Dubuque - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Made this for breakfast, prepared it the night before and baked it in the morning. I didn't use croutons or cream of mushroom soup. I also used ham instead as I had a lot leftover from a ham dinner. My family loved it!! My husband says we should make it when we have family stay over or Christmas morning. Easy way to slip veggies into food, I used fresh spinach and green peppers. Baked up perfect for me, not dry at all. This is a great recipe! Served with some biscuits, delicious!! Thanks Shannon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ashton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Chicken III

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I made this with split chicken breasts last night, it was delicious. I added a bit of red cayenne pepper to spice it up. I only had panko bread crumbs on hand, so I used them...nice and crispy! I have a friend who uses melted butter/egg mix instead of mayo, so I may try that next time. I almost always brine my chicken before cooking, it really seems to make it taste better! Simple and easy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ashton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua

En-light-ened Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I found it is a little different than most chocolate chip cookies since it calls for applesauce. I used a homemade applsauce from AllRecipes that I recently made so it was fun to incorporate another recipe into making these cookies. The cookies brown so beautifully and the cookies come out soft and cake like. They were easy to remove from the baking sheet thanks to the Pam baking spray. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Giant Oatmeal Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I suggest adding some cinnamon and extra flour to the recipe but other just a minor adjustment they baked out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Quinoa and Spinach Pilaf

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This recipe is a great base, however it needs some extra seasoning. I switched out spinach for cilantro because I didn't have spinach on hand. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Coleslaw I

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Yum! I just recently started liking coleslaw (past 6 months or so), and decided to give it a try. I wanted a simple recipe that I couldn't screw up! And this was the one! I just kind of eyeballed the amount of mayo, but I did measure the vinegar and sugar. It turned out delicious, maybe a tad on the sweet side, but I did use a couple of carrots so that may be why. I will definitely make again, just use less sugar? Husband and kids were very impressed with moms first attempt at coleslaw, thanks for the recipe. Has anyone tried to freeze it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ashton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Wow! I've never made anything with zucchini, but I had a friend give me a ton for free...so here I am! And this was delicious, I didn't change a thing. I made it exactly as described and it was a HUGE hit with my husband and my teenage boys. I made some with nuts, some without. I hope it freezes well because I think I know what to do with all this zucchini. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ashton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is the BEST shrimp marinade! If you are in a hurry and don't want to have to let it sit for a half hour, or bother starting up the grill, these are great broiled. I just mix the shrimp with the marinade, throw it on a foil covered cookie sheet (or broiler pan), and put it under the flame for a few minutes on each side. I like to broil it until the shrimp gets slightly blackened on the edges. My husband likes his spicy, so I add some Cajun's Choice creole seasoning or Tabasco sauce to his. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
These were really good! Took them to a get-together and had several people comment on how tasty they were and ask for the recipe. I highly recommend using cream cheese in place of some of the mayo or sour cream. I also used green onion which seems to go really well in these type of roll-up appetizers. I'll definitely be making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Wake-Up Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
3.5 stars. Not bad. Tastes like banana bread with a twist of peanut butter cookie. Maybe not as flavorful, but I do like that it's much healthier. Since others mentioned that it's fairly bland, I added dried cranberries and some nutmeg. I also used flax seed instead of wheat germ (better for you!) I'll be curious to see if my kids like them in the morning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Very impressive recipe, I'm speechless! I followed the recipe as written with the exception of straining the spices through a cheesecloth since I didn't have one on hand and the coffee filter method failed. I brewed some espresso in my machine and made an iced pumpkin spice latte with the same measurements as the popular coffee houses and it turned out perfecto! One word of caution is this recipe makes a large amount, you may want to consider cutting the recipe in half or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I needed a small amount of sweet condensed milk and this recipe did the trick for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

PB Banana Oat Smoothie

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I'm a fan of peanut butter banana smoothies and had to try this one out! This has the potential to be a great tasting smoothie but I found that it calls for too much ice. I made the recipe exactly as written and it tastes icy and unfortunately mellows out the peanut butter banana flavors. Skip the ice or only add a cube or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Broiled Cauliflower with Four Cheese Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This made for an easy, fresh, and flavorful dinner! I simmered the cauliflower in the sauce about 20 minutes. I decided not to broil the cheese this time because it smelled so delicious I couldn't wait any longer. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Starbucks® Cotton Candy Frappuccino®

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Not my personal favorite. I found this to lack overall flavor while being a bit on the icy, watery side. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Uncle Monkey Smoothie

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Keep in mind this recipe best serves 2 rather than 4. I gave it 5 stars because it is the best banana peanut butter smoothie I have ever tasted. I have tried several and this has the best balance of peanut butter and banana. I skipped the sugar since yogurt is already sweet. Thanks for sharing this great smoothie - it is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Quinoa with Veggies

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Wonderful flavor with the oregano and cumin! I also added some pink sea salt and make this recipe exactly as written. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Avocado and Feta Bruschetta

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
You can't go wrong with fresh garlic and avocado. I followed the recipe as written but recommend broiling the bread or adding th garlic to the olive oil before it is baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Starbucks® Caramel Frappuccino Copycat Recipe

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
The recipe was good but not my favorite. It tasted a tad watery with all the ice, coffee, and low fat milk. I have an espresso machine but opted to try the recipe as written. Coffee places don't use large amounts of regular coffee to make these drinks. If you don't have an espresso machine I would suggest buying instant espresso or brewing ales set amount (1/4 cup) of strong coffee instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Refreshing Summer Orzo Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
We loved this recipe! Luckily we had everything but the feta on hand. I left out the olives and used vegetable broth in place of chicken broth. This turned out excellent! I'm not sure if I like it warm or cold, it is delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States