Dubuque - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by House of Aqua

Maple Walnut Biscotti

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was my first time making biscotti and it seems to have turned out well. I followed the recipe and directions as written. I personally need to flatten out my dough better next time, but I look forward to making this again. The icing is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Honey Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Overall this recipe is a keeper! The only change I would make is to reduce the onion by half. It overpowered the other ingredidents. I used this vinaigrette with an apple, walnut, feta salad. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Garlic Aioli

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
My family loved this recipe! We recently had aioli for the first time and this recipe tastes just the same as the restaurants! I paired this sauce with Ore-Ida crispy crinkle cut fries and devoured the pair in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Best Ever Chocolate-Free Blondies

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Great base - I added vanilla butternut extract and white chips instead of peanut butter and walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Caramel Macchiato Ice Cream

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This was about perfect - although I prefer a cooked ice cream recipe - this still turned out great! I made homemade caramel drizzle to stir in once the ice cream was churned. Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Made exactly as written - perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Halloween Party Kiddie Pudding Snack

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
A huge hit with my daughter and I enjoyed it too! I made this recipe as written. I used the homemade "Hasty Chocolate Pudding" recipe from AllRecipes instead of store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Texas Hot Apple Cider

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Best apple cider ever! I used Trader Joes (already) Spiced Cider and followed this recipe as written but adding an extra 1/4 cup of pineapple juice. The citrus flavors came through beautifully. My family and I enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
We thought the recipe was okay - not bad but I found it to be too sweet with the honey. The bananas have just enough sweetness and the honey competes with the peanut butter. The only change I made was I froze my bananas prior to using instead of using ice since I don't like icey smoothies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Cinnamon Yogurt Dip

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Too much cinnamon? No way! This dip is packed with flavor, I'm just sad I didn't find this recipe a long time ago. I found this is great to make for parties, for a late night snack ('cause it satisfies my sweet tooth), a breakfast side, and best yet for my daughter lunch with apples! I made the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This was awesome! I changed it, JUST slightly: Still added in the onion soup mix, soy sauce and pepper. Also added a can of Campbell's Cream of Mushroom w/Roasted Garlic soup as well as some slices of dried garlic. Instead of water, I used beef broth - this was done easily in 11 hours, probably before then but I wasn't home to check! Will make this again and again - juice is perfect for making gravy with. I make gravy by taking the juice and adding it to a HOT saucepan, and bringing to a gentle boil. I then mix 3/4 warm water with 6 tablespoons of flour, and pour about 1/2 of that mix into the juice after it boils, mixing completely. I add more of the water/flour mix if it tastes like it needs it. Totally awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potatoes and Peppers

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Fantastic basic fried potato recipe which reminds me of my childhood. I reduced the olive oil due to other people's reviews to 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Breakfast Banana Green Smoothie

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was our first spinach smoothie experience! I have always been meaning to try it. This was a great combination of fruits and vegetables and healthy too. My husband and I both enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Peach Bellini

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was my first peach bellini experience and I don't think you can go wrong with champagne and peaches. I have a feeling I made a mistake - I pureed the skin with the peach. I'm not totally sure you are suppose to do that but I like it just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Chocolate - Peanut Butter No Bake Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This recipe had delicious flavor! I found them to be slightly runny depite adding more oats to the recipe. A few small tweaks - I added a teaspoon of espresso powder and a quick shake of ground cinnamon. I was happy to eat this recipe out of the bowl! If you are able to wait unlike me, then make sure you give them the full 30+ minutes to set up before enjoying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Chocolate Frosty

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I agree - it taste like Wendy's! Please not this recipe makes a lot! I had to split the mixture because it wouldn't fit into my Kitchen Aid ice cream attachment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Quick S'mores Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
M'kay....I honestly didn't know what to expect and since it is national s'mores day I thought I would give it a try. These turned out fabulous! The buttery, brown sugary, and vanilla mixture is very rich and really makes this recipe rock out. If you are looking for a s'more, I would recommend using milk chocolate chips like I did instead of semi-sweet. I broiled mine in the oven for 3 minutes and then placed in the freezer to cool them. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Flour-Free Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I thought these were amazing! They baked out well and were rich in flavor. I used crunchy peanut butter because I accidently bought it and needed to use it up. It worked out perfectly in place of the chopped pecans. I would make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

HERDEZ® Hot Chipotle Mocha

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I wasn't really feeling this. If you were to order a mocha it is generally espresso shots in a mocha milk base. I made this with an open mind as I like to try different coffee drinks but it is flavored coffee and because coffee was the base of the drink, it lacked flavor. I would recommend this recipe to others, but just wasn't a personal favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

HERDEZ® Ellen's Chocolate Chipotle Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
The name of the recipe is misleading, it should be called sorbet which has a water/sugar base. It had a great chocolate flavor - it's just not ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States