Des Moines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect! Made a batch with my daughters and daycare kids and they all loved them and had fun :) found my go to sugar cookie cut outs recipe for life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe - The Lemon Bowl

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
So easy and tasty. Probably cooked a little too long. I did about 9 hours on low. Not super pretty, but tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Coconut-Almond Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These are pretty delicious! I made a double batch as Christmas gifts for the neighbors. As others have suggested, the second rolling of the coconut balls is key, and I found that having wet hands helped with the process. I used a bag and a half of chocolate chips to coat the balls. I actually had better luck using the store brand chips - they seemed to melt into a runnier chocolate that coated the balls easier. Probably due to the higher oil content or whatever. I only had a few balls fall apart out of 55, so I would say this is a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppermint Bark

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I was distracted while making this, and messed the whole thing up, and it came out perfectly! I failed to grease my glass dish and didn't line it with wax paper, I put the white chocolate layer on the bottom and forgot the mint extract, so I put 1/2 t. in the top dark chocolate layer. It came out of the pan just fine after chilling in the fridge for an hour. I used a 12 oz. bag of both white chocolate chips and semisweet chocolate chips, so I used an 8.5x11 inch pan. I also had a box of candy canes from last year, which I wanted to use up and that's why I chose this recipe. About 10 canes crushed covered the top nicely. This is really yummy, and very simple to make. This is definitely a repeat for Christmases to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie I

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was great and super easy with a rotisserie chicken and premade crusts. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busywoman139

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
this is so simple just follow the directions. I made a single batch and it was so good that my family and friends made me make two ( 2 ) more batches. the first batch I made I added more peanuts 1/2 cup love peanuts but was to many, the recipe measurements are just right I will not add extra anything again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chip Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I enjoy making these with my kids and they are SUPER good! I always get compliments when I bring these to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Better Than Sex Cake II

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have made this recipe atleast 20 times over the past few years, it is requested at family gatherings and potlocks at work! Hands down best and easiest cake ever. I use a fork to poke my holes, and dont bother with combining the caramel and condensed milk over the stove, that is unnecessary extra work. While the cake is still warm, i poke my holes into my cake, making sure to not reach the bottom of the pan and while the cake is still warm simply pour the condensed milk right the can onto the cake and let it soak for a few minutes then pour the caramel straight from the jar onto the cake and let it soak overnight. I put on my cool whip and chopped heath bars and drizzle with caramel and chocolate sauce to make it pretty right before serving and Whallah! Best cake ever!! "Better than disneyworld cake" to my girls :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
My husband and I attempted this recipe about 3 years ago and have been making it every time we make chili since. At first I thought the ingredient list of all the different spices was a little intimidating but I have it down now and rarely have to look at the recipe. We have modified it slightly for our taste and I make it less spicy and dont use italian sausage. I had more veggies, and sometimes use turkey instead of ground beef. We have been praised many times on how good our chili is, so THANKS for the awesome awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb-Infused 'Barbtini

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I'm a firm believer that the world needs more rhubarb cocktails. With a modest adjustment (more syrup and less/no triple sec), this one's quite good. The triple sec can overwhelm the drink, but the rhubarb flavor really shined through when we traded the triple sec for another tablespoon of rhubarb syrup and garnished with an orange peel twist. If you like it a little less sweet, try adding a dash or two of Angostura orange bitters. The syrup is great over ice cream and pancakes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Cookies I

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I used this recipe for Christmas cutouts. I'd been using my mothers recipe for years and years. This recipe is MUCH better. ( sorry mom ) I followed the recipe exactly except the whipping cream. I had none on hand but...I added a shot of eggnog instead. LOL. I think the cookies are perfectly sweet, and crisp. I also refrigerated for only an hour. No problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

West African Peanut Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was awesome. I was super skeptical but I had a lot of natural peanut butter to use up and I'm so glad I made this. I used a homemade lamb stock instead of vegetable stock, added chunks of beef stew meat, and a little kosher salt at the end. I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian-American Slaw With Peanuts and Jalapenos

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was very good. I substituted the onion for green onion and used blanched salted peanuts instead of dry roasted because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
These pancakes are amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is my staple buttercream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ganache II

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This recipe is amazing!! I did use semi-sweet chocolate chips Ghirardelli brand.. Tasted great as is and I did whipp it up and use between layers on a cake... it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Heavenly White Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I have made this cake many times and definitely need to add the 1/2 cup of extra milk otherwise the cake is too dry. I also have attempted to use this cake and make a chocolate chip cake however due to the lateness of the cake and the weight of the chocolate chips I have been unsuccessful. I have tried to wait between five and seven minutes and then add the chocolate chips but they still sink to the bottom. I have not attempted to use mini chocolate chips yet I think those may work better. Just food for thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made this for my dads birthday.. everyone LOVED IT!! very moist and the frosting was great. WILL be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultra Creamy Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was delish... I didnt use any butter because I used heavy whipping cream (all I had on hand) and I didnt have any canned/boxed chicken broth but I had chicken paste type stuff that you add to water. Very good taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Seasoning Blend

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Tried this tonight, without the boullion granules, and it was absolutely fantastic. Will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lordofthenuggets

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States