Dubuque - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Gingerbread People from JELL-O

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
With a little care this can be just as versitile as the regular dough, only this stays moist much longer. I've used this for multiple gingerbread houses with few issues, just avoid giant slabs of wall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Uzel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This is now my go-to recipe for tuna casserole. However, I'm only giving it 4 stars because as written it's a little bland and there is not near enough sauce. I highly recommend doubling the sauce, adding extra garlic and a pinch of cayenne pepper, and topping with crushed potato chips instead of bread crumbs. With those changes, it's fantastic! I do love this recipe as a base, and it's the best I've found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua

Coffee Brownie Milkshake

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
So simple yet rich in flavor! If you do not have brownie mix you can use a yellow or white cake mix and add a tablespoon of cocoa powder as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Pasta Fagioli

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I made a few minor adjustments such as vegetable stock instead of chicken as a personal preference. I also used fresh tomatoes instead of stewed and peeled and added some zucchini and green bell peppers. I also prefer to rinse the beans since the liquid tends to be thick and gooey. This is an excellent one pan meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Chai Tea Concentrate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This tasted great and comparable to the store bought concentrates and was fun to make. I had to go to a natural food store to buy ginger and whole cardamom pods, and cloves. I would make this again! I served this cold and also sometimes with espresso ice cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Strawberry Limeade

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Great treat for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

All Natural Strawberry Lemonade

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I will be making this again, so fresh and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Peanut Butter Rice Krispies® Treat Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Great flavor and worth the extra step of making the filling. I melted milk chocolate with a dab of coconut oil and the subtle flavor really made these treats extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Banana Split Shake

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
What's not to like? This is a drinkable banana split!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Grammy Sharon's Chocolate No-Bake Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This recip only takes a matter of minutes to whip up and you most likely have all the ingredients on hand. I scaled the scale down to 10 cookies and it was a fun sweet treat for my family to enjoy after dinner. Overall taste and flavor is very similar to most no bake chocolate oat recipe although the addition of peanut butter gave this one a little boost in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Microwave Banana Cake in a Bowl

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This is a really good cake! I cooked this cake in one large soup mug and topped it with chocolate frosting. I really dislike microwave cakes that contain eggs as it makes tro consistency rubbery and since this recipe doesn't call for eggs the cake turned out beautifully moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Mediterranean Snow Peas

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this recipe from the AllRecipes Magazine which has this recipe published using olive oil instead of butter. I made the recipe with olive oil and an additional clove of garlic and it turned out delicious. I can't wait to makes his recipe again! It is bursting with flavor and makes for a great side dish or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Healthy Granola Clusters

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
The name is misleading...at a glance I was hoping this was a granola but after reading the recipe I saw that it was a cookie recipe. I decided to go ahead and give it a try anyways. The cookies weren't amazing but they weren't bad either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Flourless Fudge Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
These cookies were pretty good although they were a bit sticky and even stuck to the parchment paper I baked them on. I also had to add some water because the dough was very thick. I would make these again with minor adjustments. I loved that these cookies did not become flat after baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

No-Bake Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
The recipe calls for to much butter, I would suggest cutting the amount in half. The mixture was too liquidy even after I added the oats. I made this recipe exactly as written even boiling as directed yet the cookies were too soft (fluid) and never properly set. I had to scrape them off the parchment paper with a spoon to eat. The recipe requires some adjustments but the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Marshmallow Treats

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was my first time making crispy treats and they turned out soft and delicious. I've always been turned off because most are hard, I'm so glad I gave this recipe a try! I'm going to be making a few batches later this week for my daughter's class for a spring treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Fudgy Nutella® Mug Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I'm going to give this 5 stars because it is the BEST microwave cake I have ever tried. With that said it was a tad dry, but note bad. Next time I will try adding a Tablespoon or two of milk to remedy it. I suggest topping it with chocolate icing or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Turmeric Sun Dressing

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I made then recipe as written and this is a keeper! As someone with an autoimmune disease looking to make better choices this is perfect! The taste reminds me of a tangy honey mustard dressing. We not only put this on our salads but roasted vegetables too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Yogurt Crunch Parfaits from DOLE®

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
So fresh and fruity tasting! I recommend using a banana and cream yogurt and fresh whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Fresh Asparagus Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This recipe is a keeper! I am completely impressed by the full rich flavor of this soup. I used regular milk instead of soy. I've been on a quest to try all sorts of of new meals for my family and this was a hit. I served with Parmesan Cheese and a side of fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States