Dubuque - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I found this recipe bland and just ho-hum. I have had better chicken fried steak at restaurants where I didn't have to spend all that time making it. This took much longer to prepare than the recipe states. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Easy and Delicious Strawberry Frozen Yogurt

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
This is a great recipe! Four ingredients and a little of your time you can have delicious homemade froyo! This is the perfect balance of sweetness and cream packed with the taste of strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Chef John's Pork al Latte

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
This was heavenly. One of the best meals I've made from this site. I couldn't believe how tender the meat was! I didn't change a thing, even used homemade creme fraiche. It was perfect over Chef John's polenta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

How to Make Perfect Polenta

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I watched the helpful video first, and the recipe turned out great! Even after missing the first stirring, there were no clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Wild Rice, Corn, and Black Bean Quesadillas

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because it is a great to eat as written but also a great base to build upon. I easily added a sprinkle of taco seasoning and tomatillos. You can also add in more fresh vegetables such as avocado plus sour cream, and hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Creamed Spinach with Jalapenos

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This is one of my (and my husband's) favorite side dishes on this site. Soooo tasty! Even my kids brave the spiciness to try it. I usually use a pile of deli sliced jalapenos from a jar instead of a fresh one, just because I like the taste. And sometimes I experiment with different cheeses. But it always comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I've made these so many times, I've lost count. There is no other muffin that compares to this. I add a little vanilla like other reviewers recommend, and I like to fill the muffin tins to make nice large muffins. Perfect with a cup of coffee....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

All White Meat Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This is REALLY good! The only change I make is to skip the ground chicken. The recipe is wonderful as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Chef John's Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I've made these several times now, and the whole family loves them. Fresh italian parsley is a must, don't cheat with the dried stuff. These also make great leftovers because they almost taste better after sitting in the fridge for a day or two. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Potato Crunchy Tenders

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
5 stars from me for simplicity and for how fast my kids ate them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Grandma's Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I hate to leave a bad review, but we tried this once and will not eat it again. It was edible, but tastes like rice-a-roni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Easy One-Pan Taco Skillet

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
This was quick and easy to make. I made the recipe as written for my husband and again with tofu in place of the beef for myself since I don't eat meat. I love the addition of fresh corn and green onions mixed with the long grain wild rice. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Low-Carb Chocolate Peanut Butter Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I made this as written without the stevia and would make it again. It's very filling and a healthy alternative for a snack or treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Jimmy Dean Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
SOOO delicious and comforting. I've made it without any veggies, and it's still really good. Make sure you're using the right amount of bread-- if you only use a few slices you'll have wet mess. I've made other breakfast casseroles that use cubed potatoes, but this is far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Leftover Ham -n- Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I've made this several times now, using leftover Christmas or Easter ham, and it's always a hit even with the kids. It's great as written, but easy to change seasonings or types of cheese to suit your taste. I personally like to add a pinch of cayenne pepper to the sauce. I like to bulk up the sauce a little to make sure the casserole isn't dry or bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Sweet Teriyaki Beef Skewers

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I made these exactly as written (included the pineapple juice), and let them marinate for a full 24 hours. I was worried that they would be tough, but NOPE they were melt-in-your-mouth good! I skewered them with red onion, peppers, and mushrooms which were a great accompaniment. I'll be making them again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Easy Pie Crust

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
perfect as written for chicken pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

Gingerbread People from JELL-O

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
With a little care this can be just as versitile as the regular dough, only this stays moist much longer. I've used this for multiple gingerbread houses with few issues, just avoid giant slabs of wall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Uzel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This is now my go-to recipe for tuna casserole. However, I'm only giving it 4 stars because as written it's a little bland and there is not near enough sauce. I highly recommend doubling the sauce, adding extra garlic and a pinch of cayenne pepper, and topping with crushed potato chips instead of bread crumbs. With those changes, it's fantastic! I do love this recipe as a base, and it's the best I've found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Coffee Brownie Milkshake

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
So simple yet rich in flavor! If you do not have brownie mix you can use a yellow or white cake mix and add a tablespoon of cocoa powder as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States