Des Moines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Maxine campbell

Beef Nacho Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Just made this recipe with my own twist ....... Browned hamburger add 1 1/2 TBS taco seasoning Instead of chili powder. 1 cup sour cream mixed with 1/2 cup ranch dressing instead mayo. And one small corn sweet corn Pico de gallo mix Real bacon bits bout 1/4 cup. Layered just like recipe but broke up chips for top layer then added shredded cheese........ Topped it off with a few nacho chips, olives, sour cream .........was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine campbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lordofthenuggets

Salmon with Dill

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
The seasoning worked wonderfully, I tried a suggestion on here of cooking with tin foil over the salmon to keep moisture in, but 20 minutes is still too far long for this recipe. Dries out the salmon. Next time I'll have to try it for a shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lordofthenuggets

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This is the easiest chili recipe I have ever made. The taste is fantastic. My family loves it. You could win a chili cook off with this recipe. This is now the recipe I use when making chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was wonderful perfect for a chilly fall night. Don't change a thing great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lucas, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ashley's African Peanut Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This soup is really delicious! Tons of veggies, and great flavor. Picky boyfriend didn't care for it (said it was too healthy, and probably a little too exotic for him), but that just means there's more for me! I only used 1 C of carrots, 1 red bell pepper, increased broth to about 7 cups, and decreased peanut butter to one half cup. I also didn't include the rice - this soup is so thick and chunky, it's not needed at all. Served with cornbread, and I can't wait for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Oh my gosh, this was delicious! I had a craving for cabbage, which I never cook and my man won't eat, and found this recipe. I made it for a family gathering around Octoberfest, and I'm so glad I tried it! Healthy and so yummy. I put everything in my crockpot on low for about 4 hours, and it was perfect. And so easy! I only had to stir it a few times, and I had to stop myself from eating it all before my dinner party. A little cloves go a long way IMO, so I only used 1/8 teaspoon, and it was perfect. Also subbed applesauce for the sliced apples, and added half a sliced onion. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Russian Tea

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Made this. Used Trader Joe's White Pomegranate tea, it gave it a lovely red color. Followed the recipe exactly except that I did not have a family sized tea bag so I just used four single-serve tea bags per family bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Beef Flavored Gravy

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
So easy and so good. I left out the onion, and used beef broth that I had left over from cooking a pot roast that had onions in it. This will now be my new go-to gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Butter Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I've made this twice. The first time with apple butter (homemade) and according the the recipe. It was delicious. The second time with pear butter and a tsp. of orange extract. It was exquisite! I also changed the technique and did it Sarah Jo's way because I was tired and in a hurry and and it worked just as well. I recommend experimenting with different fruit butters and extracts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Slow-Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I love this recipe only thing I did was instead of fresh Vegs. used frozen mixed and it was great also no thyme just some adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schnauzermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Townsend, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was pretty darn good. I love Indian food, and this replicates it pretty well with staples from your pantry. I made this for a friend who is vegetarian, and her husband cannot have dairy, so I was looking for an easy vegan curry recipe. This worked out great! I doubled the recipe, and subbed a can of coconut milk for the cream. Even the man liked it, and he's not into adventurous eating. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rubbed and Grilled Pork Loin

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I made this exactly as written except it rained so I cooked it in the oven on 350. It was so good. Definitely my favorite pork roast recipe now. I was slightly scared of the coriander, and there was no reason to be. In fact, I think the coriander added a brightness to the roast. It kept the other spices from being flat. Husband liked it too, and he's not a big spice lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

fiveandspice.com | Ginger banana bread with cardamom crunch topping

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
The ginger and cardamom flavors really stand out and go well with the banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken With Peaches And Basil Recipe - Food.com - 40061

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is delicious. Made it with fresh peaches from the store and fresh basil from my garden. Very flavorful and makes a nice thick and tasty sauce. I made enough sauce as the original recipe calls for four breasts of chicken, but only made two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Yes and it is very fresh and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

Vanilla Crepes

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
The vanilla really brings out the flavor in these. On the finished crepes,I spread a little melted butter, sprinkled it with brown sugar and cinnamon, and rolled them up. It was lke cinnamon rolls in crepe form. Next time I think I'll also make some cream cheese icing to drizzle over top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Lemon Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I followed the recipe but used 2 teaspoons of lemon extract for flavor. Then instead of rolling the dough in confectioners sugar, I used the sugar and some lemon juice to make an icing which I spooned on after baking the cookies. Wow! Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donswallace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Love this! It is so easy and uses simple ingredients... And tastes amazing! I keep getting zucchini at farmers market so I can keep making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori

Tasty Spicy Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Deeeeeelicious! Eating it as I type. I used red onion because I had one huge yellow and three small red. The only thing I will change next time is less stock. I also added some fresh parsley from my garden for the pic. LOVE the mushrooms in it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Pizza Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Made this tonight for dinner and it turned out really great! Only subbed penne for the egg noodles and garlic powder for the garlic cloves. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States