Dubuque - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by House of Aqua

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Very impressive recipe, I'm speechless! I followed the recipe as written with the exception of straining the spices through a cheesecloth since I didn't have one on hand and the coffee filter method failed. I brewed some espresso in my machine and made an iced pumpkin spice latte with the same measurements as the popular coffee houses and it turned out perfecto! One word of caution is this recipe makes a large amount, you may want to consider cutting the recipe in half or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I needed a small amount of sweet condensed milk and this recipe did the trick for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

PB Banana Oat Smoothie

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I'm a fan of peanut butter banana smoothies and had to try this one out! This has the potential to be a great tasting smoothie but I found that it calls for too much ice. I made the recipe exactly as written and it tastes icy and unfortunately mellows out the peanut butter banana flavors. Skip the ice or only add a cube or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Broiled Cauliflower with Four Cheese Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This made for an easy, fresh, and flavorful dinner! I simmered the cauliflower in the sauce about 20 minutes. I decided not to broil the cheese this time because it smelled so delicious I couldn't wait any longer. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Starbucks® Cotton Candy Frappuccino®

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Not my personal favorite. I found this to lack overall flavor while being a bit on the icy, watery side. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Uncle Monkey Smoothie

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Keep in mind this recipe best serves 2 rather than 4. I gave it 5 stars because it is the best banana peanut butter smoothie I have ever tasted. I have tried several and this has the best balance of peanut butter and banana. I skipped the sugar since yogurt is already sweet. Thanks for sharing this great smoothie - it is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Quinoa with Veggies

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Wonderful flavor with the oregano and cumin! I also added some pink sea salt and make this recipe exactly as written. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Avocado and Feta Bruschetta

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
You can't go wrong with fresh garlic and avocado. I followed the recipe as written but recommend broiling the bread or adding th garlic to the olive oil before it is baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Starbucks® Caramel Frappuccino Copycat Recipe

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
The recipe was good but not my favorite. It tasted a tad watery with all the ice, coffee, and low fat milk. I have an espresso machine but opted to try the recipe as written. Coffee places don't use large amounts of regular coffee to make these drinks. If you don't have an espresso machine I would suggest buying instant espresso or brewing ales set amount (1/4 cup) of strong coffee instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Refreshing Summer Orzo Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
We loved this recipe! Luckily we had everything but the feta on hand. I left out the olives and used vegetable broth in place of chicken broth. This turned out excellent! I'm not sure if I like it warm or cold, it is delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Coconut Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I liked this recipe, although the chocolate coating calls for too much coconut oil. I would suggest reducing to 1 Tablespoon vs. 3 Tablespoons, otherwise most of the coating with puddle around the ball like mine did. I made a minor adjustment by using coconut butter in place of butter. The subtle coconut taste comes through perfectly. I would make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Simple Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This recipe lacked flavor, make sure you add in extra salt, seasoning, or top with bread crumbs. I've made many homemade macaroni and cheese dishes but the sauce was very runny this time. Not a bad recipe, as Christina said, it is easy to customize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Coconut Oil Coffee

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I "get" this recipe. Not only is this recipe paleo, but you are starting out your day with healthy fats for your brain. We have been using ghee in our coffee but this is awesome blended with coconut oil. You don't need sugar and cream, this is delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic, Red Pepper and Olive Oil

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This recipe was easy to make and a nice change from regular pasta and sauce. I love the fresh ingredients! Don't forget the red pepper, it adds the perfect bite to this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Baked Ziti with Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I'm a fan of baked ziti and often find recipes that use all red sauce or all bechamel. This recipe uses a combination of both which I love. Don't skip the bread crumbs on top, it finishes this dish off with tasty perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

PB-n-J Cups

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Simple yet so amazing! This is a fun snack to whip up. I made this recipe using natural peanut butter and raw honey in extra large baking cups so I am able to pull one out of the freezer and slice it into pieces for a family snack. I will be making this recipe again, thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

S'mores Indoors

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I must give this recipe 5 stars for the use of coconut oil. It gives plain store bought graham crackers more depth. This was a fun recipe to make with my 8 year old daughter! Best indoor s'mores recipe I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this in the crockpot, it took about 6 hours and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free Vanilla Banana Pops

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I didn't find this to be a good consistency and it lacked overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Sesame Parmesan Zucchini

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This recipe was okay - I ate it but my husband wouldn't because it calls for too much oil. The seasoning is excellent, love the sesame seeds. Make sure you reduce the amount of oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States