tomatoes, it is seriously good and really simple. I look forward to making this again, but with the correct proportions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basil Chicken and Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
You're cooking this because you want to clear things in the fridge when you are about to move right? Or it's the simplest but tasty thing you can make with the fewest ingredients. It works really well and you can always add things to the recipe, I added sun-dried tomatoes to it and it taste great. It is basic but you can do anything to it and still taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hugh's Dry Rub

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Love this rub on chicken! So yummy!!!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seminary Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
The only thing I changed was instead of 1 C a.p. flour, I used 1/2 whole wheat + 1/2 a.p. Very moist and delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
These are so good, but a little goes a LONG way. These are almost too chocolate-y, even for this chocoholic! Husband and son both just had one and said no way on the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott Frazier

Cold Russian Borscht

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! I make the following changes: 1) I peel the beets first and dice each beet into 6-8 pieces. This releases more flavor into the liquid as it boils due to increased beet surface area. 2) I use a blender/food processor to puree the beets after they have cooled. 3) I add the diced cucumber to be blended into the chilled soup. 4) I add 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/2 cup of unflavored yogurt to blender to combine everything smoothly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Frazier

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

RITZ New York-Style Mini Crumb Cheesecakes

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I haven't tried these yet, but in a family with cheesecake lovers, I know they would be a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States